Son of Man

Good morning. It is . . . um . . . Thursday! Yes! Pre-Friday, February 5, 2015. This week has been so strange that I had to actually hover my cursor over the time and date in the lower left hand corner of my screen to see what day it is! 60 days until Opening Day! 15 days until pitchers and catchers report!

Today’s Word of the Day is work-brittle. Although it sounds like something similar to peanut brittle, it is actually an adjective, meaning, “Eager to work, industrious, energetic.” Therefore, I am most definitely not “work-brittle,” this morning.

Today is Chocolate Fondue Day. There were other choices, but CHOCOLATE! I mean, everything’s better dipped in chocolate, right? Except for maybe jello. But who knows??

I forgot to mention, yesterday morning, that I am, in fact, feeling better. Today, even better, so the upper respiratory infection is moving on out.

I spent most of yesterday in frustration, however, as it appears that no one covered my post on Tuesday. I started the day with 76 items on the queue (the most I had ever seen before was 40-something!), but managed to work it down to 49 by around 5:30 PM. Today should be a little better, but there will, no doubt, have been a few more added over night. My goal is to try to cut that in half before I leave today, and then finish getting it caught up tomorrow. I’m committed to working late both night, if necessary. Not happy about it, at all, but I’ll do whatever I have to do. However, I am seriously thinking it might be time to look for employment elsewhere. Jobs aren’t easy to come by for almost 57-year-olds, so I won’t be doing anything impulsive.

Christi’s Huddle has been cancelled tonight, mainly because they will be spending most of the weekend together. There’s some kind of women’s conference going on this weekend, down in Austin, but they have resources to do web-casting, so that people can gather in other areas and watch. So the ladies of The Exchange will be gathering tomorrow evening and most of the day Saturday to “participate” in this conference. Stephie and I will be on our own Friday evening, and Saturday, until church time.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

O LORD, who shall sojourn in your tent? Who shall dwell on your holy hill?
He who walks blamelessly and does what is right and speaks truth in his heart;
who does not slander with his tongue and does no evil to his neighbor, nor takes up a reproach against his friend;
in whose eyes a vile person is despised, but who honors those who fear the LORD; who swears to his own hurt and does not change;

Psalm 15:1-4

(From Knowing Jesus)

Today’s reading is “Jesus, the Son of Man.”

Now when Jesus saw a crowd around him, he gave orders to go over to the other side. And a scribe came up and said to him, “Teacher, I will follow you wherever you go.” And Jesus said to him, “Foxes have holes, and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has nowhere to lay his head.”
Matthew 8:18-20
Now when Jesus came into the district of Caesarea Philippi, he asked his disciples, “Who do people say that the Son of Man is?”
Matthew 16:13
For the Son of Man is going to come with his angels in the glory of his Father, and then he will repay each person according to what he has done. Truly, I say to you, there are some standing here who will not taste death until they see the Son of Man coming in his kingdom.
Matthew 16:27-28
And as they were coming down the mountain, Jesus commanded them, “Tell no one the vision, until the Son of Man is raised from the dead.” And the disciples asked him, “Then why do the scribes say that first Elijah must come?” He answered, “Elijah does come, and he will restore all things. But I tell you that Elijah has already come, and they did not recognize him, but did to him whatever they pleased. So also the Son of Man will certainly suffer at their hands.”
Matthew 17:9-12

“Jesus referred to himself as the Son of Man about eighty times.” In this way, he reinforced the fact that he is one of us. It might even be said that he “stands as the model of all humanity, male and female.” He is “the representative human being.” The description, Son of Man, also lays claim to the prophecy in Daniel 7:13-14: “I saw in the night visions, and behold, with the clouds of heaven there came one like a son of man, and he came to the Ancient of Days and was presented before him. And to him was given dominion and glory and a kingdom, that all peoples, nations, and languages should serve him; his dominion is an everlasting dominion, which shall not pass away, and his kingdom one that shall not be destroyed.”

Scripture tells us that the second person of the Trinity became the Son of Man so that he could taste death on our behalf and destroy him who has the power of death, our enemy, Satan. Jesus also became Son of Man that he might prove that he was a “merciful, faithful high priest.” Hebrews 2:17 says, Therefore he had to be made like his brothers in every respect, so that he might become a merciful and faithful high priest in the service of God, to make propitiation for the sins of the people.

The moniker, Son of Man, comes alongside “Son of David,” his Jewish name, and “Son of God,” his divine name. His mission as Son of Man transcended his Jewish roots, so he utilized that name when speaking about his imminent death, resurrection, and second coming. In John 5:26-27, we also see that the Son of Man has been given power of judgment. For as the Father has life in himself, so he has granted the Son also to have life in himself. And he has given him authority to execute judgment, because he is the Son of Man.

After Jesus left his earthly father’s carpenter shop, it is never indicated that he had a place of his own. He possessed nothing. He was born in a stable, and buried in another man’s tomb (of course, he didn’t need it very long, did he?). Astonishingly, by all appearances, “Jesus lived at the mercy of the land and his few friends.” In this way, the Son of Man identifies with “the poor, the homeless, the exploited, the dispossessed, the refugees, and the landless peasants of all time.” The title, “Son of Man,” “expresses not only who he is but how he lived in sharp contrast to the rich and powerful.”

It also tells us that he was not afraid to rub shoulders with “ordinary sinners.” The lepers, demon possessed, prostitutes, and tax collectors were no strangers to the Son of Man.

He also took on the worst that humanity could do to him, becoming our representative before God. As Adam was our “representative sinner,” Jesus became our “representative Savior.”

This comparison could go on and on. The point is that Jesus, the Son of Man, was both poor and powerful. “He owned nothing but he made the universe and owns everything in it.” He had no worldly goods to offer us, but, instead, offered himself, what Paul called “unsearchable riches” (Ephesians 3:8).

Father, how I have failed to fully comprehend the true nature of the Son of Man, through all of my Bible reading and studying. I thank you for this reminder, this morning, that Jesus is the Son of Man, as well as the Son of God, and that he completely exemplified what it means to be human. Help me to fully understand what he gave up and what he offers us. Most of all, I pray that you would help me in my quest to be more like the Son of Man, as I continue to learn how to shun the grip that the stuff of earth would have on me. Teach me your way, that I may walk in your truth. Unite my heart to fear your name. Teach me to live like the Son of Man.

I pray for this day, that Christi and I would have safe travel to work and home. I pray for Christi’s day, that she might enjoy a day with minimal stress and anxiety, and have much productivity. I pray for my day, that I might be able to make good headway on the backlog of work that I still have. I pray for few interruptions and a steady work flow. Help me to not harbor anger and bitterness toward my management. I pray for Stephanie, that she might know your great love today. Give her understanding.

Your grace is sufficient.

Most of us have no trouble knowing Jesus as the Son of God. How often do we consider him as Son of Man?

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

