Who Am I?

“How difficult it is to be honest–to accept that I am unacceptable, to renounce self-justification, to give up my preposterous pretending that my paltry prayers, spiritual insights, knowledge of Scripture, and blustering successes in ministry have made me pleasing to God.”~~Brennan Manning

Good morning. It is Wednesday, September 3, 2014.

Yesterday afternoon, our SAP program went down, which caused us to not be able to do any goods receipts during the last 90 minutes of work. As a result of that, I need to go in early this morning, so I’ve got to hurry to get whatever devotional I can get done in the next fifteen minutes or so. Therefore, there will be none of my normal introductory stuff.

I will, however, take a few seconds to let you know that today is Welsh Rarebit Day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, the sinner.

(From The Divine Hours)

My mouth will speak the praise of the LORD,
and let all flesh bless his holy name forever and ever.

Psalm 145:21
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy on me.
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy on me.
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, grant me your peace.
Agnus Dei
Your steadfast love, O LORD, extends to the heavens,
your faithfulness to the clouds.

Psalm 36:5
I will extol you, my God and King,
and bless your name forever and ever.

Psalm 145:1

Today’s Gospel reading

It was also said, ‘Whoever divorces his wife, let him give her a certificate of divorce.’ But I say to you that everyone who divorces his wife, except on the ground of sexual immorality, makes her commit adultery, and whoever marries a divorced woman commits adultery.
Matthew 5:31-32

In this passage, Jesus tackles the Jewish law that allowed divorce for just about any reason imaginable. Basically, if a Hebrew man of that time decided he was tired of his wife, he could make up something to divorce her over. Jesus reinstated the sanctity of marriage in this passage, allowing only the sin of “sexual immorality” as an acceptable reason for divorce. There is a lot more that could be discussed in this passage, but I simply don’t have time this morning. Let it just be said that the sanctity of marriage is important to God.

Today’s reading in Reflections for Ragamuffins is “Knowing Who We Are.”

Brennan quotes one of the Beatitudes from the NEB: “Blessed are those who know that they are poor.” It is important that we know who we are. “How difficult it is to be honest–to accept that I am unacceptable, to renounce self-justification, to give up my preposterous pretending that my paltry prayers, spiritual insights, knowledge of Scripture, and blustering successes in ministry have made me pleasing to God.” I have no beauty that “enamors me in his eyes. I am lovable because he loves me. Period.” It is a very liberating experience to move from this “darkness of self-delusion” to the light of the truth of God. The only thing that makes me beautiful in the eyes of God is the fact that he chose me and covered me with the blood of Christ.

Beloved, let us love one another,
for love is from God,
and whoever loves has been born of God
and knows God.

1 John 4:7

Father, I thank you for the truth stated above. Help me to know this on a daily basis. There are times when I do pretty good with this, yet there are other times when I get all puffed up with Biblical knowledge and piety and all that stuff. Yes, I pray every day. Yes, I read my Bible and “devote” ever day. But nothing of those things makes you love me more! There is nothing I can do to make you love me more! You love me because you love me, not because I have done anything “love-worthy.” Keep that right in front of my eyes and heart, Father, and make me appreciate your grace!

I pray for this day. I pray that Christi’s job keep going as well as it has started. I pray that our drive to work and home will be safe. I pray that our SAP system will be working when I get there. I also ask that Stephanie will experience your great and overwhelming love today. Let her know how much you love her.

I pray for Robert’s friend Carl, who is in a medically induced coma after a motorcycle accident. I pray that you would heal and spare his life, Lord.

Your grace is sufficient.

who-am-i-
Who are you? Who am I? These are things we need to understand as we relate to our Father.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

