Are You Wounded?

Good morning. It is Friday, March 6, 2015. 31 days until Opening Day. Six more days to Paluxy River Bed Cabins!

Today’s word of the day is phalarica. From Roman instory, a phalarica is ” A javelin or dart wrapped in tow and pitch, set on fire, and projected as an incendiary weapon by hand or from a catapult.” Wow. That’s harsh.

Today is Employee Appreciation Day. HAHAHAHAHA!!! Let me know if any of you get acknowledgment of that at work today! I’m not thinking we’ll get anything where I work. If I am wrong, I will humbly make it known.

Yesterday’s drive to work was not bad. I launched out right around 11:00 AM and got to work in roughly an hour. Christi left at about the same time and got to her work about ten minutes before I did. The roads were mostly clear, and in some cases even dry already! The temperature had just reached 32 degrees (F, for all of my non-U.S. readers). I had a nice afternoon, and actually got quite a bit accomplished. That may keep me from having to work late, this evening. It depends on how much new activity shows up on my receiving queue today.

On the way home, I tried to watch for places that would be problem areas this morning. I will say this: Dallas County did a MUCH better job than Tarrant County. It looks like they got out and plowed all of their major roadways, while Tarrant just mostly let it melt. Or maybe they treated the roads with something. Either way, Dallas County’s roads were much clearer, and were the only ones that were dry. Even on the trip home, some of Tarrant County’s roadways were still very wet in some places, which will be problems this morning, as it is 25 degrees, once again.

Not much going on for the weekend, but I think Rachel and Justin might be coming over Sunday for lunch and whatever. That should be fun. And then next Thursday . . . it’s off to our favorite place on the planet (see the introduction paragraph)!! Four whole days of rest & relaxation!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Keep back your servant also from presumptuous sins; let them not have dominion over me! Then I shall be blameless, and innocent of great transgression.
Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O LORD, my rock and my redeemer.

Psalm 19:13-14

(From Solid Joys)

The eternal God is your dwelling place, and underneath are the everlasting arms.
Deuteronomy 33:27

“You may be going through things right now that are painfully preparing you for some precious service to Jesus and to his people. When a person strikes rock bottom with a sense of nothingness or helplessness, he may find that he has struck the Rock of Ages.”

Before I continue with this, I will point out something that Piper does not. Sometimes, we are afflicted because of our own poor choices. This would NOT be a case where God is preparing us for some ministry, so this should always be considered before proclaiming that.

There is a beautiful verse in Psalm 138 that says, “For though the LORD is high, he regards the lowly, but the haughty he knows from afar” (verse 6). You cannot sink so low that God does not see you or care about you. And, while it may seem as though he has abandoned you, he has not. “In fact, he is at the bottom waiting to catch you.” Moses wrote, in the verse quoted above, “The eternal God is your dwelling place, and underneath are the everlasting arms.”

There have been times where God has stopped you before hitting rock bottom. But this time, perhaps, there is something deeper to learn. Psalm 119:71 says, “It is good for me that I was afflicted, that I might learn your statutes.” Does he say it was fun, easy, or pleasant? No. But he does say it was good.

There was a Scottish minister named James Stewart, who once wrote, “In love’s service, only the wounded soldiers can serve.” There are many out there, right now, who are being wounded in preparation for “love’s service.”

We must remember that, even in our affliction, God has a plan. Back in Deuteronomy 32:39, the Lord days, “See now that I, even I, am he, and there is no god beside me; I kill and I make alive; I wound and I heal; and there is none that can deliver out of my hand.” (Emphasis mine)

“May God grant a special grace to you who are groaning under some burden. Look eagerly for the new tenderness of love God is imparting to you even now.”

Father, I pray for any who may be going under “wounding” at this time in their lives. I can remember times in my life where I felt that I had sunk so low that you had abandoned me. I know that this was never true. I know that you were preparing me for some ministry of love. I do not know if that ministry time has happened yet, but that is pretty much irrelevant. If it has, good. If it has not, I wait for it. You have me where you have me right now for reasons beyond my comprehension. I pray for those who are hitting rock bottom today. I pray that they find your everlasting arms underneath them! I pray that they find your healing for their wounds so that they can turn and minister love to someone else. I pray that what they encounter after their wounding is completed will be such a sweet love and intimacy with you that they never imagined possible!

I pray for this day, Lord. I pray for safety on the roads this morning. May all our roads be dry and ice free, as we travel to work this morning. Keep us safe in your arms today, as we work. Keep me focused on you and prayer throughout this day. I pray for Christi’s work day; she has a lot on her plate and is experiencing anxiety this morning. Give her peace; help her to hand this over to you. I pray for Stephanie, that you might give her wisdom, especially in friendships and relationships. Teach her your ways, Father; show her your great, overwhelming love!

I pray for my brother in Christ, Brandon, who seems to have come down with a stomach virus. May you bring healing to him, as he had a busy weekend planned.

Your grace is sufficient.

Are you being wounded, right now? Wait on the Lord; wait on his everlasting arms to catch and heal you. Then see what he has for you to do “in love’s service.”

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Are You Wounded?

  1. Quoting you, Jeff — “Before I continue with this, I will point out something that Piper does not. Sometimes, we are afflicted because of our own poor choices. This would NOT be a case where God is preparing us for some ministry, so this should always be considered before proclaiming that.” — and now me — “AMEN!”

Leave a Reply

