Kneeling At the Manger

Good morning. It is Friday, December 26, 2014. Day after Christmas. Five more wake-ups left in 2014.

Today’s Word of the Day is “rechauffe.” Rechauffe means to be reheated, warmed up again, or made from leftovers. Pretty appropriate word for the day after Christmas, no?

Today is Candy Cane Day. We actually did not have any of those this year. But if you did, enjoy them on their special day.

Christmas Day was very nice. Rachel and Justin had spent the night on Christmas Eve, so, after everyone got up, we had exchanged our gifts, and Christi finished preparations for the Christmas lunch. We took that over to Mineral Wells, and had a very nice afternoon with my parents. Christi was really wiped out, as she worked very hard on both days, so she pretty much went straight to bed as soon as we got home from there. It was a very nice day, though, and I think everyone was happy.

I got an Amazon Fire TV, which I really like, so far, and several books, including the latest Dresden Files book by Jim Butcher, Prayer, by Timothy Keller, and Brennan Manning’s autobiography, All Is Grace. Looks like my first-of-the-year reading is all set!

What did you get for Christmas?

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From The Divine Hours)

Awake, my glory! Awake, O harp and lyre! I will awake the dawn!
Psalm 57:8
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy upon me.
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy upon me.
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, grant me your peace.
Agnus Dei
Be strong, and let your heart take courage, all you who wait for the LORD!
Psalm 31:24
In sacrifice and offering you have not delighted, but you have given me an open ear. Burnt offering and sin offering you have not required.
Then I said, “Behold, I have come; in the scroll of the book it is written of me:
I delight to do your will, O my God; your law is within my heart.”

Psalm 40:6-8
The Prayer Appointed for the Week
Purify my conscience, Almighty God, by your daily visitation, that your Son Jesus Christ,
at his coming, may find in me a mansion prepared for himself;
who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and for ever. Amen.

“We are each of us angels with only one wing, and we can only fly by embracing one another.”~~Luciano De Crescenzo

Today’s reading in Reflections for Ragamuffins is “The Four Shepherds’ Visit.”

Brennan relates a French story that is told in “the forests of Provence in southern France.” It tells of four shepherds who traveled to Bethlehem to visit the newborn baby in the manger. Three of them brought gifts of eggs, bread, cheese, and wine. But the fourth brought no gift. He was called “L’Enchante.” As the first three talked with Mary and Joseph, they talked about “how well Mary looked, how cozy the cave was and how handsomely Joseph had appointed it, what a beautiful starlit night it was.” They told Mary and Joseph that, if anything else was needed, they only need ask. Someone then asked, “Where is L’Enchante?” They looked all around for him. “Finally, someone peeked through the blanket hung against the draft, into the creche. There, kneeling at the crib, was L’Enchante–the Enchanted One. Like a flag or a flame taking the direction of the wind, he had taken the direction of love. Through the entire night, he stayed in adoration, whispering, ‘Jesu, Jesu, Jesu–Jesus, Jesus, Jesus.'”

To whom then will you liken God, or what likeness compare with him?
Isaiah 40:18

Father, may I be more like L’Enchante today, kneeling in my heart, at the foot of the manger, whispering, “Jesu, Jesu, Jesu!” May my heart be filled with adoration for my Savior today, letting all other things take a back seat to his love for me.

I pray for this day, that our travel to and from work will be safe. I pray for safe travel for all who will be returning to their homes after the holiday. I pray for peace as we continue to celebrate the birth of our Savior. May you show your steadfast love to Stephanie, Rachel, and Justin.

Thank you for Christmas!

May we all find ourselves kneeling by the manger, along with L’Enchante.

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Kneeling At the Manger

Leave a Reply

