Dissatisfied

Good morning. It is post-Monday, February 10, 2015. 10 days until pitchers and catchers report! 55 days until Opening Day! The trucks have left for Arizona and Florida!!

Today’s word of the day is maladroit. Maladroit is an adjective that means, “Lacking in adroitness or dexterity; awkward, bungling, clumsy, inept.”

Today is Umbrella Day Ella, ella, ella, ella, ella, eh, eh, eh . . .

The week has started off pretty well. I’m feeling better, gradually, although not 100%, yet. Unfortunately, Stephanie seems have have the stuff, now, and is probably at the worst point of it. This means she is taking her temperature about 20 times a day. It has ranged from 99.1 to 100.1, depending on which hour it is.

I have Huddle tonight. I missed last week, but I have an email that told me what they talked about. I should be able to jump right in, since I’ve done this before.

As I continue reading Timothy Keller’s book on prayer, I find nuggets of greatness. Toward the end of chapter three (“What Is Prayer?”), he says this: “Prayer is continuing a conversation that God has started through his Word and his grace, which eventually becomes a full encounter with him.” Keller has brought forth the idea that prayer is actually initiated by God, not us.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

The lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; indeed, I have a beautiful inheritance.
I bless the LORD who gives me counsel; in the night also my heart instructs me.

Psalm 16:6-7

(FromSolid Joys)

Today’s reading is “Saving Faith Isn’t Easily Satisfied.”

If they had been thinking of that land from which they had gone out, they would have had opportunity to return. But as it is, they desire a better country, that is, a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared for them a city.
Hebrews 11:15-16

“Faith sees the promised future that God offers and ‘desires’ it.” That is something worth dwelling on.

Over the years, the concept of “saving faith” has been watered down to a mere decision, “with no change of what one desires and seeks.” But the verses above show us that living by faith “means having new desires and seeking new satisfactions.”

Verse 14, before the quoted passage, tells us that these people were seeking something different; a new “homeland.” These saints are being commended for their faith. They were dissatisfied with whatever this world could offer, and were seeking something better. Verse 16 tells us that they desired something better than this world could offer.

“They had been so gripped by God that nothing short of heaven would satisfy.”

This is what “saving faith” is all about: ” seeing the promises of God from afar and experiencing a change of values so that you desire and seek after the promises above what the world has to offer.”

Father, help me to be dissatisfied. Give me, as it were, a “divine discontent” with this world and all that it has to offer. I have been seeking this “better country” for many years. Unfortunately, I frequently get distracted by the “shiny” things around me, those things that would pull me away from the truth of your Gospel and your grace. I pray that you put blinders on my spiritual eyes. Not so that I do not notice the beauty of your creation, for there certainly is much beauty in this world. But so that I don’t get pulled away from you and your truth; so that I don’t focus on the things of this world instead of seeking and desiring you and heaven. Teach me your ways, that I may walk in your truth; unite my heart to fear your name, that I might praise you and glorify you with my whole heart.

I pray for this day, that we would have safe travel to and from work. I pray for Christi’s work day that it will go smoothly and bee productive, without stress. I pray for my work day, that I might be able to stay caught up, but that I might also be able to display your Kingdom in the workplace. Keep my attitude in a good place. I pray for Stephanie today, that her sickness might move on through and be gone, so that she will feel better. I pray for her mind, that you would give her wisdom and understanding. Show her your grace and overwhelming love.

May we desire nothing but you on this earth, Father!

May we truly be dissatisfied with anything this world can offer, keeping our eyes and hearts focused on things above.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

