Seven Days Without A Word

Good morning. It is Wednesday, November 27, 2013. Thanksgiving Eve.

Today is “Pins and Needles Day.” Apparently, this has something to do with a pro-labor Broadway musical released in 1937? What do I know? That was even before my Dad’s time (he was born just a couple weeks before that).


Yesterday went pretty well. Work was fine, with all of our trucks being loaded by around 1pm. Today, we have eight loads to do, and we are hoping to be finished around 1-2pm, so we can get out early and start our Thanksgiving holiday early.

Last night, we had dinner at Fogata’s with our long-time insurance agent/financial advisor. We haven’t seen him in a long time, so there was a lot of catching up to do. Nothing changed, in terms of insurance and what-not, but we got a free meal out of it. :-) Plus, he’s talking about putting together a trombone choir sometime in the near future. That certainly piqued my interest! Makes me want to dust off the old slushpump and get those chops moving again! So there may be some unpleasant sounds coming from the Bickleyhouse soon!

Christi is “working” from home today, since there is hardly anyone at her office this week, anyway. I wish I could work from home. :-(


Today’s birthdays are Lyon Sprague de Camp, 1907, “Buffalo” Bob Smith, 1917, Bruce Lee, 1940, Eddie Rabbitt, 1941, Jimi Hendrix, 1942, Dave Winthrop, 1948, Kimmy Robertson, 1954, Bill Nye, 1955, and Michael Vartan, 1968.

Hendrix. Would have been 71 years old today.


TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Oh, taste and see that the LORD is good! Blessed is the man who takes refuge in him! Psalm 34:8
Gladden the soul of your servant, for to you, O Lord, do I lift up my soul. Psalm 86:4
With my whole heart I seek you; let me not wander from your commandments! Psalm 119:10
I will give to the LORD the thanks due to his righteousness, and I will sing praise to the name of the LORD, the Most High. Psalm 7:17


Today’s reading in A Year With God is called “No One Spoke A Word.” the scripture reading is Job 2:11-13.

Now when Job’s three friends heard of all this evil that had come upon him, they came each from his own place, Eliphaz the Temanite, Bildad the Shuhite, and Zophar the Naamathite. They made an appointment together to come to show him sympathy and comfort him. And when they saw him from a distance, they did not recognize him. And they raised their voices and wept, and they tore their robes and sprinkled dust on their heads toward heaven. And they sat with him on the ground seven days and seven nights, and no one spoke a word to him, for they saw that his suffering was very great.

Job has just lost everything; his family, his home, his livestock; everything. And now he sits, covered with “loathsome sores” (v 7). His friends come and find him, and, at first, all they do is simply sit, weep, and be silent with him. For an unthinkable length of time, they sat; seven days and seven nights; no one spoke a word! (Of course, they did eventually start talking, and it would have been better had they not!) “Their quiet ministry of presence speaks loudly to those who think that only words heal.”

How have friends reacted when you experienced tragedy? Why are we “so quick to try to offer words of comfort and support rather than just being with our friends and loved ones when they suffer great loss?” Personally, I think it goes back to that idea that my words carry much more significance than they truly do. I think that what I have to say is extremely profound and important. Truthfully, it isn’t very much of either one! That, I think, may be one of the most valuable lessons any of us ever learns.


Father, I continue to pray to you to teach me this discipline of silence. Silence is oh, so much more important than we allow it to be in our culture. Teach us to not be afraid of it. Teach us that there is great value in silence, whether it be during our worship of you, or in the midst of tragedy, while comforting a friend or family member. Teach us that our words are mostly chaff in the wind. Let us listen, instead, for your words, which are life.

I pray for this day. I pray that Christi will have a good day as she works from home. I pray that my work day will go well, and that all trucks will get loaded smoothly and with no issues. Keep me mindful of praying throughout the day, even stopping to pray for those with whom I work every day. Keep my tongue calm, and may I speak little. I pray that you will draw Stephanie’s heart closer to you and show her the path you have for her to walk. I also pray that she will feel better, as she was struggling a bit with what appears to be allergies, last night.

Your grace is sufficient. As we approach this Thanksgiving holiday, make us truly thankful for all that you have placed in our lives.


When tragedy strikes, may we all remember that, most times, words are not necessary or probably even helpful. Most of the time, the silent presence of a good friend is worth more than a thousand words.

Grace and peace, friends.

About Jeff

I love Jesus, I love my family, I love music, and I love baseball. I try to keep them in that order. I play keyboard, guitar, and sing. I used to play trombone...maybe I will again one day.
This entry was posted in A Year With God, Birthdays, Devotions, Prayer, The Divine Hours and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seven Days Without A Word

  1. “Most of the time, the silent presence of a good friend is worth more than a thousand words.” I whole-heartedly agree. I don’t always remember this, but I know it’s true.

Leave a Reply

