Astonished

Good morning. It is Sunday, February 1, 2015. Welcome to the Weekend Edition! 64 days until Opening Day. 19 days until pitchers and catchers report.

Today’s Word of the Day is audible. A more standard word than we are used to, audible can be either an adjective or a noun. As an adjective, it means, “1. Perceptible to the ear; capable of being heard,” and, more obsolete, “2. Capable of hearing.” As a noun, it means, “1. A thing which may be heard,” or, in American football, “2. A substitute play called (typically by the quarterback) at the line of scrimmage which alters strategy in response to the (defensive) arrangement of the opposing team; the verbal signal initiating such a play.”

Today is Decorating with Candy Day. How delightful. I think I’ll decorate my mouth with some chocolate!

We had a somewhat challenging day, yesterday. With me not feeling well, and continuing family drama for Christi, it was not one of our better days. I’m still “under the weather,” a bit, but the chest part feels better. It’s more into my face and sinuses, now. I woke up earlier than I wanted to, because I was having trouble breathing through my nose. I took some Dayquil right off, and am breathing better, now, but still feel generally “bleah.” I’m thinking we may not do very much today. So far, I don’t know of any plans. Will we watch the Super Bowl? I have no idea. I’m mildly rooting for the Seahawks, but don’t really care that much. I do like Russell Wilson, and would like to see him repeat.

(Source: This Day In History)

It was on this date in 1884 that the first volume of the Oxford English Dictionary (A to Ant) was published. The store of the making of the OED can be read in Simon Winchester’s book, The Professor and the Madman.

Today’s birthdays include Clark Gable (actor), Langston Hughes (writer), George Beverly Shea (Gospel singer), Boris Yeltsin (Russian President), Bob Shane (Kingston Trio), Ray Sawyer (Dr. Hook), Garrett Morris (comedian), Don Everly (Everly Brothers), Sherman Hemsley (actor), Joe Sample (jazz pianist), Terry Jones (Monty Python’s Flying Circus), Rick James (musician), Mike Campbell (guitar player), Sonny Landreth (blues guitar player), Bill Mumy (actor), Princess Stephanie of Monaco, Brandon Lee (actor), Sherilyn Fenn (actress), Pauly Shore (comedian), Lisa Marie Presley (actress), Patrick Wilson (Weezer), Michael C. Hall (actor), and Rachelle LeFevre (actress).

Terry Jones is a comedian and actor who is best known for his participation in Monty Python’s Flying Circus. He was born on this date in 1942, and turns 73 today. I present, for your entertainment, the infamous “Spam” sketch. Terry Jones is the “woman” behind the counter.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

O LORD, who shall sojourn in your tent?
Who shall dwell on your holy hill?

Psalm 15:1

Today’s reading from Solid Joys is “Included in the Covenant.”

There I will make a horn to sprout for David; I have prepared a lamp for my anointed.
His enemies I will clothe with shame, but on him his crown will shine.

Psalm 132:17-18

The Lord makes promises to David. The question is, who will benefit from those promises? We have the one quoted above, from Psalm 132. There is also Isaiah 55:1 and 3: “Come, everyone who thirsts, come to the waters; and he who has no money, come, buy and eat! Come, buy wine and milk without money and without price. . . . Incline your ear, and come to me; hear, that your soul may live; and I will make with you an everlasting covenant, my steadfast, sure love for David.”

When we come to Jesus Christ, thirsting for him, rather than depending on “who we are or what we do,” God makes a covenant with us. This covenant is defined and secured by God’s “sure love for David.” As John Piper says, “I take that to mean that I am included in the Davidic covenant. What David gets I will get in Christ Jesus.”

What does this include? First, “a horn” will sprout for me. What in the world does that mean?? Typically, when the word “horn” is used in this way in the Bible, it signifies strength and honor. So, as a result of this covenant, the strength of the Lord will rise up and fight for me. God has also prepared a lamp for me, which will cause light to “surround me and darkness will not overcome me.” Eventually, I will receive a crown and reign with the Son of David. Revelation 3:21 says, “The one who conquers, I will grant him to sit with me on my throne, as I also conquered and sat down with my Father on his throne.”

“It is an astonishing thing that I will benefit from the promises made to David. God means for me to be astonished. He means for me to leave my devotions astonished at the power and authority and surety with which I am loved by God.”

That last statement gives me pause. Does that happen to me very often? Do I leave my devotions “astonished at the power and authority and surety with which I am loved by God?” Sometimes, I do. Yes. But not every day.

Father, make me astonished more often. Too often, I go through the motions of a morning devotional, get up and go to work, and it has no effect on me at all. There are days when I do reflect on what you have shown me, as I drive to work, and even beyond. But not every day. I pray that there would be more consistency with which I am astonished by your power and authority in my life and the certainty of your love for me. Cause me to be astonished, as well, at the covanental benefits that I receive as a result of my binding to Jesus Christ.

I pray for this day, that we would have a nice, restful day. I pray that my cold, or whatever it is, will move on out of my system today, that I might be fresh and alert for work tomorrow. I pray that Christi will also get some good rest today, and that our week ahead will be full of your grace and mercy, as we go out to share your Kingdom with people in our lives.

Your grace is sufficient.

When was the last time you were astonished by the certainty of God’s love for you?

Thirsty

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

