Who Loved Me and Gave Himself For Me

Good morning. It is Friday, March 20, 2015. 17 days until Opening Day! First day of Spring!

Today’s word of the day is primaveral. Appropriately so, as it means, “Of or taking place in (early) spring.”

Today is Won’t You Be My Neighbor Day. A day to celebrate and honor Fred Rogers, better known to us as Mr Rogers. It is also established on this day, as Fred Rogers was born on this date in 1928.

There isn’t much to write, this morning, as I recapped much of it after we got back yesterday. I should be heading home, though, sometime this afternoon/evening. It is has been a very nice time, but it will be good to be home, as well, and to get back to work next Monday. Did I just write that? Last night, we watched two delightfully bad “horror” movies from the late fifties and early sixties. One was called Tormented, and starred Richard Carlson, Lugene Sanders, and Juli Reding. It was directed by Bert I. Gordon in 1960. The second movie, also directed by Gordon, was The Cyclops, starring James Craig, Gloria Talbott, and the great Lon Chaney, Jr. It was released in 1957. Both movies were pretty bad, but still great fun.

I’ll be heading over to Brahm’s in a little while to get breakfast for us all. Then I will be taking Mama out to do some shopping sometime today.

On this date in 1760, the “Great Fire” of Boston, MS, destroyed 349 buildings. It began with a series of small fires on March 17-18, and lasted three days. According to one source, miraculously, no one died in the fire.

Today’s birthdays include Henrik Ibsen (writer), Edgar Buchanan (actor), B.F. Skinner (psychologist), Ozzie Nelson (bandleader and actor), Carl Reiner (actor/director), Fred Rogers (Mr. Rogers), Hal Linden (actor), Ted Bessell (actor), Jerry Reed (singer), Lois Lowry (author), Bobby Orr (hockey player), John de Lancie (actor, “Q”), Carl Palmer (drummer), William Hurt (actor), Jimmie Vaughan (blues guitar, Stevie’s brother), Theresa Russell (actress), Spike Lee (director), Holly Hunter (actress), Kathy Ireland (model/actress), and David Thewlis (actor).

Carl Frederick Kendall Palmer is the drummer for Emerson, Lake & Palmer. He was born on this date in 1950, making him 65 years old. There are many ELP songs that I like, some of which are probably too long to post here. But I’m posting Tarkus, anyway. It is in two parts on You Tube, from the fantastic Welcome Back My Friends, to the Show that Never Ends album.

Part 1

Part 2

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

The earth is the LORD’s and the fullness thereof, the world and those who dwell therein,
for he has founded it upon the seas and established it upon the rivers.

Psalm 24:1-2

(From Solid Joys)

Today’s reading is “Jesus Died For This Moment.”

I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.
Galatians 2:20

Have you ever had a moment where you considered the ” utter realness of dying and standing before an utterly holy God with nothing to commend” you but the life that you lived? Stop for a second and ponder that, if you will. Then consider that Jesus died for that moment.

“This is how a person comes to cherish the love of Christ. Suddenly, for the first time, they see and feel with the eyes of their heart the undeniable reality of having to meet God with a guilty conscience.” I think it is healthy for us to ponder this, occasionally. Not to dwell on it, because we will not have to face God in this way. But to ponder it, so that we might celebrate the truth of what Christ has done for us.

When we ponder this, we know that our only hope is a Mediator. If we were to stand before God with nothing to commend us but our life, we would be utterly lost. “If there is any hope for eternity in the presence of this God, we will need a Redeemer, a Substitute, a Savior.”

This is where the Gospel shines brightest. The phrase in Galatians 2:20, who loved me and gave himself for me, shines clearly, here. We must remember that “our God is a consuming fire. He will not look upon evil. Our guilt is real. But our guilt is also reconciled; paid in full by Jesus Christ, who loved me and gave himself for me.

“In this instant Jesus is all that matters. O Christ! O Christ! Can my heart contain the wave of gratitude?! O Gift of God, my desperate and only Need!”

O my Father, I thank you and praise you for Jesus, who loved me and gave himself for me! I also thank you that you give me occasional glimpses of what it would look like to face you without the blood of Christ to commend me. I would be utterly and hopelessly lost. I thank you for my salvation, and that you have covered my guilt, no, washed it away with the blood of Christ!

I pray for this day. May you keep Christi safe as she travels home from work today. May you bless her day with your presence at work. I pray for Stephanie, that you show your overwhelming love to her, and that she would know your presence in her life today. May you give me a safe trip home, this evening. I pray for the rest of my time with my parents, that it will be blessed, and a blessing, as well. Thank you that my mother’s surgery went so well. I pray for them, after I leave, that they will stay safe and follow the rules they are supposed to follow. May you also bless Rachel and Justin today, giving them whatever they need for this day.

Your grace is sufficient.

It’s always good to take a moment to think about where you would be without Jesus. Then to realize that you don’t have to worry about that, because he has taken care of you!
Galatians 2-20

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

