Good morning. It is post-Monday, October 28, 2014.

Today is Animation Day. I am a huge fan of animation. I have very fond memories of getting up early on Saturday mornings to watch cartoons. I still love a good cartoon.

I’m going in early this morning, so I’m going to get right into the devotional. I will say that we had a somewhat pleasant time last night, taking my mother-in-law and her husband (along with Christi’s niece) out for dinner. It was my mother-in-law’s birthday.

Tonight, our Huddle group is meeting for dinner. I think. Possibly at Cheddar’s. Our leader is still in Thailand.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From The Divine Hours)

God has gone up with a shout, the LORD with the sound of a trumpet.
Sing praises to God, sing praises! Sing praises to our King, sing praises!
For God is the King of all the earth; sing praises with a psalm!
God reigns over the nations; God sits on his holy throne.

Psalm 47:5-8
I rise before dawn and cry for help; I hope in your words.
Psalm 119:147
Not to us, O LORD, not to us, but to your name give glory, for the sake of your steadfast love and your faithfulness!
Psalm 115:1
They are planted in the house of the LORD; they flourish in the courts of our God.
Psalm 92:13
He does not deal with us according to our sins, nor repay us according to our iniquities.
For as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is his steadfast love toward those who fear him;
as far as the east is from the west, so far does he remove our transgressions from us.
As a father shows compassion to his children, so the LORD shows compassion to those who fear him.
For he knows our frame; he remembers that we are dust.

Psalm 103:10-14

Today’s Gospel Reading

Either make the tree good and its fruit good, or make the tree bad and its fruit bad, for the tree is known by its fruit. You brood of vipers! How can you speak good, when you are evil? For out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks. The good person out of his good treasure brings forth good, and the evil person out of his evil treasure brings forth evil. I tell you, on the day of judgment people will give account for every careless word they speak, for by your words you will be justified, and by your words you will be condemned.”
Matthew 12:33-37

This passage really goes along with the previous one from yesterday, as Jesus is still speaking warnings to the Pharisees who accused him of casting out demons by the power of the devil. Here, he speaks of the kind of fruit that comes out of one’s heart. We get the famous line, “the tree is known by its fruit,” from this passage, as well. Jesus’s words in these verses should be chilling to all of us. “For out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks.” How many times have wicked words come out of my mouth? This proves that, even though Christ has saved me, my heart is still exceedingly wicked, and is not finished being redeemed.” The flesh and the spirit battle daily. This also points us back to the Sermon on the Mount, where Jesus insisted that “verbal sins, such as lies, gossip, or insults are condemned as severely as adultery and murder” (Reformation Study Bible notes).

Father, my time is up, and I must be heading to work. I pray that fruit of my mouth will be pleasing to you, this day. May your Spirit be active in me, causing me to monitor everything that comes out of my mouth today, even the thoughts that are in my head, that may not come out my mouth. May the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable in your sight, today, O Lord, my strength and my salvation!

I pray for this day, that we will have safe passage to work and back. May our work day go smoothly, and may we display the Kingdom to all around us. I pray that Stephanie will feel better, and that she will be aware of your unfailing love in her life.

Your grace is sufficient.

May we all check our words before they pass our lips. May our words be good fruit, coming from good hearts, and be pleasing to God.

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

