Let Jesus Be Who He Is

“The number of people who have fled the church because it is too patient or compassionate is negligible; the number who have fled because they find it too unforgiving is tragic.”

Good morning. It is Wednesday, September 17, 2014. Hump day.

Today is International Country Music Day International Country Music Day. So all you country music lovers celebrate!!

I need to hurry it up a bit. I was planning to try to get in a bit early today, as we had a bunch of work left over when I left. I’ll try to get everything done, here. I apologize if it seems truncated.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, the sinner.

(From The Divine Hours)

Make your vows to the LORD your God and perform them;
let all around him bring gifts to him who is to be feared,

Psalm 76:11
Let my cry come before you, O LORD; give me understanding according to your word!
Let my plea come before you; deliver me according to your word.

Psalm 119:169-170
With a freewill offering I will sacrifice to you; I will give thanks to your name, O LORD, for it is good.
Psalm 54:6
How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth!
Psalm 119:103
The LORD is my strength and my song; he has become my salvation.
Glad songs of salvation are in the tents of the righteous: “The right hand of the LORD does valiantly,
the right hand of the LORD exalts, the right hand of the LORD does valiantly!”
I shall not die, but I shall live, and recount the deeds of the LORD.

Psalm 119:14-17

Today’s reading in Reflections for Ragamuffins is “Patient In Love?”

What would happen if you suddenly discovered that all of your motives for ministry were egocentric, all about you? What would you do if you got drunk and committed adultery last night? What if you failed to respond to a genuine and desperate cry for help, and the person committed suicide?

“Would guilt, self-condemnation, and self-hatred consume you, or would you jump into the water and swim a hundred yards at breakneck speed toward Jesus?” Would you let the darkness consume you, “or would you let Jesus be who he is – a Savior of boundless compassion and infinite patience, a Lover who keeps no score of our wrongs?”

Jesus’s disciples ran to him because they were “crazy about him.” Quoting Raymond Brown, “Jesus was remembered as one who exhibited love in what he did and was loved deeply by those who followed him.”

The message of the Gospel is directed both “to the sinner covered with shame and to the local church tentative and slow to forgive for fear of appearing lax or liberal. The number of people who have fled the church because it is too patient or compassionate is negligible; the number who have fled because they find it too unforgiving is tragic.”

Love is patient and kind;
love does not envy or boast;
it is not arrogant or rude.
It does not insist on its own way;
it is not irritable or resentful;

1 Corinthians 13:4-5

Father, forgive me for forgetting and not leaving enough time this morning. I pray that our local church will not be the one that is too impatient and unforgiving. Let us be the opposite, and show the compassion that Jesus showed to those around him while he walked the earth. I pray that we will run to Jesus because we love him, because we are crazy about him.

Give us grace for this day, and may you show your overwhelming love to Stephanie today.

Your love is overwhelming!

Today, no matter where you are, let Jesus be who he really is in your live.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

