My Light and My Salvation

Good morning (likely afternoon by posting). It is Saturday, April 4, 2015. TWO more days until Opening Day!!

Today is simply known as “Holy Saturday.” It represents a day of great sobriety (not to mention fear) in the lives of Jesus’s disciples.

Today’s Word of the Day is oyabun. This appears to be a word specific to something in Japan, “a boss, a chief; spec. the boss of an organized crime syndicate or of a labour organization.”

Today is Walk Around Things Day. Got that certain situation in your life that you don’t want to deal with? For today, just walk around it. Tackle it another day.

We had a nice time last night. After getting home from work, we immediately jumped in the car and headed to south Arlington, to White Stone Fellowship, for a Good Friday Night of Praise with Dennis Jernigan. Dennis was rather tired, as he had just gotten back home from a long trip to Australia, where one of his daughters lives. But he still was able to effectively worship and minister. Last night was different than most of the other events of his that we have attended, as he, for the most part, simply worshiped. I kind of liked that, as I was able to, in effect, just sit back and let it wash over me. There were more songs that I was not familiar with, but they were still great. We sang some of the old favorites (except for “When the Night Is Falling,” which, for some reason, he did not sing), as well, ending the night, as usual, with “I Belong to Jesus.” We got to talk to him, and were greeted by his wife, Melinda, as well. Most of his family knows Stephanie, which should not surprise us, but, as we walked into the sanctuary, a man we had never seen before, said, “Hi, Stephanie!” Turns out, he is Galen’s husband (she is the oldest daughter).

I’m starting late, this morning, as we slept until 10:00 this morning. I guess we were tired. 😀

It was on this date in 1968 that Martin Luther King, Jr. was assassinated by James Earl Ray at a motel in Memphis, Tennessee.

Today’s birthdays include Tad Lincoln (Presidential son), Tris Speaker (Red Sox baseball player), Arthur Murray (dance teacher), John Cameron Swayze (journalist), Muddy Waters (blues musician), Gil Hodges (baseball player/manager), May Angelou (writer), Anthony Perkins (actor), Estelle Harris (actress), Clive Davis (record producer), A. Bartlett Giamatti (baseball commissioner), Jim Fregosi (baseball player/manager), Craig T. Nelson (actor), Berry Oakley (Allman Brothers bass player), Christine Lahti (actress), Hugo Weaving (actor), Robert Downey, Jr. (actor), Barry Pepper (actor), David Blaine (illusionist), and Heath Ledger (actor).

Heath Ledger was an Australian actor whose most famous role is, arguably, The Joker, in The Dark Knight. One of my favorite movies of his is A Knight’s Tale. However, his acting in The Dark Knight was nothing short of brilliant. Here is one of his scenes in that movie. Sadly, we lost Heath in 2008, to a drug overdose (prescription drugs).

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The LORD is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?
When evildoers assail me to eat up my flesh, my adversaries and foes, it is they who stumble and fall.
Though an army encamp against me, my heart shall not fear; though war arise against me, yet I will be confident.
One thing have I asked of the LORD, that will I seek after: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD and to inquire in his temple.

Psalm 27:1-4

I have let time get away from me, and we have to get going for lunch, so we can get to church on time.

Father, I thank you that you are my light and my salvation, and that I have nothing to fear because of this. I also thank you that, as John Piper has written in his daily devotion, that you oftentimes strengthen us through the gifts of others. As we prepare to meet with our brothers and sisters in Christ, this evening, I pray that we will do just that . . . that we will strengthen each other, both in the faith, and in our daily walk with you. Thank you for your gifts of grace and mercy, and for the provision that you have given us in all things.

Your grace is sufficient.

Sorry to have to truncate today. I need to be a better steward of my time.

cc_prayer_light

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

