Feelings

Good morning. It is Friday, October 24, 2014. Seven more days in October.

Today is United Nations Day. It’s the only choice I had.

Not much to write about on a personal level this morning. Yesterday was rather strange at work. UPS showed up at their normal time, but only had 22 next day air boxes. The other truck didn’t show up until about 1:00 PM, with 117 more boxes. That’s not really good, except for the fact that we have until 1:00 PM today to get them all worked. Of course, they will probably show up early today, right?

The World Series continues tonight, in San Francisco. Let’s go Royals!!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From The Divine Hours)

Exalt the LORD our God, and worship at his holy mountain; for the LORD our God is holy!
Psalm 99:9
Be pleased, O LORD, to deliver me! O LORD, make haste to help me!
Psalm 40:13
But you, O GOD my Lord, deal on my behalf for your name’s sake; because your steadfast love is good, deliver me!
For I am poor and needy, and my heart is stricken within me.

Psalm 109:21-22
The LORD is merciful and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love.
Psalm 103:8
And rising very early in the morning, while it was still dark, [Jesus] departed and went out to a desolate place, and there he prayed.
Mark 1:35
The LORD is near to all who call on him, to all who call on him in truth.
He fulfills the desire of those who fear him; he also hears their cry and saves them.
The LORD preserves all who love him, but all the wicked he will destroy.

Psalm 145:18-20

For you, O Lord, are good and forgiving, abounding in steadfast love to all who call upon you.
Psalm 86:5
The LORD is good to all, and his mercy is over all that he has made.
Psalm 145:9
Be merciful, even as your Father is merciful.
Luke 6:36

Today’s Gospel Reading

At that time Jesus went through the grainfields on the Sabbath. His disciples were hungry, and they began to pluck heads of grain and to eat. But when the Pharisees saw it, they said to him, “Look, your disciples are doing what is not lawful to do on the Sabbath.” He said to them, “Have you not read what David did when he was hungry, and those who were with him: how he entered the house of God and ate the bread of the Presence, which it was not lawful for him to eat nor for those who were with him, but only for the priests? Or have you not read in the Law how on the Sabbath the priests in the temple profane the Sabbath and are guiltless? I tell you, something greater than the temple is here. And if you had known what this means, ‘I desire mercy, and not sacrifice,’ you would not have condemned the guiltless. For the Son of Man is lord of the Sabbath.”
Matthew 12:1-8

In this encounter with the Pharisees, Jesus asserted his Lordship over all things. “Something greater than the temple is here,” he declared. He also showed that mercy is greater than sacrifice. Just as the Sabbath is a symbol of God’s sovereignty over all things, Jesus being “Lord of the Sabbath fulfills all aspects of the meaning of the Sabbath.” (Reformation Study Bible notes)

Today’s reading in Reflections for Ragamuffins is “In Touch With Our Feelings.”

Brennan’s wife would often say to him, before going out for an event, “I just need a few moments to put on my face.”

“A Pharisee must wear his or her religious face at all times.” The Pharisee has an insatiable appetite for attention and admiration, which “compels him to present an edifying image and to avoid mistakes and failures studiously.” It could be big trouble if he lets down his guard and actually shows emotions.

“Yet emotions are our most direct reaction to our perception of ourselves and the world around us.” Regardless if they are negative or positive, our feelings are what puts us in touch with our real selves. Keep in mind, these feelings are neither good nor bad. “They are simply the truth of what is going on within us.” It is what we do with these feelings that will determine “whether we live lives of honesty or of deceit.” When we submit these feelings to our faith, they will serve “as trustworthy beacons for appropriate action or inaction.”

And David danced before the LORD with all his might. And David was wearing a linen ephod.
2 Samuel 6:14

Father, I pray that your Spirit would help me keep my emotions submitted to my faith in you. Sometimes, my emotions run amok. I can usually tell when they are not presenting to me the truth of a situation, and if I were to act on those emotions, things would go badly. But those are times when I know that my emotions are not in submission. We don’t like that word, “submission.” It brings to mind an animal cowering in fear, submitting itself to its victor. But it is necessary for us to live a life of faith. We must submit to you, and in doing so, must submit all emotions and feelings to you, as well. I pray that you help me to do this, because when I let them run rampant, it puts me in a state of mind that is very unhealthy.

I pray for this day, that we would have safe and smooth passage to work and back. Thank you for the hope of a restful weekend, ahead. I pray that we may use this weekend to not only be productive and get useful things done, but to rest as well, that we might work out of our rest during the week that follows. I pray that Christi will continue to feel better, as the dizziness seems to gone, for the most part. I pray for Stephanie to have a good day and to know how much you love her.

I pray for Cindy today, as she goes for her nuclear stress test. I pray that you give her confidence and peace through this, as she is a tad nervous about the whole thing, as I’m sure I would be, as well. That word “nuclear” gives one a bit of stress, all by itself.

Your grace is sufficient, Lord.

They may be “nothing more than feelings,” and some Christians who are more rigid tend to dismiss them as the opposite of faith. However, I agree with brother Manning, that, when we are fully submitted to our Lord, they are a “trustworthy beacon” to let us know what needs to be done.

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Feelings

Leave a Reply

