Ravished With Love for God

“The remembrance of God must be sweet to us, and fill our hearts with joy, or rather ravish us with love to him after he has caused us to taste of his goodness.” ~~John Calvin

Good morning. It is pre-Friday, January 8, 2015. 88 days until Opening Day!

Today’s Word of the Day is “prosopagnosia.” If you’re like me, and you are, sometimes, you said, “WHAT??” Prosopagnosia is, “A neurological abnormality characterized by the inability to recognize faces.” I’ve heard of that condition, but didn’t know the name for it. Now I do.

Today is Joy Germ Day. So, instead of spreading cold and flu germs, go around spreading joy germs today!

It’s cold this morning. 19 degrees when I woke up. I realize that there are parts of the world where it gets much colder. But this is really cold for north central Texas. Fortunately, there is no precipitation in the immediate forecast. It’s supposed to get up to 36 or so for the high today.

We didn’t make it to the gym last night, because Christi didn’t get off work until almost 6:00 PM. I know that, for some, that might not sound like a good enough reason, but we wouldn’t have been eating dinner until around 8:30, and we try to get to bed before 10:00, so that would not have been a good thing. Since we get up at 5:30 every morning, we don’t want to be getting to bed late during the week. We will try to make it Friday, though. Tonight is Christi’s Huddle night.

In sports news, I just learned that Jethro Pugh, one of the old time Dallas Cowboys, has passed away at the age of 70. He was part of an era when I truly loved the Cowboys.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Oh, the depth of the riches and wisdom and knowledge of God!
How unsearchable are his judgments and how inscrutable his ways!

Romans 11:33

Give ear to my words, O LORD; consider my groaning.
Give attention to the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to you do I pray.
O LORD, in the morning you hear my voice; in the morning I prepare a sacrifice for you and watch.
For you are not a God who delights in wickedness; evil may not dwell with you.
The boastful shall not stand before your eyes; you hate all evildoers.
You destroy those who speak lies; the LORD abhors the bloodthirsty and deceitful man.
But I, through the abundance of your steadfast love, will enter your house. I will bow down toward your holy temple in the fear of you.
Lead me, O LORD, in your righteousness because of my enemies; make your way straight before me.
For there is no truth in their mouth; their inmost self is destruction; their throat is an open grave; they flatter with their tongue.
Make them bear their guilt, O God; let them fall by their own counsels; because of the abundance of their transgressions cast them out, for they have rebelled against you.
But let all who take refuge in you rejoice; let them ever sing for joy, and spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may exult in you.
For you bless the righteous, O LORD; you cover him with favor as with a shield.

Psalm 5

(From Heart Aflame)

After David has laid out his requests to God, he watches for God. He waits to see if God has heard him. There might be anxiousness in our hearts after we pray to God, but even so, we will wait patiently. “Here we see the uselessness of those prayers to which there is not added that hope which may be said to elevate the minds of the petitioners into a watch-tower.”

David has hope in God’s mercy, by which he will enter into the house of God. He has assurance that God will preserve him. “It is only through the goodness of God that we have access to him; and that no man prays aright but he who, having experienced his grace, believes and is fully persuaded that he will be merciful to him.”

We should take comfort and be encouraged when God lavishes blessings on our godly neighbor, as he is always ready to bless his children. “The remembrance of God must be sweet to us, and fill our hearts with joy, or rather ravish us with love to him after he has caused us to taste of his goodness.”

To bless means to prosper, “or to enrich him abundantly with all good things.” No one is called righteous because of their good works, “but because they aspire after righteousness.”

Father, I know and understand that there is nothing that I can do to make you love me more, and there is nothing I can do that will cause you to love me less. Nevertheless, I pray that I might always seek your righteousness, and, thereby, your favor. I pray for the kind of righteousness in my life that will result in your blessing. I don’t wish for material prosperity . . . no, that’s not true. Of course I wish for material prosperity. What man doesn’t?? But the desire of my heart is not for worldly goods. Rather it is for your righteousness to fill my life to the point of overflowing. I pray that I would be ravished with love for you, because you have, truthfully, caused me to taste of your goodness!

I pray for this day. I pray for safe and smooth passage to work and home. May your grace and mercy follow us through this day, as we interact with people on the job. Help us to share the kingdom in some way with these people today. You have placed them in our lives; may we be faithful to show you to them. I pray for Stephanie today, that she might be drawn further into your love and mercy. Teach us your ways, that we may walk in your truth.

May we all be ravished with love for God today, on this day designated as “Joy Germ Day.” May his joy be contagious in our lives!

Taste

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Ravished With Love for God

Leave a Reply

