I Long For the Day

Good morning. It is Wednesday, April 29, 2015.

Today’s Word of the Day is psychotronics. This is a noun, meaning, “The (study of) the interactions between matter, energy, and consciousness, esp. as supposedly found in parapsychological phenomena and the ability of energy produced by mental effort to have a physical effect on people and objects.” I find that to be very interesting.

Today is World Wish Day. This all centers around an event that launched the formation of the Make-A-Wish Foundation. I wish . . . never mind.

The first day back at work was okay, I guess. Nothing really eventful happened. My knee still hurts whenever I move. I should probably get to a doctor, but I’ve missed so much work in the past three weeks or so, that I don’t want to do that, just yet. I keep hoping it will get better.

Christi is having a nice time at the USBC convention in Omaha. But I miss her. She will be returning on Thursday night.

I really don’t have much else to write about so I’ll move on to the devotional.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

As a deer pants for flowing streams, so pants my soul for you, O God.
My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When shall I come and appear before God?
My tears have been my food day and night, while they say to me all the day long, “Where is your God?”
These things I remember, as I pour out my soul: how I would go with the throng and lead them in procession to the house of God with glad shouts and songs of praise, a multitude keeping festival.
Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation
and my God. My soul is cast down within me; therefore I remember you from the land of Jordan and of Hermon, from Mount Mizar.
Deep calls to deep at the roar of your waterfalls; all your breakers and your waves have gone over me.
By day the LORD commands his steadfast love, and at night his song is with me, a prayer to the God of my life.
I say to God, my rock: “Why have you forgotten me? Why do I go mourning because of the oppression of the enemy?”
As with a deadly wound in my bones, my adversaries taunt me, while they say to me all the day long, “Where is your God?”
Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation and my God.

Psalm 42

(From Solid Joys)

Today’s reading is “The Day Is at Hand.”

The night is far gone; the day is at hand.
Romans 13:12

“This is a word of hope to suffering Christians. It’s a word of hope to Christians who hate their own sin and long to be done with sinning. It’s a word of hope to Christians who long for the last enemy death to be overcome and thrown into the lake of fire (Revelation 20:14).”

At first glance, this would probably not appear to be a word of hope, especially for those who suffer in any way. But if we consider that “night,” stands for the age of darkness, that brings sin, misery, and death, we begin to see hope. Paul says that, “the night is far gone.” “The age of sin and misery is almost spent.”

Of course, 2000 years seems like a long “dawn,” doesn’t it? And in our hearts, we cry out, “How long, O Lord?”

We must consider that the day dawned with Jesus Christ. “Jesus is the end of this fallen age. He defeated sin and pain and death and Satan. The decisive battle is over. The kingdom has come. Eternal life has come.”

When dawn happens, just as it did with Jesus, the coming of day is certain. Even if the dawn lasts 2000 years. “It is certain. The day has arrived. Nothing can stop the rising sun.”

Father, help me to see this hope. I have faith; you have given it to me. Even in times like this, my faith stays with me. But I’m struggling with pain. I know that pain is temporary, but while we feel it, it does not seem so. I know that “this, too, shall pass.” Give me endurance, Father, and let me not sink into despair. I know that the age of darkness is defeated by Jesus. I know that there will come a day when sin and sorrow will no longer exist. My mind and heart cannot even fathom such a time. I have lived in this wretched, sinful flesh for so long that I cannot comprehend the reality that, someday, there will be no more desire for sin. Hasten that day, Lord Jesus! Come, Lord Jesus! Maranatha!

I pray for Christi, this morning, that she would know your grace and peace completely. May she have a good day today, working at the convention. Keep her safe, Father, as she walks about, and as she flies back home tomorrow. I pray for Stephanie, that she would also know grace and peace today. Comfort her as she continues to miss her Grandpa. Comfort and strengthen my mother, as well, as you have already done. May she know your peace today. I pray for my work day, that it will go well, and that I will have some success getting caught up. I also pray that my knee pain will subside as the day goes by. May you bring healing, Father.

Teach me your way, that I may walk in your truth. I fear that my path has become muddy, of late. Guide me, Father. May your Spirit guide me through this day. Help me to show your Kingdom in my life. May the life that I live in the flesh be lived in the power of the life of Jesus Christ.

Your grace is sufficient.

psalm-42-1

Is your soul downcast today? Hope in God; quench your thirst in him today.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

