Sovereignty Over Life

Good morning. Monday is back. March 31, 2014. ‘Tis the last day of March, but ’tis also OPENING DAY!!! NO more days until baseball season.

Today is Crayola Crayon Day. What a joy those used to bring me. I remember having on of those 76 or 84 or whatever number they had in them boxes. It even had a built in sharpener!! Ah, those days of magic and innocence. Anyway. . . If you have a chance, today, recall your “inner child” and color with some crayons. But not just any crayons. . .


Yesterday turned out being a lovely day. It was beautiful outside, which is a good thing, because, when Rachel decided she wanted to try Lee’s Grilled Cheese for her birthday lunch, it was packed and we wound up having to sit outside. And it was delicious, as always. Then we came home and had strawberry cake. Which was also delicious. We sent half of the cake home with Rachel and Justin. She enjoyed her gifts of Skullcandy headphones, as well as some Peeps and peach rings. We threw in a little unexpected cash, as well. It was a good day. The rest of the evening was spent just resting.

Today, it’s back to the grind, and this week will likely be one of the “grindiest” that I’ve had in a while. I’ve been trying to prepare myself for it. Christi has a doctor’s appointment at 10:00am (CDT), so if any of you happen to think about it during that time, a prayer would be appreciated. This guy is an orthopedic doctor, so we are hoping he can shed some light on the cause of this pain, and maybe have some advice on how to stop, or at least reduce, it.

The Texas Rangers play their first game at 1:05pm and the Boston Red Sox play at 2:05pm.


(Source: History.com)

It was on this date in 1943 that the musical, Oklahoma opened on Broadway. This was the first collaboration by Richard Rogers and Oscar Hammerstein II. It was different than most Broadway musicals, in that, instead of opening with a bang, it opened with a “lone cowboy singing a gentle idyll about corn and meadows.”

In case you haven’t done the math, that was 71 years ago.


Today’s birthday features another event that happened 71 years ago today. The birth of Christopher Walken. Walken is an actor, known for many roles. My favorite is the eighties movie Brainstorm. But he has also been good in many others. He is also known for some doing some quite funny things, such as this reading of Lady Gaga’s “Poker Face.”


TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From The Divine Hours)

Blessed are those whose way is blameless, who walk in the law of the LORD!
Blessed are those who keep his testimonies, who seek him with their whole heart,
who also do no wrong, but walk in his ways!

Psalm 119:1-3
Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit.
Psalm 51:12
But you, O Lord, are a God merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love and faithfulness.
Psalm 86:15
For who is God, but the LORD? And who is a rock, except our God?
Psalm 18:31


He makes me lie down in green pastures. He leads me beside still waters.
He restores my soul.

Psalm 23:2-3a
“Be still, and know that I am God.”
Psalm 46:10a

Today’s Daily Guidposts reading reminds us that God sometimes speaks most clearly we “don’t do, but . . . simply be.” “Be still and know. . . “


Today’s reading in Reflections for Ragamuffins is “The Meaning of Easter.”

It’s probably difficult to place readings like these past few in a yearly devotional guide, since Easter moves around every year. Most of the time, you would be safe placing Good Friday and Easter readings right around this time, but this year, Easter falls on April 20, which is still 20 days away.

This readings turns out to be one of those that I will simply quote in its entirety.

“The meaning of Easter is more than hope beyond the
grave, more than the infallible guarantee that the
resurrection of Jesus Christ is the pledge of my own.
His Easter victory means first his sovereignty over the
living as well as the dead. The risen Christ is Lord of
my life right now, meaning he is god above all the gods
of the unreal world out there–security, power, wealth,
beauty, or whatever else makes false claims on my life.
Easter means for me empowerment to freedom, the freedom
to be a living fulfillment of the First Commandment,
‘I am the Lord your God . . . You shall have no other
gods before me.'”

Therefore it says, “When he ascended on high he led a host of captives, and he gave gifts to men.”
Ephesians 4:8


Father, may I know this sovereignty over my life! Jesus, may I fully acknowledge your Lordship over my life, through all aspects of my day. I cannot “make” you Lord of my life; I cannot ask you to be Lord over my life; you already ARE Lord! All I can do is acknowledge this fact, and I pray for your Spirit to help me remember this each moment of each day. How often I forget your Lordship and just go on about my merry (or not so merry) way. I pray that this fact of your sovereignty over my life would color all of my speech, especially around unbelievers. I pray that it would even penetrate my thoughts, to the point that I find myself utterly unable to think things that would not glorify you. This is quite a challenge, I realize, at least for me. Nothing is too difficult for you. It is always me who is the problem. Therefore, I call on your name. Teach me your ways, that I may walk in your truth. Unite my heart to fear your name. May your word be a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.

I pray for this day. May I have safe travel to and from work. I pray that Christi’s doctor appointment this morning will provide some much needed relief, as well as some answers. I also pray that she might hear something back from one of the job opportunities. Lord do not let these people forget about her in the midst of their own problems and issues. I pray for Stephanie today. May she thoroughly enjoy the first day of our team’s baseball season. While I don’t know that you care a lot for who wins sports games, your child, Stephanie, cares a lot. I pray that she might receive some joy today. Teach her your ways and give her wisdom and understanding. May my work day go smoothly today, and help me draw strength from your Spirit.

I also pray, Father, that you help me to spend at least as much time being as I spend doing.

Your grace is sufficient.


We always tend to focus on Jesus’s sovereignty over death at Easter time. Let us, this year, focus, as well, on his sovereignty over life.

Grace and peace, friends.

About Jeff

I love Jesus, I love my family, I love music, and I love baseball. I try to keep them in that order. I play keyboard, guitar, and sing. I used to play trombone...maybe I will again one day.
This entry was posted in Baseball, Birthdays, Devotions, History, Prayer, Reflections for Ragamuffins, The Divine Hours and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

