“I Shall Behold Your Face”

Good morning. It is Monday, February 16, 2015. Welcome to the “I have to work this Saturday, so I’m off on Monday” edition. Only four more days until pitchers and catchers report! 49 days until Opening Day!

Today’s word of the day is mizzle-shinned.” No, I am not making that up. It is an adjective, meaning, ” Having one’s legs red and blotched from sitting too near a fire.” I believe I can safely say I have never been mizzle-shinned.

Today is Do A Grouch A Favor Day. If you see a grouch today, do something nice for that person. Or cat.

Yesterday was a very nice day for us. We didn’t do very much. Christi took Tessie (dog) to get her nails clipped. After that, she and I drove to Braum’s to get ice cream sundaes. We also took a nap in the afternoon. That’s pretty much it. The rest of the day was rest and relaxation. We watched Jason Belmonte win his third Tournament of Champions, two of them back-to-back. This was after watching Sean Rash become the first bowler in the history of the PBA to have two perfect 300 games on television broadcasts. There have only been 25 300 games bowled on TV. Rash has number 23 and number 25. It was an exciting tournament.

As I said above, I’m off work today, because I have to work next Saturday. That reminds me . . . I have to let our pastor know this, because I might not make it in time for the prayer gathering. Okay. That’s done. I’ll be going to Arlington, later, to have lunch with Christi, along with our life insurance/financial advisory guy. We haven’t talked to him in a while, so it’s probably time to reevaluate some things.

(Source: Wikipedia)

It was on this date in 1978 that the first computer bulletin board system was established. Known as CBBS (computerized Bulletin Board System), it was created by Ward Christensen, “to allow him and other computer hobbyists to exchange information between each another.” I remember interacting with Bulletin Board Systems in the mid-eighties. I remember being really excited to get a 20-meg hard drive for our Tandy 1000 PC. I remember being even more excited when we got a 2400-baud modem! My, how times have changed.

Today’s birthdays include Philipp Melanchthon (German humanist and reformer), Edgar Bergen (ventriloquist), Richard McDonald (fast food entrepreneur–yes, that McDonald), Hugh Beaumont (actor), Patty Andrews (Andrews Sisters), Vera-Ellen (actress/dancer), Sonny Bono (singer), Margaux Hemingway (actress), LeVar Burton (actor), Lisa Loring (actress, Wednesday Addams), and John McEnroe (tennis player).

Vera-Ellen was a dancer who also had some movie roles. She was born on this date in 1921. The only thing I have ever seen her in is my favorite Christmas movie, White Christmas. Supposedly, she couldn’t sing, so both parts of the “Sisters” song were recorded by Rosemary Clooney. Here is a clip of a dance number called “Choreography.” She is lowered to the stage at about 1:40 in the clip, after which she does some pretty amazing tap dancing.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

As for me, I shall behold your face in righteousness;
when I awake, I shall be satisfied with your likeness.

Psalm 17:15

(From Heart Aflame)

How do we reconcile the appearance, in the world, of the “deep and distressing darkness . . ., when God keeps silence, and hides his face,” with the promise of God’s restoration to order “these things which are now embroiled and confused.” David, in Psalm 17:15, is confident in his being reconciled to God. He has faith that he will behold the face of God when he “awakens.” Yet, he knows the favor of God in this life, and in this way, beholds God’s face even now.

We ought not lose hope. “As long as God humbles his people under manifold afflictions, the world insolently mocks at their simplicity, as if they deceived themselves, and lost their pains in devouring themselves to the cultivation and practice of purity and innocence. Against such kind of mockery and derision David is here struggling, and in opposition to it he assures himself that there is a recompense laid up for his godliness and uprightness, provided he continue to persevere in his obedience to the holy law of God; as Isaiah, in like manner (3:10), exhorts the faithful to support themselves from this consideration, that ‘it shall be well with the righteous: for they shall eat the fruit of their doings.'”

We who serve God do not lose hope, even though he may hide his face from us for a time, because “he causes them again in due season to behold his bright countenance and compassionate eye beaming upon them.”

Father, it is words like these, from David’s writing, that keep us in hope. There are so many precious words of hope in your word! May we, your children, never lose hope, no matter how many afflictions may come our way. And I might truly add that, in my lifetime, I have not really seen affliction. I have seen inconvenience; I have seen trials; I have been tested, and both triumphed and failed at those tests. But I have not seen affliction of the like of some people in the world. Nevertheless, let me never lose hope when it appears that you are hiding your face from me. May i remember the words of David, as well as the words of Isaiah, along with the promises of my Savior, Jesus Christ.

I pray for this day. I pray for Christi’s work day, that it will be a good day for her. I pray that Stephanie will continue to feel better through this day, and that you will show your great love for me. I pray also, that I might have good rest in preparation for this slightly off-kilter week ahead.

Don’t lose hope, for you will behold his face in righteousness!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

