When I Mess Up

Good morning. It is Friday, April 3, 2015. THREE more days until Opening Day!! Last Friday before Opening Day!!

Today is also “Good Friday,” the traditional day of the crucifixion of Jesus.

Today’s Word of the Day, appropriately, is obnubilate. This is a verb, which means, ” To darken, dim, cover, or hide with or as with a cloud; to obscure, render indistinct.” Now, I have no idea if this is intentional, but if you know the story, you know that there was a moment in time, during the crucifixion, that the sky turned black as night, and the sun was obscured.

Besides being Good Friday, today is also Walk to Work Day. Hah!! No way that’s happening!! If I worked, say, a mile from home, maybe. But I’m currently driving 60 miles, round trip, every day to work. I would have had to start at around 10:00 last night to get there by 8:00 this morning. And that’s walking at a pretty good pace. But if you are able, go for it! Or even better, stay at home and celebrate Chocolate Mousse Day!

It sounds as if Christi’s Huddle went okay last night, but I think she more enjoyed the one-on-one time with one of the ladies that she is developing a friendship with. They go out somewhere, afterward, about every other week. She got home a little late, but seemed to enjoy the conversation time.

It looks as though the weather may interfere with our plans to go to Scarborough Faire, this Sunday. There is a probability of thunderstorms, with 60% chance of rain. I guess we will just wake up and see what happens. Tonight, I think we are going to Arlington, to a church (not sure which one) where Dennis Jernigan will be leading a Good Friday Night of Praise.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Of David.
Vindicate me, O LORD, for I have walked in my integrity, and I have trusted in the LORD without wavering.
Prove me, O LORD, and try me; test my heart and my mind.
For your steadfast love is before my eyes, and I walk in your faithfulness.
I do not sit with men of falsehood, nor do I consort with hypocrites.
I hate the assembly of evildoers, and I will not sit with the wicked.
I wash my hands in innocence and go around your altar, O LORD,
proclaiming thanksgiving aloud, and telling all your wondrous deeds.
O LORD, I love the habitation of your house and the place where your glory dwells.
Do not sweep my soul away with sinners, nor my life with bloodthirsty men,
in whose hands are evil devices, and whose right hands are full of bribes.
But as for me, I shall walk in my integrity; redeem me, and be gracious to me.
My foot stands on level ground; in the great assembly I will bless the LORD.

Psalm 26

(From Solid Joys)

Today’s reading is “How to Respond When You Falter.”

For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing.
Romans 7:19

This is a brief reading, and I don’t think I could summarize it any shorter than I can simply quote it, so that is what I will do.

“Christians do not live only in defeat. But neither do we live only in perfect victory over sin. And in those times when we fail to triumph over sin, Romans 7:14–25 shows us the normal way a healthy Christian should respond.

We should say:

1. I love the law of God (verse 22).
2. I hate what I just did (verse 15).
3. Wretched man that I am! Who will set me free from the body of this death (verse 24)?
4. Thanks be to God! The victory will come through Jesus Christ my Lord (verse 25).

In other words, no Christian wants to live this way — in defeat. No Christian settles to live this way. But if we do live this way for a time, we shouldn’t lie about it.

No hypocrisy. No posing. No boasted perfectionism. No churchy, pasted smiles or chipper superficiality.

God save us from blindness to our own failures and the consequent quickness to judge others.

God help us to feel worse about our own shortfalls than the failure of others.

God give us the honesty and candor and humility of the apostle Paul in this text!”

Father, I do love your law. I do hate it when I sin and go against your law. I am a wretched man, still enslaved in a body of death, who looks forward to the redemption and resurrection of this body. I give you thanks and praise that victory will someday be mine, through Jesus Christ!

I pray for this day, that our travel to work will be smooth, and that our work day will be productive and anxiety free. Let us look to the Gospel as we work today, in all circumstances that arise. May you show Stephanie your steadfast love today. I pray that your presence will strong with my parents today, and that you will give Rachel and Justin what the need most for this day.

I pray for many people to understand the meaning of the Resurrection, this weekend.

Your grace is sufficient.

We are not perfect. It pains me when some Christians act as though they are. When we fail, may we be honest and deliberate in our confession. And then celebrate the fact that, even in our deepest, darkest sin, when God looks at us, he feels only love!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

