What Makes God Happy

Good morning. It is Wednesday, March 4, 2015. 33 more days until Opening Day.

Today’s word of the day is oppugn. (Pronounced, “uh-pyoon”) This is a rarely used verb with quite a few different meanings. The main meaning is, “To attack or oppose with words, action, influence, etc.; esp. to call into question, controvert, or dispute the truth or validity of (a statement, belief, argument, etc.).”

Today is Grammar Day. Grammar; that thing that about 75% of the people on Facebook have either forgotten or never learned. So, in honor (or celebration) of Grammar Day, would everyone PLEASE learn how to use apostrophes??? Here’s a little help. Never, ever, use an apostrophe in a plural, unless the plural is possessive!! Okay?? Thank you!

Yesterday was a very long day. Well, literally, it was the same length as every other day, but it sure felt longer. I got to work at 6:00 AM, and left at 4:30 PM. I wound up not going to Huddle last night, simply because I was exhausted. We even went to bed a little earlier than usual last night. I’m feeling well-rested, this morning.

Today, we are threatened by another winter storm warning. The temperatures (it’s 52 right now) are supposed to drop steadily all day, into tomorrow morning, hitting a low in the upper twenties. Freezing precipitation and/or snow may begin anywhere from noon to 7:00 PM, depending on which weather forecast you look at. We’re praying that they are all wrong, and it will just skip us, this time. But, for some reason, when you want the weather men to be wrong, they never are. How strange is that? On a positive note, things are shaping up for a potentially beautiful weekend for my birthday, which is next weekend (Friday the 13th).

In the first Spring Training games of 2015, the Red Sox beat Northeastern University, 2-1, and Boston College 1-0. I’m not sure if I’m supposed to be excited or worried about those scores. The Rangers have their first Spring Training game today, vs. Kansas City.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

The fear of the LORD is clean, enduring forever; the rules of the LORD are true, and righteous altogether.
More to be desired are they than gold, even much fine gold; sweeter also than honey and drippings of the honeycomb.
Moreover, by them is your servant warned; in keeping them there is great reward.

Psalm 19:9-11

(From Solid Joys)

Today’s reading is “God Rejoices to Do You Good.”

I will make with them an everlasting covenant, that I will not turn away from doing good to them. . . . I will rejoice in doing them good.
Jeremiah 32:40-41

John Piper writes that this is a passage he returns to frequently, especially when he gets discouraged. “Can you think of any fact more encouraging than that God rejoices to do you good?”

That is, indeed, a wonderful thought to consider. God rejoices in doing good for his people. “He doesn’t begrudgingly fulfill his promise.” Consider Romans 8:28, one of our favorite verses to quote. And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. ” It is his joy to do you good. And not just sometimes. Always! ‘I will not turn away from doing good to them.'”

But what happens when the situation gets so difficult that we simply cannot seem to “muster any joy?” When that happens, Piper considers Abraham. Paul says, in Romans 4:18, In hope he believed against hope. God will guard that “little spark of faith” in us and “fan it into a flame of happiness and full confidence.” It may not happen right away. But it will happen.

Father, I pray that the truth of these little verses would be ingrained in me today. So often, I forget that you do, truly, take pleasure in doing good for us, your people. I understand that the verses quoted were spoken directly of Israel, but, in this day, we are your people. Therefore, I believe the promise can be translated to us, because you say that you rejoice in doing good for your people. I, too, consider Romans 8:28 frequently. I am also gladdened by the thought that, since I am your child, and since you are the Creator of the universe, I truly have nothing to fear. But I fear, anyway. It is a flaw within me, as a human. I pray that you would take away this fear. For example, at this moment, I am fearful of the afternoon drive home, based on nothing more than the predictions of humans who attempt to figure out what the weather is going to do. Take this fear away, I pray, and help me remember that you have me in the palm of your hand, and that you rejoice in doing good for me. Whatever will be, will be, as they say, and your will will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.

I pray for this day, that we would have safe passage to work and back home again. I pray for our work day, that Christi would have a productive day, free from anxiety and stress. I pray for my work day, that it would not be overwhelming. I pray for Stephanie, today, that you would help her to know your great love, and that you would show her yourself. Teach her to love you and walk in your ways. Teach us all.

I lift up a prayer for our dear sister, Susie, who has a job interview today. May your favor shine on her during this time, Father!

Rejoice in knowing that one of the things that makes God Almighty most happy is doing good for you and me!

Grace and peace, friends.

4 thoughts on “What Makes God Happy

    1. It’s funny how we all have our different pet peeves. Commas are a tricky thing for some people, too. I, personally, am a big fan of the Oxford comma. A lot of people have abandoned it, though.

      1. I’ve always used the Oxford comma, and I didn’t even know it was called that. I just learned that’s how you were supposed to write lists.

        Yup, I see a lot of lists with no Oxford comma.

Leave a Reply

