Look Up!

Good morning. It is pre-Friday, February 26, 2015. 39 days until Opening Day! Also only two more days in my least favorite month of the year. Oh, February, how I loathe you . . .

Today’s word of the day is bezzie. This one can be a noun or an adjective, and has several meanings. As an adjective, it means, “Esp. of a friend: best; favourite. Freq. in bezzie mate.” As a noun, it means, “In pl. A person’s most respectable clothes; best clothes.” For example, “Why aren’t you in your Sunday bezzies?” Also, as a noun, “A person’s favourite or closest friend; a best friend.” Now, this is confusing. I guess if you drop the “mate,” then bezzie becomes a noun. “You’re my bezzie!”

Today is Chili Day. And a great day for it, too. However, we will be having “Mexican soup” tonight. That’s just what we call it. It’s a home-concocted crock pot recipe. It has chilis in it, but can’t technically be called “chili.” Oh, and, by the way . . . I’m extremely opinionated about this; no beans in my chili, please. Real chili has more meat and no beans.

As it turns out, hardly anyone showed up for work Monday, and not a whole lot more on Tuesday, which made me feel a lot better about missing those two days. I wasn’t the only one who didn’t come in both days. I probably was the only one who had already scheduled both of them off, though. They were surprised to see me yesterday morning. My drive to work was fine, with only one spot that was kind of scary. This morning should be even better (except there will probably be more traffic), as it is currently 37 degrees. There is a chance of snow, later in the morning, but the afternoon high will be back around 37, so there should be no problem of accumulation.

Christi has her Huddle tonight, and the men’s Huddle has been assigned some “homework,” that being to go sit in a public place somewhere, e.g. Starbucks or some other coffee shop, and pray for the people we see in there for about an hour. Interesting assignment. I may go do that while Christi is at Huddle tonight. We’ll see how I’m feeling. It would, of course, be the ideal time to do it.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims his handiwork.
Psalm 19:1

Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience, bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive. And above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony.
Colossians 3:12-14

(From Heart Aflame)

Today’s reading is taken from Psalm 19:1, which is quoted above. (The devotions in this book do not have titles, other than the passage of Psalms being considered.)

As we look at this Psalm, we see that it is split into two parts. The first part speaks of the glory of God, manifested in creation. The second speaks of the glory of God, manifested in his Word. In verse 1, “he only makes mention of the heavens; but, under this part of creation, which is the noblest, and the excellency of which is more conspicuous, he doubtless includes by synecdoche the whole fabric of the world.”

Hold on. What? “Synecdoche?” I had to look that up. It means, “a figure of speech in which a part is made to represent the whole.” So, we believe that David is speaking of all of creation when he says, “The heavens declare the glory of God . . .”

“When a man, from beholding and contemplating the heavens, has been brought to acknowledge God, he will learn also to reflect upon and to admire his wisdom and power as displayed on the face of the earth, not only in general, but even in the minutest plants.”

We see, in the heavens, that they proclaim the glory of God “by openly bearing testimony that they have not been put together by chance, but were wonderfully created by the supreme Architect. When we behold the heavens, we cannot but be elevated, by the contemplation of them, to him who is their great Creator; and the beautiful arrangement and wonderful variety which distinguish the courses and station of the heavenly bodies, together with the beauty and splendour which are manifest in them, cannot but furnish us with an evident prrof of his providence.” We learn much from God in his Word (which is discussed later in this Psalm), but even if he never said anything about himself, the heavens and all creation cry out, not only his existence, but the works of his hands.

“As soon as we acknowledge God to be the supreme Architect, who has erected the beauteous fabric of the universe, our minds must necessarily be ravished with wonder at his infinite goodness, wisdom, and power.”

My pastor, who was my good friend before he was my pastor, loves to look up, and this is why.

Father, I praise you, just as I try to do every morning, for your wonderful creation! I love how it speaks of your glory, and how it proclaims your handiwork! I, too, love to look up, but I don’t look up as much as I should. Lead me, Lord, to gain more of you from your creation, both from the heavens above, as well as from the earth below. Help me to see you in every little thing, every blade of grass, every leaf and flower, even those pesky bugs that crawl around. All of creation proclaims your glory, Father! I pray that more people would see this and know of you. But may we also know your Word, and the glory of you that is proclaimed even more clearly therein!

I pray for this day, that our passage to work and home will be safe and smooth, and that our work day will, in some way, glorify you. I pray that we will lift you high and exalt you as we work today, in some way sharing your Kingdom with those around us. I pray for the ladies’ Huddle tonight, as I will throughout the day, as you remind me. I pray that their relationships grow toward you, as well as toward each other. Teach them, as you are teaching all of us, to be and make disciples of Christ. Show us Jesus, and in doing so, show us yourself. I pray for Stephanie, as always, that you would show your great love to her, and give her wisdom and understanding. I also pray for here cousin Jennifer, who just lost her job, yesterday.

Teach us your way, that we may walk in your truth. Also, I pray that you fill us with joy and peace, that we may abound in hope.

When you go outside today, look up!! Look up and see the heavens that declare the glory of God. And then look down, look around. Be aware of creation!

Grace and peace, friends.

5 thoughts on “Look Up!

      1. Oh really? I didn’t know that. We really like white chili, and it was good. It’s generally made of great northern beans, chicken, peppers, and some other stuff, but what makes it white is sour cream, I think.

        I guess it is primarily northeastern 😀

      2. I tried to look that up to see if what I said was true, but couldn’t really tell. The only other person I’ve heard talk about it is originally from Pennsylvania, as well. I’ll have to try this sometime. It actually sounds pretty good.

Leave a Reply

