“He Is Most Glorified in Us When We are Most Satisfied in Him”

Good morning. It is Saturday, May 9, 2015, and I’m up at 5:00 AM. :p

Today’s Word of the Day from the OED is alimental. No, I did not misspell that. It is an adjective, meaning, “Nourishing, nutritious; nutritional.” That’s it.

Yesterday was No Sock Day. Today is Lost Sock Memorial Day! So in honor of all of those lost socks (I read somewhere that it might actually be the washing machine that eats them, rather than the dryer) . . .

Christi and I went out last night and got my mother her Mothers Day gift, and then went to eat at Kincaid’s Hamburgers. We were going to go to Cheddar’s, but they had a line out the front door, and people waiting outside. The burgers were delicious, though, and those crinkle cut fries . . . wow. I think Christi is feeling better, though, as she is not coughing nearly as much. I think she slept better last night, but what do I know? I was asleep, too. 😀

I have to work this morning, and I’m supposed to be there at 7:00, so I had better get moving with this thing.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Behold, I was brought forth in iniquity, and in sin did my mother conceive me.
Psalm 51:5

“The passage affords a striking testimony in proof of the original sin entailed by Adam upon the whole human family. It not only teaches the doctrine, but may assist us in forming a correct idea of it. The Bible, both in this and other places, clearly asserts that we are born in sin, and that it exists within us as a disease fixed in our nature.” (John Calvin, Heart Aflame)

For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven:
a time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted;
a time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;
a time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;
a time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;
a time to seek, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away;
a time to tear, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;
a time to love, and a time to hate; a time for war, and a time for peace.

Ecclesiastes 3:1-8

(From Solid Joys)

Today’s reading is “What It Means to Love God.”

O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.
So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary, beholding your power and glory.

Psalm 63:1-2

“Only God will satisfy a heart like David’s. And David was a man after God’s own heart. That’s the way we were created to be.”

The essence of loving God is being satisfied in him. Of course, it includes obedience, believing, and thanksgiving. But at the core, to love God is to enjoy him and all that he is. “And it is this enjoyment of God that glorifies his worth most fully.”

Don’t we know this from our own experience? Which do we enjoy more? Someone serving us, or the sweet fellowship of someone we love? I would rather just sit and be with someone than to have them running around doing things for me! (Remember the example of Mary and Martha?)

Here is the keystone of Piper’s writing on this subject: “He is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in him.”

I can, along with John Piper, say that I have not arrived at a place where I am perfectly satisfied in God. My heart still chases after worldly delights, comforts, and pleasures. But, like Piper, as well as the Psalmist, I have tasted and seen that the Lord is good (Psalm 34:8).

Perhaps our best tool of evangelism would be to try to lure people into this joy of simply spending time with and enjoying God.

One thing have I asked of the LORD, that will I seek after: that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the LORD and to inquire in his temple.
Psalm 27:4

I’ll finish with this quote from the Westminster Shorter Catechism.
“Q. 1. What is the chief end of man?
A. Man’s chief end is to glorify God, and to enjoy him forever.”

Father, help me to enjoy you more. The last few day’s readings have really spoken to me in this matter. Let my drives to work in the morning be times when I simply enjoy you, loving your presence, allowing your Spirit to wash over me in love, grace, and mercy. What ecstasy it is to know your presence, my God! What joy in knowing that you are with me always! Let that joy be the main purpose of my life. And, lest I be misunderstood, I’m not looking for a “feeling.” I am looking for you, Lord. I cannot adequately express in words what I am seeking, here, but you certainly understand. Let my love for you be made more real by my enjoyment of your presence in my life. Let me satisfy you by being satisfied in you.

I pray for this day. May I have safe passage to and from work today. May Christi continue to get better, and may she be safe in whatever she does this morning. May she experience joy in you today, as well. I pray for Stephanie, that she will know your joy and love you by enjoying your presence. May my mother experience this joy today, Father, and may you continue strengthening her for the journey ahead. We pray for a safe trip to her house tomorrow, and a good visit with her. I pray for Rachel and Justin that you show your great love to them and that you would guide them in their future.

Your grace is sufficient, Lord, and may our joy be full in you.

“He is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in him.”

Satisfied

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

