Your Great Name

Good . . . um . . . probably be afternoon by the time this is done. It is Tuesday, February 2, 2015. Welcome to the Sick Day Edition! 62 days until Opening Day; 17 days until pitchers and catchers report.

Today’s Word of the Day is day-peep. While you might think it has something to do with those marshmallowy candy chickens, it doesn’t. It means, “The first appearance of daylight; the earliest dawn.”

Today is Carrot Cake Day. I’m actually surprised at the origin of this treat, as explained in the link. Apparently, it is still a Christmas Day tradition in the UK.

Okay, so here’s the scoop. I went to work yesterday, and was pretty miserable all day long. When I got home, I did have a low grade fever, around 99.1. It increased slightly, through the evening, peaking at 100.1 right at bedtime. I was having mild chills, but only when I moved around. The sinus congestion was getting more painful, and the coughing, I now know, is not chest congestion, but coughing up the drainage. At least that’s what the Minute Clinic nurse-practitioner told me. She said my lungs were clear.

When I awakened this morning, the temperature was back down to 99.1, but I was not feeling better. So I decided to take a sick day, which I really hate to do, since our company doesn’t give “sick days,” and we have to use our PTO for it. As noted above, around 8:30, I headed for Minute Clinic, which is a part of CVS Pharmacy. It’s actually pretty handy. It’s cheaper than Care Now or the standard doctor’s office, and, unless you’ve got something serious going on, they can handle it just fine. I was diagnosed with an upper respiratory infection (no surprises there), which she deemed to be viral, not bacterial, so no antibiotics. She prescribed Flonase and an over-the-counter nasal saline spray, and said that it should clear my system (except for the coughing, which, we all know, can drag on FOR. EV. ER!) in seven to ten days. Since this started up last Friday, I should be at about the halfway point, and should be right at the worst part of it. In fact, when she took my temperature at the clinic, it was 97.something. And, frankly, I don’t feel at all feverish right now. My face still hurts, and there’s a lot of drainage, but the drainage is good. It needs to do that.

As “they” say, “This, too, shall pass.”

Shout out to my parents, who are always praying for me! Love you!! Speaking of them, I would appreciate greatly any prayers for my mother. She will be going to a consultation Friday in preparation for cataract surgery, which is to happen on February 23. Her name is Bonnie.

Since I’m home sick, I have plenty of time for the “bonus content” today. So, let’s have some history!

(Source: This Day In History)

I’m sure I featured this last year on this date, or in previous years, but it will always remain a day of infamy. It was on this date in 1959 (I don’t remember, as I was not yet one year old) that a chartered Beechcraft Bonanza plane crashed near Clear Lake, Iowa, minutes after takeoff. On that plane were, of course, Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens, and J.P. “The Big Bopper” Richardson. There are varying stories about how Waylon Jennings, one of Buddy’s band members, should have been on that plane. The link above states that Richardson had the flu and convinced Waylon to give up his seat. Ritchie Valens “won” a coin toss for the remaining seat. Buddy Holly was 22; The Big Bopper was 28; Ritchie Valens was only 17. February 3, 1959 has since been called “The Day Music Died.”

Here’s Buddy Holly and the Crickets on the Ed Sullivan Show, January, 1958.

My favorite Big Bopper song, “Little Red Riding Hood.”

And last, but not least, Ritchie Valens, “Donna.”

The day has been immortalized in Don McLean’s song, “American Pie.”

Okay. Now that I’m all emotional, I’ll do some birthdays. Today’s birthdays include Felix Mendelssohn (composer), Horace Greeley (journalist), Gertrude Stein (writer), Norman Rockwell (painter), Pretty Boy Floyd (gangster), James Michener (author), Robert Earl Jones (James’s father, also an actor), Joey Bishop (entertainer), Henry Heimlich (physician), Fran Tarkenton (quarterback), Blythe Danner (actress), Bob Griese (football player), Dave Davies (musician, The Kinks), Morgan Fairchild (actress), Fred Lynn (Red Sox baseball player), Maura Tierney (actress), Warwick Davis (actor), and Isla Fisher (actress).

Felix Mendelssohn was a German composer from the early Romantic period. He was born on this date in 1809. Here is his piece, “The Hebrides (Fingal’s Cave) Overture.”

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

O LORD, who shall sojourn in your tent? Who shall dwell on your holy hill?
He who walks blamelessly and does what is right and speaks truth in his heart;
who does not slander with his tongue and does no evil to his neighbor, nor takes up a reproach against his friend;

Psalm 15:1-3

Today’s reading from Solid Joys is “The Greatest Love.”

I am writing to you, little children, because your sins are forgiven for his name’s sake.
1 John 2:12

For today, the most important phrase in that verse is “for his name’s sake.” We emphasize the fact that God loves, saves, and forgives for his own glory. There are more than two reasons for this, but, for today, we will just look at two of them. The first, and probably most important, is that the Bible also emphasizes this truth. Look at all of these verses.

“I, I am he who blots out your transgressions for my own sake, and I will not remember your sins.”
Isaiah 43:25
For your name’s sake, O LORD, pardon my guilt, for it is great.
Psalm 25:11
Help us, O God of our salvation, for the glory of your name; deliver us, and atone for our sins, for your name’s sake!
Psalm 79:9
“Though our iniquities testify against us, act, O LORD, for your name’s sake; for our backslidings are many; we have sinned against you.”
Jeremiah 14:7
We acknowledge our wickedness, O LORD, and the iniquity of our fathers, for we have sinned against you. Do not spurn us, for your name’s sake; do not dishonor your glorious throne; remember and do not break your covenant with us.
Jeremiah 14:20-21
whom God put forward as a propitiation by his blood, to be received by faith. This was to show God’s righteousness, because in his divine forbearance he had passed over former sins. It was to show his righteousness at the present time, so that he might be just and the justifier of the one who has faith in Jesus.
Romans 3:25-26
. . . your sins are forgiven for his name’s sake.
1 John 2:12

Another reason that we emphasize this truth is that “it makes clear that God loves us with the greatest love.”

Father, I desire that they also, whom you have given me, may be with me where I am, to see my glory that you have given me because you loved me before the foundation of the world.
John 17:24

There was a trend, earlier on, that seems to have faded somewhat (and I’m very glad about that), that made people what God cares most about. I even read a statement in a popular discipleship book that said that the only thing Jesus cared about is making disciples. (I’m not quoting it directly, because I don’t remember the exact quote, and I no longer have the book.) I question and even rebuke that kind of thinking. We are not supreme, and God loves is in a way that makes not us supreme, “but makes himself supreme.” When we get to heaven, we won’t find a “hall of mirrors, but an increasing vision of infinite greatness.”

“The greatest love makes sure that God does everything in such a way as to uphold and magnify his own supremacy so that when we get there we have something to increase our joy forever — God’s glory.”

What a day, glorious day, that will be!

Father, I pray that you increase my joy in these truths, that you have loved me, saved me, and forgiven me for your own name’s sake, not for any glory that I might attain. May I never attribute any of the mercy and grace that you have given me to anything that I have done. I have never done anything to deserve your mercy, nor will there ever be anything that I could do to increase that mercy! It is all for your glory and for your name’s sake! I praise you for this, Father!

I pray for the rest of this day. Give me rest, that I might heal. I pray for quick recovery from this infection, and that I might be able to return to work tomorrow, so as to not have to use any more PTO. I pray that the rest of the team at work is feeling better, as well, as there were a couple out sick yesterday, as well. I pray that Christi is having a good day at her job today, in spite of developments that are bringing her down. I also pray for a reduction of the family drama that she has been enduring. May Stephanie know your peace, along with your unfailing love.

I lift up a prayer for a young boy named Andrew, Father, who is recently begun experiencing night terrors. May you bring peace to him while he sleeps. Enter into his dreams with the presence of your holy peace. Bring comfort to his mother and father, and help them to know how to help him.

Your grace is sufficient.

Everything that God has done for us is for the sake of his great name.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

