How To Know God

Good morning. It is Thursday (pre-Friday), February 19, 2015. One more day until pitchers and catchers report!!! 46 days until Opening Day! (Actually, most of the players are already on location for Spring Training. Tomorrow is the “official” day for its beginning.)

Today’s word of the day is pirrie. Pirrie is a noun which has several meanings. 1.a. “A sudden, strong blast of wind; a squall; a storm.” 1.b. “A violent disturbance or commotion; an outcry.” 2. “A gentle breeze; a light wind.” It seems odd to me that a word could have such opposite meanings.

Today is Chocolate Mint Day. Any day that has “chocolate” in it is alright with me.

Today is my “hump day,” because I’m working this Saturday. I probably won’t do a blog on Saturday, either. I normally go in at 7:00 AM on Saturdays, so to do the blog would require me to get up at least an hour earlier. That’s probably not going to happen. I am NOT a morning person.

Christi has her Huddle meeting tonight. I’ll be praying for that, throughout the day. That’s something I’ve started doing recently, praying for the men’s Huddle on Monday and Tuesday, and the ladies’ Huddle on Wednesday and Thursday. Not much else to talk about here, other than I’m gearing up for my trip to Mineral Wells, Sunday evening. I was disappointed to see that the “light snow” has returned to the forecast for Monday. That’s the day of my mother’s cataract surgery. Plus there is a chance of rain on Sunday. It could be ugly outside for our trip. Oh, well. As they say, “It is what it is.” I was actually surprised to see that C.S. Lewis said that in one of his writings, long before its current popularity. However, it would be difficult to find a statement that is more true. It certainly is what it is. Whatever “it” is.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

I love you, O LORD, my strength.
The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.

Psalm 18:1-2

(From Knowing Jesus)

At that time Jesus declared, “I thank you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, that you have hidden these things from the wise and understanding and revealed them to little children; yes, Father, for such was your gracious will. All things have been handed over to me by my Father, and no one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and anyone to whom the Son chooses to reveal him.”
Matthew 11:25-27
No one has ever seen God; the only God, who is at the Father’s side, he has made him known.
John 1:18
Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you so long, and you still do not know me, Philip? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words that I say to you I do not speak on my own authority, but the Father who dwells in me does his works.”
John 14:9-10
Long ago, at many times and in many ways, God spoke to our fathers by the prophets, but in these last days he has spoken to us by his Son, whom he appointed the heir of all things, through whom also he created the world.
Hebrews 1:1-2

Today’s reading is “Jesus, the Revealer of God.”

“Perhaps one of the most revolutionary ideas that Jesus introduced is that God is knowable and could actually be seen in the person of Christ.” There is no hint prior to the coming of Christ that God could be known in this way. Religious people in history past lived in fear of their “gods.” They “kept the gods at arm’s length.” Even the giants of faith in the Old Testament “did not relate to God as a knowable person.” They trusted God, and even believed that he was “on their side,” but they were shielded from his presence. Even Moses was not able to get a full glimpse of God. When Isaiah saw God, “his immediate response was humbly confessing his sinfulness.”

The prayers of the psalmists are the closest we come to seeing any kind of intimate knowledge of God, and there were some intense personal dealings with the prophets, but for the most part, all we heard from them was, “Thus says the Lord!”

Then God sent Jesus. His Son. And in Jesus, God revealed himself. “The Creator of the universe came to earth in the person of Jesus, and now we can finally see him.”

Even then, it was difficult to “get it.” Many people saw Jesus, but did not recognize him as God. It took spiritual vision and hearing, which, of course, was only granted by God, himself. Even one of Jesus’s closest cried out in John 14:8, “Lord, show us the Father, and it is enough for us.”

When we look at Jesus, and study his life, we do more than study history. “We confront the personal, knowable God.” God does not stay at a distance from us, uncaring. “He engages us in the deepest part of our heart, mind, and soul so that we worship him in spirit and in truth.” The only access to God as Father is through Jesus Christ. This is important, and it is an unpopular message. “There are many roads to God,” many people say. No. There are not. There is only one. All other searches end in failure. Just ask Kerry Livgren. “There is no other person through whom we can approach God and secure forgiveness and eternal life (Acts 4:12).”

When we want to know God, all we need do is look to Jesus. “We know God as much or as little as we know Jesus.”

Father, I praise you that you decided to send Jesus, your Son, that we may know you. I pray that I might continue to seek this knowledge, learning more and more about you by learning more about Jesus. As a part of the body of Christ, I pray that we, your Church, would be obsessed with Jesus, seeking constantly to know him more and more, thereby knowing you more and more.

I pray for this day, Father, that we might have smooth and safe passage to work and home. I pray for Christi’s day at work, and I also pray for the Huddle meeting tonight, that they might experience you and a closeness to you that they have not felt before. May you give Stephanie a strong revelation of your love for her today.

Knowing God is not easy. Some people might try to tell you that, but it’s not. For one thing, there are too many distractions in the world to draw our attention away from him. On the other hand, all we have to do to know God is to look at Jesus.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

