The Great Source and Object of Our Joy

Good morning. It is pre-Friday, January 15, 2015.

Today’s Word of the Day is “nookery.” A nookery is “a snug nook; a sheltered or cosy location.” (The reason “cozy” is spelled that way is because these are coming from the Oxford English Dictionary.) The word might be used to describe, for instance, a used book store that I used to go to many years ago. It was filled with nooks and crannies, and was, indeed, quite cozy.

Today is Hat Day. In reality, this will be no different than any other day, for me, because I pretty much wear a hat of some kind every day. However, there is a link on the page for this totally awesome Periodic Table of Hats!

It only got down to around 37 degrees, this morning, instead of the projected 30. I’m certainly not going to complain about that! It’s supposed get up to 53 today. Not going to complain about that, either! We’re supposed to be in the sixties by the weekend, and into next week, as well.

I have failed to mention that I have taken over a new job responsibility at work. I still do receiving, but I am now in charge of the area where we keep unreceivable packages. We call this our URDN area. It’s not a promotion, though. Pretty much just a lateral move. But it’s something different, and requires good communication skills, which I seem to think I have. Apparently, my manager seems to think so, as well. The reason for this move is that the lady who was doing this is now our first shift lead, and the manager wanted to get her out of that responsibility.

Christi has her Huddle group tonight, so I will be home with Stephanie. I just might watch one of those Hobbit movies that I need to get caught up on.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, the sinner.

I will give thanks to the LORD with my whole heart; I will recount all of your wonderful deeds.
I will be glad and exult in you; I will sing praise to your name, O Most High.

Psalm 9:1-2

(From Heart Aflame)

In the passage from Psalm 9, above, David speaks of “wonderful deeds,” or “wonders” of God. Even though we receive many benefits from God, David singles out some that are more memorable, “in which was exhibited a bright and striking manifestation of the diving power.” While it is true that God would have us acknowledge all of his blessings, “on some of his gifts he has engraven more evident marks in order the more effectually to awaken our senses, which are otherwise as if asleep or dead.” Hopefully, you have experienced this. I know I have. There are some of God’s “wonders” in my life that stand out far above the normal, day-to-day benefits.

David then writes this phrase, “I will be glad and exult in you.” Calvin says, “Observe how the faithful praise God sincerely and without hypocrisy, when they do not rest on themselves for happiness, and are not intoxicated with foolish and carnal presumption, but rejoice in God alone, which is nothing else than to seek the matter of their joy from the favour of God, and from no other source, since in it perfect happiness consists.” There is a vast difference between the “joy” we seek in our own personal pursuits, even those which seem to have a higher purpose, and that sincere and complete joy that is found in God alone. Also, note David’s use of the word “exult.” This means to “show or feel elation or jubilation.” David “finds in God a full and an overflowing abundance of joy, so that he is not under the necessity of seeking even the smallest drop in any other quarter.”

Finally, Calvin says, “He who begins his prayer by affirming that God is the great source and object of his joy, fortifies himself before-hand with the strongest confidence, in presenting his supplications to the hearer of prayer.”

Dear heavenly Father, you are the “great source and object” of my joy. Or at least you should be. Am I able to make that statement 100% of the time? Of course, not, and neither was David. He did, after all, seek “joy” in the presence of a woman he saw bathing across the rooftops. However, my heart’s desire is to know that joy all the time; to be able to say that I seek joy in only you and not in any worldly pursuits. I pray that you direct my spirit in that way; that your Holy Spirit, which I firmly believes resides in me, would direct my heart to the joy that can be found only in pursuing a deep intimacy with Jesus Christ. I pray that as I consider these things, as I use the brain that you have given me, and direct it in how to think and what to think about, I will find that joy, and will be able to begin all my prayers with the same kind of exultation that David found in you!

I pray for this day, that our travel to work and back will be safe. May our work day be productive and free of anxieties today. Help Christi and me to face every challenge with grace, and a solid confidence that you are with us, and that you “have our back,” so to speak. You have our back, our front, top, bottom, and both sides! Surround us with your love and mercy today, and may your Spirit be strong within us, that we might love you, follow Christ, and share your Kingdom. I pray for Stephanie, today, that she might know your overwhelming love.

I pray that your presence will also be strong with all of our brothers and sisters of The Exchange today. May they find their joy solely in you, Lord!

To all who read this today, may your joy be found in God and God alone!

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “The Great Source and Object of Our Joy

Leave a Reply

