Be Ready To Sing!

Good morning. We’re back to Monday, again. Monday, January 26, 2015. And since I haven’t mentioned this, lately, if my counting is correct, it’s 70 days until Opening Day.

Today’s Word of the Day is Niflheim From Scandinavian mythology, Niflheim is “The region of eternal darkness, mist, and cold inhabited by those who died from old age or illness, and ruled over by the goddess Hel.”

Today is Bubble Wrap Appreciation Day. I will probably see a lot of that today, as we frequently find bubble wrap in boxes that we open.

We had a good time bowling yesterday afternoon, but we didn’t do as good as we did the last couple of times. Christi had the highest game with a 169, and I had the best series score over two games, with 288. Stephanie improved in the second game, and may have bested her previous high score. We didn’t remember what it was. But she actually got a couple of strikes in the second game!

Then we came home and watched bowling! Haha. The World Tour Championship was on ESPN2 yesterday, and we had recorded it. It was an interesting format, as they played match games where the running score was not kept. Instead, they each won the frame, based on the total score of the first ball. The only way they would roll for a spare was if both players got the same count (less than a strike, of course) on the first ball. We watched three ladies bowl their matches, and then three guys.

And it’s back to work today . . .

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

How long, O LORD? Will you forget me forever? How long will you hide your face from me?
How long must I take counsel in my soul and have sorrow in my heart all the day? How long shall my enemy be exalted over me?
Consider and answer me, O LORD my God; light up my eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death,
lest my enemy say, “I have prevailed over him,” lest my foes rejoice because I am shaken.
But I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.
I will sing to the LORD, because he has dealt bountifully with me.

Psalm 13

(From Heart Aflame)

In Psalm 13, quoted above, David prays for God to “light up my eyes.” He has sorrow in his heart, and desperately prays for this. In the Hebrew, according to John Calvin, David is literally praying for the breath of life to continue in his body. It is in the eyes where the “vigor of life appears.” We’ve all seen people with a spark in their eyes, indicating that they seem to be possessing a little extra life at the moment. There was a time in the Old Testament when Saul’s son, Jonathan, was almost fainting from hunger; his eyes were “overcast with dimness.” But when he tasted the honey, “his eyes were enlightened.” David feels that, unless God lights up his eyes, “he will be immediately overwhelmed with the darkness of death.” Our own confidence depends on God’s ability to breath new life into us, and he is able to do this countless times.

David then says, “But I have trusted in your steadfast love.” He does not know, yet, just how much he will benefit from his prayers, but he holds out hope for deliverance, believing in the faithful promises of God. “It is by faith that we apprehend the grace of God, which is hidden from and unknown to the understanding of the flesh.”

And then, because he has this faith, David says, “I will sing to the LORD!” Even though his prayer has yet to be answered, David will sing. When we engage in prayer, it should always be in a frame of mind in which we are prepared to sing praise to the Lord. This requires, of course, the belief that our prayers “will not be ineffectual. we may not be wholly free from sorrow, but it is nevertheless necessary that this cheerfulness of faith rise above it, and put into our mouth a song on account of the joy which is reserved for us in the future.”

Father, help me to trust you in times of sorrow and uncertainty. May I always be ready to praise you with songs from my mouth, as I pray to you each day. May my faith rise up and apprehend the joy that is there, that I might know that you will answer and that you will, eventually deliver from all threatening circumstances. May I trust in your unfailing love and rejoice in your salvation!

I pray for this day, that we will have safe and smooth passage to work and back. May our work day be smooth today. Give us sharp minds and ready hearts to do the work that you have given us to do. As we interact with our associates, may we have the mind of Christ, along with the faith to be your servants, as well as to serve people around us, as well. Free me from the addiction of needing to be noticed. My significance is in Jesus Christ, not in anything that I can accomplish. I pray for Stephanie today, that you will show her your unfailing love and grace.

Your grace is sufficient.

May our Lord light up your eyes today as he sheds his grace in your heart! Be ready to sing his praises!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

