Worthy Is the Lamb!

Good morning. It is Tuesday, March 10, 2015. 27 days until Opening Day. Only two more days until we go to Glen Rose!

Today’s word of the day is Nice Nelly (just to remind you, I get these from the Oxford English Dictionary). Nice Nelly can be a noun, meaning, ” A person who is excessively concerned with maintaining an appearance of propriety or respectability; a prudish or fastidious person.” It can also be an adjective, meaning, “Prudish, fastidious; overly concerned with respectability.” Around here, we might call such a person a “poser,” or “fake.”

Today is Day of Awesomeness! Celebrate everything that is awesome today, okay? Awesome!

Not much to talk about on a personal level, this morning. Christi is feeling some better, but struggled a bit, during the night. She has been having a huge headache since yesterday, which may or may not be stress-related. She feels okay, at the moment, but is not well enough to, for instance, have a cup of coffee. And she still feels really tired.

In other news, the lady that was hired to work with her, last week, is from Romania. In fact, she lived just miles from “Dracula’s Castle.” You have no idea how excited that makes me!
RHA-793-875

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

“He trusts in the LORD; let him deliver him; let him rescue him, for he delights in him!”
Yet you are he who took me from the womb; you made me trust you at my mother’s breasts.
On you was I cast from my birth, and from my mother’s womb you have been my God.

Psalm 22:8-10

(From Solid Joys)

I began to weep loudly because no one was found worthy to open the scroll or to look into it.
Revelation 5:4

Today’s reading is “Let Us Adore the Lamb.”

Revelation 4 and 5 give us a glimpse into heaven. In chapter 5, the LORD is sitting on his throne, holding a scroll. This is the well-known scroll with seven seals that must be broken before it can be opened.

I agree with John Piper that this scroll represents the final days of history as we know it, and the breaking of these seals represents “the kind of history we will pass through as we move toward those days.” In verse 4, quoted above, John is weeping because no one can be found who is worthy to break the seals and open the scroll. But he is told, by one of the elders, in verse 5, that he should not weep. “Weep no more; behold, the Lion of the tribe of Judah, the Root of David, has conquered, so that he can open the scroll and its seven seals.”

By his death and resurrection, Jesus Christ “had earned the right to open the remainder of redemptive history and lead his people victoriously through it.” But look! In the next verse, Jesus is depicted as a lamb! And between the throne and the four living creatures and among the elders I saw a Lamb standing, as though it had been slain, with seven horns and with seven eyes, which are the seven spirits of God sent out into all the earth. (Verse 6) This Lamb that is worthy, takes the scroll from the right hand of him who was seated on the throne. (Verse 7) This causes a tremendous scene of worship in verse 8. And when he had taken the scroll, the four living creatures and the twenty-four elders fell down before the Lamb, each holding a harp, and golden bowls full of incense, which are the prayers of the saints.

My friends, did you catch that bit about the “golden bowls full of incense?” They are “the prayers of the saints!” “Does not this mean that our prayers are the aroma of heaven, sweet smelling before the throne of God and before the Lamb?”

Should this not strengthen and encourage us to pray more often and more vigorously? Our prayers “are being assembled and stored up in heaven and offered to Christ repeatedly in heavenly acts of worship.”

“Let’s all bless and honor and adore Christ here below with our prayers, and then doubly rejoice that the worship council of heaven offers them again to Christ as sweet smelling incense before the Lamb who was slain.”

Father, how encouraging this scene is to me! I have noticed it before, and it brought me great joy! But to read it in this setting encourages me even more. My prayers are being offered up to my Lord in golden bowls of incense! I have no words to even describe how this makes me feel. But, like Piper, it encourages me to pray all the more, and all the more intensely. I pray for my prayers. May they be fervent and effective, not getting what I want, but working to obtain what you want! Keep teaching me to pray, Father, that I might please you, and that my desires might be your desires. Grant that my will be match your will. And when it doesn’t, answer my prayers by giving me what I would ask for if I knew what you know! May I spend this day in adoration of the Lamb that was slain, who is found worthy to open the seven seals and the scroll of the final days of our history!

I pray for this day. I ask that we have safe travel to and from work. I pray that you would continue to strengthen Christi, both in body and in spirit. Give her your peace, that passes all understanding, especially in regard to the ongoing situation with her mother and family. I pray for Stephanie, that you would grant her peace, and that she would know your great love. Bring healing to her mind, Father! Then I pray for my work day today, that it would be smooth and productive. Keep us free from anxiety, and when it threatens, help us to cast it upon you, knowing that you care for us!

Worthy is the Lamb!!

If you have seven minutes or so, listen to this. I guarantee it will bless you.

Grace and peace, friends.

3 thoughts on “Worthy Is the Lamb!

Leave a Reply

