The Best Way to Greet the Day

Good morning. It is Monday (boooo!!), January 12, 2015.

Today’s Word of the Day is “rumgumption.” I like that word! And the meaning is short and simple. It means, “Good sense; shrewdness.”

Today is Marzipan Day. I know that this is not what they mean, but I’ll celebrate this however I want to. Here’s some Marzipan for ya!

We had a blast yesterday at our leadership lunch. As I said yesterday, all of the leadership (Pastoral Assist Team and elders) were invited to the home of our pastor’s parents for lasagna yesterday (I may not have mentioned the lasagna). His mother made enough lasagna to feed at least 25 people, and quite a few of us had seconds. I’m impressed. Plus the lasagna was delicious! I like her chili better, but it was still quite good. Like the chili, it was also made with a mixture of venison and beef. As we ate, we had quite a time watching the Packers beat the Cowboys. There was a healthy (or unhealthy, perhaps) mixture of people rooting for the Packers and the Cowboys, which made it even more fun. Unfortunately, the call right at the end of the game kind of sucked the life out of the whole thing. I was rooting for the Packers, but I hate for a game to end like that, no matter who I’m cheering for. I have to say I’m very impressed with Cowboys coach Jason Garrett, who said that it wasn’t about officiating . . . they had chances to win that game and didn’t do it. My opinion on the call is mixed. I’m not sure I agree with the way it turned out. It was very close. But that’s not the point of our gathering. The point is that we all had a great time sharing a meal and enjoying fellowship together.

Sadly, we must go back to work today.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place,
what is man that you are mindful of him, and the son of man that you care for him?
Yet you have made him a little lower than the heavenly beings and crowned him with glory and honor.

Psalm 8:3-5

(From Daily Guideposts 2015)

Give attention to the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to you do I pray.
Psalm 5:2

Edward Grinnan is the author of today’s reading. He begins by describing a Monday morning at the office (he works at the Guideposts office), where he finds himself facing a large pile of work. His computer dings with an invitation. “Prayer Fellowship at 9:45 AM in the conference room. Everyone welcome.” This, it seems, is a “decades-long tradition at Guideposts.” Every Monday morning at 9:45, they gather around the conference room table to read prayer requests sent in by their readers. They choose the ones to read out loud and then someone leads in a final prayer, after which they all get to work, back at their desks. It is completely voluntary.

I just want to interject here. How cool would it be to work at a place that did this? I can only imagine!

Edward, at this point confesses. “No time for Prayer Fellowship this morning,” he muttered to himself. Then he realized what he had just said! “No time for prayer? Really? Is there such a thing as a prayer-free zone in my life? Especially when I’m feeling stressed? No time for God?”

As he considers the mound of manuscripts and inbox full of emails, he decides they can wait. “Not because they are unimportant. Quite the opposite. They are very important.”

He joins his co-workers at the table, reading letters and requests that make his problems seem quite petty, perhaps even blessings, by comparison. “I thank God for the opportunity to work. And I do what I should have done first thing that morning: I ask for His help.”

Do we allow our anxieties to come between God and ourselves? Are we more concerned with worry than with prayer? we should never forget that prayer is the best way to get ready to meet every day.

But I will sing of your strength;
I will sing aloud of your steadfast love in the morning.
For you have been to me a fortress and a refuge in the day of my distress.

Psalm 59:16
But I, O LORD, cry to you; in the morning my prayer comes before you.
Psalm 88:13
Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love,
that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.

Psalm 90:14

Father, thank you for this word from Edward Grinnan and Guideposts, this morning. In spite of the fact that I do spend time every morning, reading small bits of Scripture and praying to you, there are still things that I let come between us, things that I allow to cause me anxiety. May my prayers supersede all of these! Teach me your way, that I may walk in your truth. Teach me faith, both in the grace that you have already provided, as well as “future grace,” the promise that you have my life and welfare firmly in your hands and will not let me fall. May I never feel that I do not have time for prayer, Lord. There is no such thing as a “prayer-free zone” in my life! Everything that I do, every day, should be bathed in prayer, especially as I get ready to greet the coming day, along with its problems and challenges.

I pray for this day, Lord, that we would have safe passage to work and back. I pray for the challenges ahead, that we would meet them in faith and grace. Help us to faithfully love you, follow Christ, and share your Kingdom with those around us. Fill us with your Holy Spirit, that we might understand your words, and that we might react properly to all situations. I pray for Stephanie, that she would have wisdom and understanding, as best she can, and that you would cause her to feel the overwhelming love that you have for her.

Your grace is truly sufficient.

Is there time in your busy life for prayer? Or perhaps a better question is, is there time in your busy life for you NOT to pray?

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

