Because He Cares For You

Good morning. It is Monday, March 9, 2015. 28 days until Opening Day. Three more days to Paluxy River Bed Cabins!

Today’s word of the day is peculation. If you look at that word to quickly, you might think it said, “percolation,” and think about having another cup of coffee. But that’s not what it says, is it? It’s more of a criminal act; “The appropriation of money or property held in trust for another by a servant, employee, or official; esp. the embezzlement of public funds belonging to a ruler, state, or government. Also: an instance of this.”

Today is Get Over It Day. While intended to be somewhat humorous, this is a reminder that, no matter what is happening in your life, there is probably someone, somewhere, who has things worse than you do.

Christi is feeling a little better, this morning, but still weak. She is, however, attempting to get ready and go to work. For one thing, she has a new hire starting this morning. For another thing, there is this current practice of most companies to not give their employees “sick days,” which actually encourages people to come to work while they are sick, to avoid burning PTO, thereby spreading their germs to everyone around them. Corporate America is really stupid. Anyway, Christi got up with no fever, this morning, which is a good thing. It actually got as high as 100 degrees, at one point, yesterday. I went out and got her some Gatorade and Jello, yesterday evening. She spent most of the day in bed, but came out and sat in the living room for a couple of hours to watch a little TV with me.

So far, I feel okay. Keeping the proverbial fingers crossed. Not really . . . I don’t believe in that. But I’m hoping that I don’t get whatever she had. Especially since we are planning to head to Glen Rose on Thursday, for our weekend of relaxation and peace. If the Lord says so, too.

In case there is anyone out there who hasn’t heard, Texas Rangers pitcher Yu Darvish is likely out for the season, with a sprained UCL in his right arm. He might have to have “Tommy John Surgery,” which will definitely end his 2015 season, and likely mean that he will never be back to where he was, previously. So, the Rangers’ injury plagues are already starting for this season.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

To the choirmaster: according to The Doe of the Dawn. A Psalm of David.
My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? Why are you so far from saving me, from the words of my groaning?
O my God, I cry by day, but you do not answer, and by night, but I find no rest.
Yet you are holy, enthroned on the praises of Israel.
In you our fathers trusted; they trusted, and you delivered them.
To you they cried and were rescued; in you they trusted and were not put to shame.
But I am a worm and not a man, scorned by mankind and despised by the people.
All who see me mock me; they make mouths at me; they wag their heads;

Psalm 22:1-7

(From Solid Joys)

Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.
1 Peter 5:6-7

Today’s reading is “God Cares for You.”

“Why is anxiety about the future a form of pride?”

We might see God answering in this way (this is not Scripture, just speculation):

“I — the Lord, your Maker — I am he who comforts you, who promises to take care of you; and those who threaten you are mere men who die. So your fear must mean that you do not trust me — and even though you are not sure that your own resources will take care of you, yet you opt for fragile self-reliance, rather than faith in my future grace. So all your trembling — weak as it is — reveals pride.”

What is the remedy for anxiety and pride? Turning from “self-reliance to God-reliance, and put your faith in the all-sufficient power of future grace.”

The verses from 1 Peter, quoted above, show us how anxiety connects with pride. “Humble yourselves . . . under the mighty hand of God . . . casting all your anxieties on him.” Verse 7 does not begin a new thought. It is the means of humbling oneself. “Humble yourselves [by] casting all your anxieties on him.” Casting our anxieties on God is a way of humbling ourselves. Which also means that a hindrance to casting our anxieties on God is pride. This means that undue worry is a form of pride. I confess that I struggle with this greatly.

One side note, here, completely from my mind, and not in the reading. I certainly acknowledge that there are cases where people suffer from anxiety disorder. This is a mental issue, and is most definitely not what we are referring to, here. Our autistic daughter, Stephanie, also suffers from anxiety disorder. I don’t. Yet, I find myself constantly worrying over things that may or may not happen. It is, as my mother used to say, “borrowing trouble.” I spend too much time playing the “what if” game. This shows a lack of faith and trust in my Creator. He has been working on that in me quite a bit, lately. I do believe I’m getting better.

Pride does not like to admit weaknesses, like anxiety. And even if pride will admit anxiety, it still doesn’t like to admit that the remedy is trusting someone else that might be wiser. Pride, therefore, is a form of unbelief. “Faith admits the need for help. Pride won’t. Faith banks on God to give help. Pride won’t. Faith casts anxieties on God. Pride won’t.”

So, one way to battle “the unbelief of pride” is to admit that we have anxieties. Then, we must cherish those words in verse 7, “because he cares for you.”

Father, thank you for caring about me. Thank you for showing me, in recent weeks, that my constant worry about things is not only silly, but prideful, and an indication that I do not trust you. Thank you for building that trust in me. There was a time when I would be out-of-my-mind crazy right now, worrying that I’m going to catch whatever plagued Christi all day yesterday. But I find myself quite calm, this morning, as I go through this time with you, believing that you will take care of me, no matter what. You are here, with me, and all the worry in the world can’t change one thing. I don’t control the outcome, you do. Nevertheless, there is still much work to do. The positive is that I am more able to catch myself when I start running full-speed down that path of anxiety. I praise you for that, Lord, and pray that your Spirit will continue to work within me, as I continue to read and meditate on your Word.

I pray for this day. Please strengthen Christi as she tries to make it to work today. I would advise her against it, but she really feels that she needs to be there. Help us to have a good work day, and I pray for the weekend ahead, that it will be restful and pleasant for us. Let us connect with you in a major way, this weekend. I also pray, as always, for safe travel to and from work today. Give Stephanie a strong feeling of your love today, and I pray that she might spend some time looking at you and your Word today.

Your grace is sufficient.

1-peter-5-7

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

