All Is Well

Good morning. It is pre-Friday, December 4, 2014. 21 days . . .

Did you know that “Wifi” does not really stand for “Wireless Fidelity?” It is a nonsense phrase, patterned after “Hifi,” and it truly means nothing at all. The developers simply thought it was catcher than “IEEE 802.11b Direct Sequence.” I tend to agree. Can you imagine walking into Starbucks and asking for their IEEE 802.11b Direct Sequence password?

Today is Cookie Day! And we’re not talking about those Internet thingies that get put on your computer, either! We’re talking bonafide, edible, delicious cookies!! Any kind will do, but I prefer chocolate chip, gingersnaps, and snickerdoodles. Pei Wei has some of the best snickerdoodles I have ever eaten.

Yesterday was a pretty amazing day. We only got 62 boxes in for receiving, probably due to the two days that most people had off, last week. I expect today to be somewhat light, too. Friday? Don’t really care, I won’t be there. I may not have mentioned, it, but I’m taking PTO Friday, because I have some left, and need to take it. One day off this week, and then three more, week after next. Two days off during Christmas week, and one day off for New Year’s Day. I will have five short weeks out of the last six of the year! Heh. The week after New Year’s is going to be rough. 🙂

I messed up last night, and forgot to write the first part of my blog before going to bed. That’s why I’ve had time to put in the history, trivia, and birthdays over the past few days, because I got the idea to write that part the night before and save as a draft. But I forgot to do it last night, so I probably won’t have time. That’s unfortunate, because I really enjoy that part of it.

Christi has her Huddle group tonight, so I’ll be home with Stephanie for a couple of hours. I might practice the trombone. Or I might play World of Warcraft. Who knows?

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From The Divine Hours)

First Week of Advent
Know that the LORD, he is God! It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.
Psalm 100:3
For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him.
Psalm 62:5
Your decrees are very trustworthy; holiness befits your house, O LORD, forevermore.
Psalm 93:5
Blessed is he who comes in the name of the LORD! We bless you from the house of the LORD.
Psalm 118:26
In the sixth month the angel Gabriel was sent from God to a city of Galilee named Nazareth, to a virgin betrothed to a man whose name was Joseph, of the house of David. And the virgin’s name was Mary. And he came to her and said, “Greetings, O favored one, the Lord is with you!” But she was greatly troubled at the saying, and tried to discern what sort of greeting this might be. And the angel said to her, “Do not be afraid, Mary, for you have found favor with God.
Luke 1:26-30
The Prayer Appointed for the Week
Almighty God, give all of us grace to cast away the works of darkness, and put on the
armor of light, now in the time of this mortal life in which your Son Jesus Christ came
to visit us in great humility; that in the last day, when he shall come again in his
glorious majesty to judge both the living and the dead, we may rise to the life immortal;
through him who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and for ever. Amen.

And after six days Jesus took with him Peter and James, and John his brother, and led them up a high mountain by themselves. And he was transfigured before them, and his face shone like the sun, and his clothes became white as light. And behold, there appeared to them Moses and Elijah, talking with him. And Peter said to Jesus, “Lord, it is good that we are here. If you wish, I will make three tents here, one for you and one for Moses and one for Elijah.” He was still speaking when, behold, a bright cloud overshadowed them, and a voice from the cloud said, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased; listen to him.” When the disciples heard this, they fell on their faces and were terrified. But Jesus came and touched them, saying, “Rise, and have no fear.” And when they lifted up their eyes, they saw no one but Jesus only.
And as they were coming down the mountain, Jesus commanded them, “Tell no one the vision, until the Son of Man is raised from the dead.” And the disciples asked him, “Then why do the scribes say that first Elijah must come?” He answered, “Elijah does come, and he will restore all things. But I tell you that Elijah has already come, and they did not recognize him, but did to him whatever they pleased. So also the Son of Man will certainly suffer at their hands.” Then the disciples understood that he was speaking to them of John the Baptist.

Matthew 17:1-13

This passage describes what we know as The Transfiguration of Jesus. The fact that there is an exact time reference, which is rare for Matthew, gives us a connection between Peter’s confession and the Transfiguration. The disciples have recognized who Jesus really is, and it is time to move toward the ultimate goal of his life. The significance of the two other figures being Moses and Elijah are this: Moses was known as the Lawgiver, and Elijah was one of the premier prophets of the Old Testament. What we see is the representation of the truth that the Law and the Prophets all point to Jesus.

In verse 5, we get the same statement that Luke records in 9:35, which is the reason I am doing these Gospel readings every morning now. “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased; listen to him.” When the disciples fall on their faces in fear, Jesus is gentle with them, simply touching them, and saying, “Rise, and have no fear.” We need to hear Jesus saying that a lot more than we do, in our own lives. How fearful we are! It speaks of the smallness, the immaturity of our faith. But Jesus says to us, over and over again, “Have no fear.” Consider Psalm 27: The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The LORD is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid? Jesus is our Rock and our Salvation. What can man do to us?

Today’s reading in Reflections for Ragamuffins is “The Law of Levity.”

The angels in Luke 2 told the shepherds, “Fear not, for behold, I bring you good news of great joy that will be for all the people.” The KJV says, “good tidings of great joy.” Regardless of which translation you read, there is good news being proclaimed, glad tidings of great joy! Do we accept this mystery? If so, this time of year should be a time that enables us “to see beyond the tragic” in our lives. It is truly a reminder that we need the joy and laughter that God gives us to keep us from taking the world too seriously. “The Christian law of levity says that whatever falls into the earth will rise again. Christian laughter is the echo of Christmas joy in us.”

If we believe what the angels told the shepherds that night (whenever it happened to be), our hearts “will be filled with the laughter of the Father.” Jesus told his disciples, in John 16:22, “So also you have sorrow now, but I will see you again, and your hearts will rejoice, and no one will take your joy from you.” May we experience this joy as we approach the time of year we call Christmas.

Rejoice in that day, and leap for joy,
for behold, your reward is great in heaven;
for so their fathers did to the prophets.

Luke 6:23

Father, I pray that this joy would be prevalent in my life and that nothing would be allowed to taint it. I believe in the “good tidings of great joy” that the angels proclaimed to the shepherds! Let that joy flood my soul today, no matter what happens. There should be no earthly circumstance that can take that joy away from us. I also pray that I would continue trying with all my heart to listen to Jesus on a daily basis. He is my Rock and my Salvation. Whom shall I fear? Any time that I am tempted to be afraid, I pray that your Spirit will tap me on the shoulder and point to the words of Jesus in today’s Gospel passage, “Rise, and have no fear!”

I pray for this day, that we will have safe and smooth passage to and from work. May your grace and mercy fill our work day today, that we might share your Kingdom with all around us, in whatever way you give us. I pray for Stephanie, that she would know your overwhelming love. I also pray for the ladies’ Huddle that meets tonight. Show them your will; show them your Word; teach them to be disciples and how to make disciples, as they learn how to love you, follow Christ, and share the Kingdom.

The angels declared good tidings of great joy. I pray that you can know that joy today.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

