Listen!

Good morning. It is Friday, October 3, 2014.

Today is Smile Day. So go out and smile at someone.

I’m going in early this morning, so I need to make this quick. Baltimore brought the smackdown in their game against Detroit yesterday, beating them 12-3. KC won in extra innings again, beating the Angles 3-2 in eleven innings. So far, they have played 23 innings in two games. Tonight, we have all four playoff games, two NL and two AL.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Teach me your way, O LORD, that I may walk in your truth;
unite my heart to fear your name.

Psalm 86:11

(From The Divine Hours)

Come and see what God has done:
he is awesome in his deeds toward the children of man.

Psalm 66:4
Wondrously show your steadfast love,
O Savior of those who seek refuge from their adversaries at your right hand.
Keep me as the apple of your eye; hide me in the shadow of your wings,

Psalm 17:7-8
Save us, we pray, O LORD! O LORD, we pray, give us success!
Blessed is he who comes in the name of the LORD! We bless you from the house of the LORD.

Psalm 118:25-26
For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.
2 Corinthians 4:6

My son, if you receive my words and treasure up my commandments with you,
making your ear attentive to wisdom and inclining your heart to understanding;
yes, if you call out for insight and raise your voice for understanding,
if you seek it like silver and search for it as for hidden treasures,
then you will understand the fear of the LORD and find the knowledge of God.

Proverbs 2:1-5

Father, I have to leave for work, now, to get in early. I pray that you would help me listen to you as I drive to work this morning. Your Spirit is living and active, and I want to know what you are doing in and around me. Help me to constantly be paying attention; keep me from getting so wrapped up in myself and what I am doing.

I pray for safe travel to and from work for Christi and me. I pray for your love to overwhelm Stephanie today, that she might truly feel your presence. Help us all to be followers of Jesus in our daily lives.

Sorry for the truncated entry today. Whatever you do today, try to listen; try to hear from God, if possible, getting away someplace silent.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

