His Nature in Me

Good morning. We’re back to Monday again, October 22, 2012. Today is “International Stuttering Awareness Day.” Everyone listen to a Mel Tillis song.

To explain the reference, here’s a clip of Mel talking.

On this date in 1746, The College of New Jersey received its charter. It would later be renamed Princeton University.
On this date in 1836, Sam Houston was inaugurated as the first President of the Republic of Texas.
This date in 1844 is known as “The Great Anticipation,” when Millerites, followers of William Miller, anticipated the second coming of Christ. The following day would be known as the Great Disappointment. Yet another group fails to notice Matthew 24:26, which says, “But concerning that day and hour no one knows, not even the angels of heaven, nor the Son, but the Father only.” Some folks never learn.
The Metropolitan Opera House in New York City opened on this date in 1883.
On this date in 1934, FBI agents shot and killed Pretty Boy Floyd, in New Liverpool, Ohio.
And on this date in 1992, legendary baseball announcer for the Brooklyn Dodgers, Red Barber, passed away at the age of 84.

Today’s birthdays include Daniel Boone, 1734, Franz Liszt, 1811, Curly Howard of the Three Stooges, 1903, Jimmie Foxx, baseball player, 1907, Joan Fontaine, 1917, Timothy Leary, 1920, Christopher Lloyd, 1938, Annette Funicello, 1942, Catherine Deneuve, 1943, Leslie West, from the group Mountain, 1945, Deepak Chopra, 1946, Lynette “Squeaky” Fromme, 1948, Jeff Goldblum, 1952, Brian Boitano, 1963, Toby Mac, 1964, John Wesley Harding, 1965, Carlos Mencia, 1967, Spike Jonze, 1969, Ichiro Suziki, 1973, Jon Foreman, of Switchfoot, 1976, Robinson Cano, 1982.


Father, I pray for some inspiration during the brief time I have left on this Monday morning. Show me something to get me through this day looking to you.


Today, I’m reading Psalm 123.

1 A Song of Ascents. To you I lift up my eyes, O you who are enthroned in the heavens!
2 Behold, as the eyes of servants look to the hand of their master, as the eyes of a maidservant to the hand of her mistress, so our eyes look to the LORD our God, till he has mercy upon us.
3 Have mercy upon us, O LORD, have mercy upon us, for we have had more than enough of contempt.
4 Our soul has had more than enough of the scorn of those who are at ease, of the contempt of the proud.

As the pilgrims climb their way to Jerusalem, they seek mercy at the hands of the Lord Almighty, just as a servant might look to the hand of a just and merciful master. We are utterly dependent on the Lord for our every need.


Today’s reading in My Utmost For His Highest is called “The Witness of the Spirit.” The scripture reference is Romans 8:16, which says, The Spirit himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God… Sometimes, when we come to God, we have this spirit of a trade-off. We “want the witness before we have done what God tells us to do.” God can’t (I always hesitate to use the phrase “God can’t…”) reveal himself to us because we are standing in the way. If I won’t abandon myself to him, I’m in the way, blocking the path. As soon as I get out of the way and abandon myself to him, “God witnesses to Himself.” What does that mean? He “witnesses instantly to His own nature in [me].” “If you had the witness before the reality, it would end in sentimental emotion.” I must abandon the ideas of reasoning and argument with God. As soon as I do, he will reveal to me what he has done in me. There is no debate. Either God can deliver or he can’t. I need not quote other people, but simply obey the words of Jesus Christ…”Come to me.”

God’s Spirit witnesses to the Redemption in me. He does not witness to reason or rationality, or to “common sense.” “The simplicity that comes from our natural common-sense decisions is apt to be mistaken for the witness of the Spirit, but the Spirit witnesses only to His own nature, and to the work of Redemption, never to our reason.” This is not to say that Christians should completely abandon that thing known as common sense. I don’t think Chambers would ever advocate this. We are talking in the realm of the work of God in our lives and what he wants from us. “Fling it all overboard, trust in Him, and He will give the witness.”


Father, I pray for the spirit of abandonment in my life. Give me the ability to trust in you implicitly. I find that there are still aspects in which I want to hold on to something, to not completely trust you. This has gotten better over time, I can sense that. But I’m not there yet. Give me the faith to “fling it all overboard.” I know that I’m even betraying the act of faith by asking for this…scripture tells us that you have given us everything we need for life and godliness. Yet I don’t know any other way to ask. I need to abandon myself totally to you. Help me to do this. Teach me your ways, that I may walk in your truth. Get me out of the way so that you can witness to your nature in me.

I pray for this day, Lord. I pray for Christi’s doctor visit this afternoon, that she might learn something useful, and that the doctor may have something that will help the pain that she is living with. I pray for healing in her foot, leg, and back, or whatever is causing this pain. Give us both good days at our jobs, free from stress and issues. Give Stephanie a good day today, drawing her heart into yours.


Abandon everything to him…let him reveal his nature in you.

Grace and peace, friends.

About Jeff

I love Jesus, I love my family, I love music, and I love baseball. I try to keep them in that order. I play keyboard, guitar, and sing. I used to play trombone...maybe I will again one day.
This entry was posted in Devotions, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

