Translucent Eyes

Good afternoon. It is Monday, November 3, 2014. I will explain the late post in a bit.

Today is Jellyfish Day. Don’t ask me, I don’t make these up, I just copy them.

It was time for my semi-annual checkup, without which I cannot get meds refilled. So I switched Saturdays with someone else, so I could have today off without using PTO, and had my appointment at 9:15 this morning. It went pretty well, except that I got a little lecture, as my weight increased slightly since my May visit. But all that is done, my blood has been collected, and I even got a flu shot this time. It’s the first time I’ve ever gotten one of those.

Later today, I need to take my bowling ball to the pro shop, because one of my finger grip inserts came out while we were bowling yesterday afternoon. I’m lucky it didn’t come out down in the works of the lane. It should be easily repairable.

(Source: This Day in History)

On this date in 1998, pro wrestler Jesse Ventura was elected governor of Minnesota. Yes, that really happened. He did okay for a couple of years, but then the state ran into economic problems, and his support waned rapidly. After spending some time whining and lashing out at critics, he decided not to run again in 2002. His last known whereabouts were in Mexico.

Today’s birthdays include Dolph Lundgren, Roseanne Barr, Charles Bronson, Adam Ant, Dennis Miller, Kate Capshaw, Evgeni Plushenko, Bob Feller, Ken Berry, and Lulu.

Honestly, none of these are really jumping out at me today, so I’ll just leave it at that.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From The Divine Hours)

Praise the LORD! Sing to the LORD a new song, his praise in the assembly of the godly!
Let Israel be glad in his Maker; let the children of Zion rejoice in their King!
Let them praise his name with dancing, making melody to him with tambourine and lyre!
For the LORD takes pleasure in his people; he adorns the humble with salvation.

Psalm 149:1-4
Restore us, O God of hosts; let your face shine, that we may be saved!
Psalm 80:7
Not to us, O LORD, not to us, but to your name give glory, for the sake of your steadfast love and your faithfulness!
Psalm 115:1
Righteousness and justice are the foundation of your throne; steadfast love and faithfulness go before you.
Psalm 89:14
Bless the LORD, O my soul, and all that is within me, bless his holy name!
Bless the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits,
who forgives all your iniquity, who heals all your diseases,
who redeems your life from the pit, who crowns you with steadfast love and mercy,
who satisfies you with good so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

Psalm 103:1-5

Today’s Gospel Reading

Then the disciples came and said to him, “Why do you speak to them in parables?” And he answered them, “To you it has been given to know the secrets of the kingdom of heaven, but to them it has not been given. For to the one who has, more will be given, and he will have an abundance, but from the one who has not, even what he has will be taken away. This is why I speak to them in parables, because seeing they do not see, and hearing they do not hear, nor do they understand. Indeed, in their case the prophecy of Isaiah is fulfilled that says: “‘”You will indeed hear but never understand,
and you will indeed see but never perceive.”
For this people’s heart has grown dull,
and with their ears they can barely hear,
and their eyes they have closed,
lest they should see with their eyes
and hear with their ears
and understand with their heart
and turn, and I would heal them.’
But blessed are your eyes, for they see, and your ears, for they hear. For truly, I say to you, many prophets and righteous people longed to see what you see, and did not see it, and to hear what you hear, and did not hear it.”

Matthew 13:10-17

It is clear in these words of Jesus that even the ability to understand God’s word is a gift given by God. It is somewhat unsettling, yet, nevertheless, true, that Jesus used parables so that those who were not supposed to understand the Gospel would not understand it! The ears and eyes of the disciples were blessed, as they were given the gift of understanding.

Today’s reading in Reflections for Ragamuffins is “A Heart Fixed on Jesus.”

It could be said that the heart is the “eye of the body.” “The anxious, darting, filmy eyes of many Christians are the psychosomatic manifestations of a heart beclouded by the vanities of this world.” For others, the eye is translucent as it radiates “the simplicity and joy of a heart fixed on Jesus Christ, the Light of the world.” When the author of Hebrews admonishes us, “. . . looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith,” (12:2) he is not only giving us a prescription for “Christian transparency,” but is also telling us that we must reevaluate our entire value system. After all, “where your treasure is, there your heart bill be also” (Luke 12:34).

My heart is steadfast, O God! I will sing and make melody with all my being!
Psalm 108:1

Father, I pray that my heart would be translucent and radiate that it is fixed on Jesus. You are the Light of the world, Jesus! May my heart be fixed on you, and not the vanities of this world. Help me to keep on top of my own value system and not be distracted by the world, as I so often am. Thank you for giving me the ability, the eyes and ears, to understand your Word, at least partially. There are still things that I feel I will never fully comprehend, until I meet you face to face. Clean up my heart; clean up my “eye.” Fill me with your Spirit and your Presence.

I pray for the remainder of this day. I pray that Christi’s work day is going okay, and that the pain in her knee and feet is receding. I pray for Stephanie, as always, that she would know your great, great love for her.

Teach us your ways, that we may walk in your truth.

May our hearts be fixed on Jesus today.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

