Comfortably Numb

Good morning. It is Wednesday, October 29, 2014.

Today is Cat Day. How could I not celebrate that? Would that I could get a picture of all three of our cats together, but that’s not going to happen!

Going in early again today, so I must hurry a bit. Just a couple of things to say.

ROYALS . . . HECK YEAH!!!! 10-0 win last night to tie the Series 3-3. History favors them to win the Series, now, but they’d better not get cocky!

The second thing is that we will not be home, passing out candy Friday night. We are going to our pastor’s mother’s house to have chili! Yes, she makes chili every Halloween, and invites people over to eat it. We got invited this year! We’ve had her chili, and is most delicious. She uses a mix of beef and venison, and it is quite good.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From The Divine Hours)

Love the LORD, all you his saints! The LORD preserves the faithful but abundantly repays the one who acts in pride.
Psalm 31:23
To you, O LORD, I call; my rock, be not deaf to me, lest, if you be silent to me, I become like those who go down to the pit.
Psalm 28:1
Your way, O God, is holy. What god is great like our God?
Psalm 77:13
Oh, guard my soul, and deliver me! Let me not be put to shame, for I take refuge in you.
Psalm 25:20
Be merciful to me, O God, be merciful to me, for in you my soul takes refuge; in the shadow of your wings I will take refuge, till the storms of destruction pass by.
I cry out to God Most High, to God who fulfills his purpose for me.
He will send from heaven and save me; he will put to shame him who tramples on me. Selah. God will send out his steadfast love and his faithfulness!

Psalm 57:1-3

Today’s reading in Reflections for Ragamuffins is “Self-Destruction.”

Brennan describes three ways of committing suicide: “taking my own life, letting myself die, and letting myself live without hope.” The last form is seldom recognized in our society and often goes unchallenged. It normally takes the form of “boredom, monotony, drudgery, feeling overcome by the ordinariness of life.”

We start down this road by deciding that the “Christian calling is too demanding, that life in Christ Jesus is too sublime.” This is followed by settling into a rut and forfeiting the “stuff of gospel greatness.” Pretty soon, we are just like everyone else, failing not only ourselves, but our community of faith “by failing to respond to the living, vibrant, magnificent image of Christ that is within us waiting only to be expressed.”

O Israel, hope in the LORD! For with the LORD there is steadfast love, and with him is plentiful redemption.
Psalm 130:7

Father, I pray that this not happen to me. Let me not lose hope and fall into a life of routine drudgery. You have brought me into some exciting arenas of life in the past few years, and I desire to continue down that path. I pray that you keep me going in that direction, nudging me, when necessary, with your Spirit. Enable me to praise you daily, worship you in spirit and in truth. I would even pray that I might find myself, at times, facedown on the floor, worshiping your holiness like never before. There is nothing boring about you, or life in Christ. There never should be, and if we get to that point, we need an electric shock; something from you to revive us!

I pray for this day, that our trip to work and home would be safe and smooth. I pray for the work day, that it will go smoothly for both of us, and that we will be faithful to display your Kingdom as we go. I pray that Stephanie will have peace, along with wisdom and understanding. May she feel your overwhelming presence during this day, and, in her own way, display the Kingdom to those with whom she is in contact.

Your grace is sufficient.

I’m reminded of a song lyric that touched my spirit many years ago:

“When I was a child, I caught a fleeting glimpse,
Out of the corner of my eye.
I turned to look, and it was gone;
I cannot put my finger on it now;
The child is grown; the dream is gone.
I . . . have become
Comfortably Numb.”

I prayed to God, at that moment that this would never happen to me!

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Comfortably Numb

Leave a Reply

