Faith and The Works of God

Good morning. It is Wednesday, November 19, 2014.

Today is World Toilet Day. Heheh. Who knew there was such a day, right?

I had a pretty good day yesterday. Work was fairly . . . dare I say . . . easy. The box load was about average, and we had most, if not all, of it finished by the time I left at 4:30. I got home in time to have a nice bowl of our crock pot “Mexican soup” before rushing off for our Huddle group at 7:00 PM. The group went well. I think we had some good discussion, and I’m finding myself drawing closer to this group of guys. They’re mostly younger, but there is a range of 31 years between the oldest (25) and me (do the math). For some reason, I feel this responsibility of spiritual protection for them. It’s weird that I just typed that, but there was a strong urge from the Spirit last night, as I was driving home, and I prayed that God would keep me strong for these guys. I’m not sure that makes any sense. And it most definitely is not a pride thing. This is something that is so far out of my comfort zone that I can’t even begin to describe it. We’ll see how this progresses.

Today is a free night for us, sandwiched in between the men’s Huddle group and the Ladies Huddle group. We’ll probably make spaghetti and watch this week’s episodes of The Voice. Don’t you feel better for knowing that? 😀

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From The Divine Hours)

Praise God, from whom all blessings flow;
praise him, all creatures here below;
praise him above, you heavenly hosts;
praise Father, Son and Holy Ghost.
Send out your light and your truth; let them lead me; let them bring me to your holy hill and to your dwelling!
Then I will go to the altar of God, to God my exceeding joy, and I will praise you with the lyre, O God, my God.

Psalm 43:3-4
Splendor and honor and kingly power are yours by right, O Lord our God,
For you created everything that is, and by your will they were created and have their being.
(A Song To the Lamb)
Exalt the LORD our God; worship at his footstool! Holy is he!
Moses and Aaron were among his priests, Samuel also was among those who called upon his name. They called to the LORD, and he answered them.
In the pillar of the cloud he spoke to them; they kept his testimonies and the statute that he gave them.
O LORD our God, you answered them; you were a forgiving God to them, but an avenger of their wrongdoings.
Exalt the LORD our God, and worship at his holy mountain; for the LORD our God is holy!

Psalm 99:5-9
The people who walked in darkness have seen a great light;
those who dwelt in a land of deep darkness, on them has light shone.

Isaiah 9:2

The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.
Lamentations 3:22-23

Today’s Gospel Reading

And when Jesus had finished these parables, he went away from there, and coming to his hometown he taught them in their synagogue, so that they were astonished, and said, “Where did this man get this wisdom and these mighty works? Is not this the carpenter’s son? Is not his mother called Mary? And are not his brothers James and Joseph and Simon and Judas? And are not all his sisters with us? Where then did this man get all these things?” And they took offense at him. But Jesus said to them, “A prophet is not without honor except in his hometown and in his own household.” And he did not do many mighty works there, because of their unbelief.
Matthew 13:53-58

This has always been an interesting passage to me. The people of Jesus’s home town were offended by him. It is as if they thought that he thought he was better than them, so they rejected him. “Who does he think he is?” Was he unable to do the miracles in this town because of their unbelief? Or did he, rather, simply refuse to do them, because of that same unbelief? That is something that we cannot know for sure. The Reformation Study Bible notes opine that he simply did not do them, as miracles are of little use to people without faith. Matthew Henry, however, on the other hand, points out that even the Gospel is only the power of God for salvation to them that believe (Romans 1:16).

Father, it seems that I have run out of time, this morning. Forgive me for not being wise with my use of the limited amount of time that I have in the mornings. I pray, though, that my faith, or lack, thereof, would never prevent your great works in my life. I pray for great faith that would result in great things. Not “great things” as I see them, but “great things” as you would see and have me do. I seek no glory for myself in anything, but glory only for you. This is not false humility, as I struggle with that, but true desire. My heart’s desire is to see you high and lifted up in this world, as I strive to love you, follow Christ, and share your Kingdom. It is in the sharing of your Kingdom that great works will be done, again, not by me, but by you using the vessel that is me. I pray that my vessel will be useful to you. To quote the man who spoke to Jesus, “I do believe! Help my unbelief!” May I be surrendered to you, body, soul, and spirit.

I pray for this day, that our travel to and from work would be smooth and safe. May my drive time prayer time be fervent and effective, focused on those things that are dear and close to your heart. Teach me to pray without ceasing. I pray for Christi’s day, that it would go smoothly. I pray for the pains that she is experiencing, that you would relieve them. I pray, also, for Stephanie, as always, asking for wisdom and understanding for her, and that she would be able to share your Kingdom in her own way, as she interacts with various people. May your light shine in her life, Lord.

May we never limit what God can (or will) do in our lives by our lack of belief/faith.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

