The City of God

Good morning! It is Friday, February . . . uh-oh. That’s right, for all of you triskaidekaphobics and friggatriskaidekaphobics, today is Friday the 13th!

Oh, and just to warn you, there will be another one next month. In fact, that one is my birthday!!

7 days until pitchers and catchers report; 52 days until Opening Day!

Today’s word of the day is not triskaidekaphobia. It is marmalize. Marmalize is a verb which means, “To thrash; to crush or destroy. Also fig.: to defeat decisively.” I think I like that word. Perhaps I will use it today.

Today is Employee Legal Awareness Day. Ha! That’s a laugh! I’m relatively sure that no one at our company will bring that to our attention. Might as well go with Blame Someone Else Day. I’ll even volunteer as the scapegoat.

There really isn’t much to talk about around here, right now. Weekend coming up, and I’m off on Monday, not because it’s President Day (coincidence?), but because I’m scheduled to work next Saturday, so I have to take the previous Monday off. We are planning to hang out at a the house of some friends after church tomorrow night. That will be different.

Christi’s Huddle group went well last night. Other than that, I don’t have much else to write about on a personal level. I booked the hotel room for the band reunion in Commerce for the weekend of June 5-7. I also double checked the work schedule to make sure I’m not down for that Saturday. Now all I need to do is practice, which, apparently, turns out to be much easier said than done.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Hear a just cause, O LORD; attend to my cry! Give ear to my prayer from lips free of deceit!
Psalm 17:1

(FromSolid Joys)

But as it is, they desire a better country, that is, a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared for them a city.
Hebrews 11:16

“No pollution, no graffiti, no trash, no peeling paint or rotting garages, no dead grass or broken bottles, no harsh street talk, no in-your-face confrontations, no domestic strife or violence, no dangers in the night, no arson or lying or stealing or killing, no vandalism and no ugliness.”

This city, the “city of God,” will be perfect. The main reason for its perfection is that God will be in it. He will walk around in this city. “All that is good and beautiful and holy and peaceful and true and happy will be there, because God will be there.”

There will be perfect justice in this city. Every pain suffered for the sake of Christ will be repaid a “thousandfold.” This city will never rust or decay. ” In fact, it will shine brighter and brighter as eternity stretches out into unending ages of increasing joy.”

Let us honor God by desiring this city above all other things. According to Hebrews 11:10, God is the architect of this city. For he was looking forward to the city that has foundations, whose designer and builder is God. When we honor him, he will not be ashamed to be called our God.

Father, how I long for this city! I long for the day when I will no longer have any fleshly desire to sin. I long for the day when we will walk in this perfect city as the Bride of Christ, observing and participating in “all that is good and beautiful and holy and peaceful and true and happy!” Come, Lord Jesus, come!

I pray for this day, as always, asking for safe passage to work and home again, this evening. I pray for Christi’s day, that she will get much accomplished without any drama or anxiety. I pray for my work day, that I can stay caught up throughout the day and not need to work overtime this evening. I lift Stephanie up to you, as always, asking that she know your great love for her. Teach me to pray, Father. Teach me your ways, that I may walk in your truth. Help me to long for your great city even more than I do, to the point that everything I do points to that city. Let not my affections be drawn to unholy things.

I pray that you would inhabit my prayers and praises as I drive to work this morning.

Your grace is sufficient.

Ponder the perfection that is the city of God, today. I pray that you long for it with all your heart. Pray that God hasten the arrival of this city.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

