Loving Our Enemies

Good morning. It is Tuesday, May 12, 2015.

Today’s word of the day from Merriam-Webster is ingurgitate. (Funny, my spell-checker does not recognize it.) This word, in a way, is the opposite of “regurgitate.” It is a verb, meaning, “to swallow greedily or in large quantities : guzzle.”

Today is Nutty Fudge Day. I think I might need to take the day off for that!!

For me, yesterday was a pretty mild day, over all. Work was kind of slow and easy, and the drive both ways was rather nice. For Christi, however, the day was not so great. She had a lot of stress, which ended with a person who reports to her storming out, angry. Hopefully, today will go better.

My mother continues to enjoy her experience with Facebook and her new computer. We need to teach her more about email, such as how to send or reply to an email, and what to do with “spam.”

Tonight is my Huddle night. I don’t recall us having any “homework.”

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me.
Cast me not away from your presence, and take not your Holy Spirit from me.
Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit.
Then I will teach transgressors your ways, and sinners will return to you.
Deliver me from bloodguiltiness, O God, O God of my salvation, and my tongue will sing aloud of your righteousness.
O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise.

Psalm 51:10-15

“By employing the term create, he expresses his persuasion that nothing less than a miracle could effect his reformation, and emphatically declares that repentance is the gift of God. He acknowledges that we are indebted entirely to the grace of God, both for our first regeneration, and, in the event of our falling, for subsequent restoration.” (John Calvin, Heart Aflame, p. 133)

(From Solid Joys)

But I say to you who hear, Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you.
Luke 6:27

Today’s reading is “Why We Should Love Our Enemies.”

Piper gives two reasons.

First, is that loving our enemies reveals the way God is, for he is merciful.

  • For he makes his sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust.
  • (Matthew 5:45)

  • He does not deal with us according to our sins, nor repay us according to our iniquities.
  • (Psalm 103:10)

  • Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.
  • (Ephesians 4:32)

When we live this way, we display an attribute of God.

“The second reason is that the hearts of Christians are satisfied with God and are not driven by the craving for revenge or self-exaltation or money or earthly security.”

When God becomes our “all-satisfying treasure,” we don’t treat others out of our own sense of insecurity and need, “but out of our own fullness with the satisfying glory of God.”

For you had compassion on those in prison, and you joyfully accepted the plundering of your property, since you knew that you yourselves had a better possession and an abiding one.
Hebrews 10:34

“What takes away the compulsion of revenge is our deep confidence that this world is not our home, and that God is our utterly sure and all-satisfying reward.”

We see in these two reasons the main idea that God is displayed as a merciful and loving God, as well as being “gloriously all-satisfying.” The over-arching reason for all of this is that we glorify God by being merciful. We make God “look great in the eyes of man.”

Father, help me to make these points a reality in my life today. Again, I don’t really have any “enemies.” But there are people with whom I struggle, both at work and in other areas of my life. Help me to treat them in this way, with mercy, and without feeling a need to satisfy my own feeble insecurities. Bottom line, help me to be all-satisfied in you, Lord, that I might not need any kind of satisfaction from my fellow man.

I pray for this day, that we would have safe passage to and from work. I pray that Christi’s day would go better, with little to no stress, and that she would be able to reconcile with her co-worker. I pray for Stephanie, that she would feel better today, as she was complaining of a sore throat last night. May you show your great love to Rachel and Justin today, as they go about their business. Also, I pray for my mother to have the grace she needs to get through this day. Her Bible study is today; I pray that it is a joyous time for her. Take our lives and let them be consecrated, Lord, to thee.

I think that many of us Christians have a long way to go in the topics of today’s readings. I pray that we might get there. Let us love our enemies and do good to those who persecute us.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

