Forgiveness

Good mordidg. It’s Bodday, February 2, 2015. I hab a code in by dose.

Okay, I won’t try to type the entire entry like that. It would take too long. And I guess, if I can make jokes like that, I must be okay to go to work. However, at this point, I’m still trying to decide.

Let’s see . . . 63 days until Opening Day; 18 days until pitchers and catchers report.

Today’s Word of the Day is nunny bag. A nunny bag is, “A knapsack of sealskin, burlap, or canvas, used to carry supplies when hunting, sealing, etc.” I just can’t picture any of the hunters I know calling anything a “nunny bag.”

Today is Sled Dog Day. I honor of that, here is a song, called “Sled Dog,” by The Choir.

I don’t really feel better, this morning. Well, some parts of me might. The chest feels somewhat better, but the face and nasal cavities are not doing well, at all. I guess I slept better than I thought I did, according to my Fitbit. I’ve taken Dayquil, and will see how I feel in a little bit. I will probably go on in to work, and trudge through the day. I may go straight to bed after getting home, though. We shall see.

The New England Patriots “won” the Super Bowl last night, in what had to have been one of the most bizarre set of developments I have ever seen in football. In the final minute of the game, down 28-24, Russel Wilson through a desperation long pass toward the goal line. A Patriot defender batted the ball away, but as both players fell, instead of hitting the ground, the ball bounced off of the Seahawks player’s knees, after which he actually caught the ball! So they are down within less than ten yards of the goal line and a winning touchdown with seconds left in the game. And for some ridiculous reason, whoever calls the plays called for a short pass! A Patriots defender bumped the Seahawks guy out of the way and intercepted the ball! Game over! What a game, though! It was truly one of the most exciting Super Bowls I have ever seen. I was rooting for the Seahawks, but I really didn’t care that much who won.

Here is the catch.

And here is the interception.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

He who walks blamelessly and does what is right and speaks truth in his heart;
Psalm 15:2

Today’s reading from Solid Joys is “The Forgiveness Cycle.”

. . .and forgive us our sins, for we ourselves forgive everyone who is indebted to us.
And lead us not into temptation.

Luke 11:4

This is very interesting, and sheds some new light on the problem of forgiveness, presented by Jesus in the Model Prayer. The question asked is, “Who forgives whom first?”

“Forgive us our sins, for we ourselves forgive everyone who is indebted to us.” (Luke 11:4)
“As the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive.” (Colossians 3:13)

We do not forgive so that we will, in turn be forgiven. This, of course, would make our forgiveness contingent on works. However, we consider that, since God forgave us when we believed in Christ, we, then, “from this broken, joyful, grateful, hopeful, experience of being forgiven, . . . offer forgiveness to others.” This is what indicates that we have been “savingly forgiven.” The fact that we forgive others shows that we are acting out of faith, “we are united to Christ; we are indwelt by the Spirit.”

Of course we still sin. If we pretend that we do not, we not only lie, but make God out to be a liar (1 John 1:8, 10). So we must continually turn to God for “fresh applications of forgiveness.” However, if we harbor grudges against someone else, our confidence is stricken in this matter. We cannot, with any confidence, seek forgiveness, if we know we have refused that same grace to another.

In essence we say, “Father, continue to extend to me the mercies purchased by Christ because by these mercies I forsake vengeance and extend to others what you have extended to me.”

Father, I pray that you always keep me in a spirit of forgiveness toward others. There are times when it is difficult, and times when it takes longer than others. But I pray that I will never forget the mercies that you have extended to me, and that I will also never fail to extend that same mercy to another. My sin against you is never less than any sin against me by another person. Therefore, I have no right to not forgive. And that thought carries a heavy weight with it, indeed. There are times when the concept of forgiveness goes much further than just someone who has wronged me, personally.

I pray for this day. I pray for safe and smooth travel to work and home. I pray for Christi’s day, that it will not be terribly stressful. I pray for my day, that this cold would begin to work its way out of my body. I also pray that that is all it is. May you lift up Stephanie today and enfold her in your loving arms, showing her wisdom and understanding in regards to her life.

Stay beside us, Father, as we go into this day. I cannot succeed without you next to me.

May you know God’s forgiveness intimately today, and, in knowing, extend it to others.

Grace and peace, friends.

One thought on “Forgiveness

Leave a Reply

