The Will of the Father is Reality

The will of the Father is reality. It is like a river of life coming down from the Father to Jesus – a bloodstream from which he draws life even more profoundly and powerfully than he draws life from his mother. And whoever is ready to do the will of the Father becomes a part of this bloodstream, and he is united to the life of Christ Jesus more truly, deeply, and strongly than the way in which Jesus was united to his mother.”~~Brennan Manning

Good morning. It is Wednesday, October 8, 2014.

Today is World Octopus Day? Don’t ask me, I don’t make these things up!

Today is like Friday for us! We have tomorrow and Friday off, and will be in Glen Rose, TX to celebrate our 29th anniversary! We are staying in our favorite cabin Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights. But we have to do work for one more day, first.

The NLCS is settle after yesterday’s games. It will be the St. Louis Cardinals vs the San Francisco Giants. I don’t have a strong opinion, either way. In the ALCS, I will be rooting for Kansas City, but won’t be unhappy if Baltimore wins.

We had an interesting Huddle meeting last night. Our leader/pastor was out of town, so he Skyped in. I’m not sure I liked that, but it was functional, I guess. Christi and I may very well be leading our own Huddle after this is done. It all depends on if anyone wants to “Huddle” with us.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From The Divine Hours)

But I call to God, and the LORD will save me.
Evening and morning and at noon I utter my complaint and moan,
and he hears my voice.
He redeems my soul in safety from the battle that I wage,
for many are arrayed against me.
God will give ear and humble them, he who is enthroned from of old, Selah.
because they do not change and do not fear God.

Psalm 55:16-19
May God be gracious to us and bless us and make his face to shine upon us, Selah.
Psalm 67:1
In you, O LORD, do I take refuge; let me never be put to shame;
in your righteousness deliver me!

Psalm 31:1
The stone that the builders rejected has become the cornerstone.
Psalm 118:22

Today’s Gospel Reading

And as Jesus passed on from there, two blind men followed him, crying aloud, “Have mercy on us, Son of David.” When he entered the house, the blind men came to him, and Jesus said to them, “Do you believe that I am able to do this?” They said to him, “Yes, Lord.” Then he touched their eyes, saying, “According to your faith be it done to you.” And their eyes were opened. And Jesus sternly warned them, “See that no one knows about it.” But they went away and spread his fame through all that district.
Matthew 9:24-31

Jesus asks an important question in this passage that filters down to us, today. “Do you believe that I am able to do this?” When we pray, do we believe that he is able to do what we are asking? I would think that we wouldn’t bother to pray if we didn’t. At least that’s the way I normally approach prayer. When the two blind men answered, “Yes, Lord,” Jesus responded by touching their eyes and saying, “According to your faith be it done to you.” Now, I’m no “name it/claim it” theologian, and never will be. But if Jesus answered all of us that way, what would the outcome be? Good question, eh?

Today’s reading in Reflections for Ragamuffins is “The Father’s Works.”

Jesus had a very evident single-mindedness about the Father and the Kingdom of God. In Matthew 26:39, he says, “My Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as you will.” In Luke 2:49, as a boy, he says, “Why were you looking for me? Did you not know that I must be in my Father’s house?” There is another passage where he speaks about doing the Father’s work, not his own work, but I can’t find the reference, at the moment.

It is important, though, that we realize that all of these words are not allegory. “The will of the Father is reality.” How often do we reflect on that truth? “The will of the Father is reality. It is like a river of life coming down from the Father to Jesus – a bloodstream from which he draws life even more profoundly and powerfully than he draws life from his mother. And whoever is ready to do the will of the Father becomes a part of this bloodstream, and he is united to the life of Christ Jesus more truly, deeply, and strongly than the way in which Jesus was united to his mother.”

At this point, there is no “human sentimentality” in Christ. The main points of his ministry are himself and the Father. “The New Testament is our kairos – the hour of salvation – and its essential lines are through Jesus Christ to the Father from whom salvation comes.”

“My food is to do the will of him who sent me and to accomplish his work.”
John 4:34

Father, I pray for faith to believe. I pray to be able to answer affirmatively when you ask me, “Do you believe that I am able to do this?” Again, I say that I would not bother to pray if I did not believe, right? But is my faith true? If you were to say to me, “According to your faith be it done to you,” what would happen? This needs to be my reflection during today, especially during my drive-time prayers. I also pray that you help me to understand the realities of your will. As I pray each day, I wonder about your will in the lives of the people for whom I am praying. You have put me in this intercessory prayer ministry. Sometimes, I am not sure how to pray for people, even when they have given me requests to pray for. Help me understand your will, your interest in those for whom I am praying, that I might pray according to your will. May I be more like Jesus and understand that it is your will that matters, not mine. I pray for the desires of my heart to be the desires of your heart.

Father, I pray for safe travel this morning and this evening. I pray for our work day, that it will go smoothly. I pray for Stephanie today, that she would feel the warmth of your deep, deep love for her! May your grace and peace shine through our lives today. Give Christi grace as she meets with a difficult person this morning. May your Kingdom come on earth as it is in heaven!

“The will of the Father is reality.” That is a thought that I plan to keep repeating throughout this day. May we truly understand this.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

