The Highest Wisdom

Good morning. It is pre-Friday, January 29, 2015. 67 days until Opening Day. 22 days until pitchers and catchers report.

Today’s Word of the Day is medspeak. I bet you can figure that one out. “Technical or euphemistic jargon concerning health, disease, medical practice, etc., used esp. by doctors.”

Today is Curmudgeons Day. So, if I decide to be grumpy all day, you know why. Or perhaps I might, rather, take time to appreciate my life and realize that I truly have no reason to be grumpy.

I think yesterday was a test, and I failed it miserably. The work load stayed pretty heavy all day, to the point that I worked more than an hour and a half overtime. There were still a lot of items in my queue when I left. Plus I found that I was invited to a meeting at 9:00 this morning. Anyone who knows me very well knows how I feel about meetings. At least 90% of meetings are a waste of time that could be spent doing more important things, such as, oh, I don’t know, actually WORKING?? Anyway. I failed to keep my mind focused on Christ, yesterday, through all of the pressure to get things done. As the work load increased, or at least stayed the same all day, I let my eyes look at the circumstances, rather than the Lord who is in control of all the circumstances. This resulted in an extreme early celebration of Curmudgeons Day, yesterday! It wasn’t until I was on my way home, that I realized what had happened. I felt better by the time I got home, and M determined to handle things in a better way, today.

Christi has her Huddle group meeting tonight.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, the sinner!

They have all turned aside; together they have become corrupt; there is none who does good, not even one.
Have they no knowledge, all the evildoers who eat up my people as they eat bread and do not call upon the LORD?
There they are in great terror, for God is with the generation of the righteous.
You would shame the plans of the poor, but the LORD is his refuge.

Psalm 14:3-6

(From Heart Aflame)

Today’s reading focuses on the passage quoted above, Psalm 14:3-6. David begins by asserting, “They have all turned aside.” Not just a part of the people, but all of the people are “equally involved in the same condemnation.” In verse two, he even describes a scene in which the Lord looks down on “the children of man,” to see if there are any who seek him. The answer is in verse three. The bleak condition of humanity is inherited from Adam. “Whence it follows, that all of us, when we are born, bring with us from our mother’s womb this folly and filthiness manifested in the whole life, which David here describes, and that we continue such until God makes us new creatures by his mysterious grace.”

David is also drawing a contrast between these “evildoers” and the “generation of the righteous.” In verse six, those evildoers “would shame the plans of the poor, but the LORD is his refuge.” There are many times when God’s deliverance is delayed in the lives of his children, for reasons that only he knows. It is in these times that unbelievers “reproach them for their groundless confidence, as it appears to them to be, and with sarcastic jeers laugh at the assured hope with which they rely upon God, from whom, notwithstanding, they receive no sensible aid.” David proclaims that this mockery will be their undoing, “the cause of their destruction.” With two phrases, David loudly proclaims that there is no better resolution than to “depend upon God, and that to repose on his salvation, and on the assistance which he has promised us, even although we may be surrounded with calamities, is the highest wisdom.”

” . . . for God is with the generation of the righteous.”
” . . .but the LORD is his refuge.”

Father, I failed yesterday. I acknowledge it, confess it, and resolve to move forward. Whatever may come my way today, may I do as David suggests, relying solely on your great salvation and the assistance that you have promised, even if I am surrounded by calamity! Help me to keep my eyes focused on things above, not on the things of this world. Help me to see things the way you see them, not as they appear to me.

I pray for this day, that our trip to work would be smooth and safe, as well as the trip home. I pray for Christi’s work day today, and that she would face any challenges with confidence in you and heart focused on you. I pray that your kingdom come and your will be done on earth as in heaven. May we be faithful to share your Kingdom with those around us. I pray for Stephanie today, that she would know your great love and the confidence of your presence in her life.

Your grace is sufficient. May we live in its power.

Whatever may come, today, never let the mockery of the unbelievers sway your faith in the assurance of God’s provision, blessing, and protection. God is with the generation of the righteous. He is our refuge.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

