Strength Under Control

Good morning. It is Friday, May 15, 2015. B.B. King has died. The thrill is gone.

Today’s word of the day from Merriam-Webster is bowdlerize. This is a verb, meaning, “to expurgate by omitting or modifying parts considered vulgar,” or, “to modify by abridging, simplifying, or distorting in style or content.”

Tough choice today, but I’m going with Chocolate Chip Day, because chocolate! However, if you would prefer Pizza Party Day or Straw Hat Day, have at it!

As already stated above, the great blues legend, B.B. King, has died. He passed peacefully in his sleep during the night, last night. We had received news a little over a week ago that he had entered hospice care, so this really comes as no surprise. It is still, nevertheless, a sad day. He was 89 years old. Here is a clip I found on You tube when he was a little bit younger.

I actually practiced the trombone last night again. And the guitar, too! The reunion is exactly three weeks from today, so I don’t have much time. There’s no doubt that I will be nowhere near as good as I was back in the day, but I should be able at least make a few nice sounds. I’m more interested in catching up with some old friends, as it will, more than likely be the last time I will ever see many of them.

It’s Friday, so bring on the weekend!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

But I am like a green olive tree in the house of God. I trust in the steadfast love of God forever and ever.
I will thank you forever, because you have done it. I will wait for your name, for it is good, in the presence of the godly.

Psalm 52:8-9

(From Solid Joys)

Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.
Matthew 5:5

Today’s reading is “What Is Meekness?”

“Meekness begins when we put our trust in God.” When we trust him, we “commit our way to him.” Then we give him our anxieties, frustrations, relationships, jobs, health, and so on. All of these things, we commit to God.

Then we wait patiently. “We trust his timing and his power and his grace to work things out in the best way for his glory and for our good.”

The result of all of this is that “we don’t give way to quick and fretful anger.” We give our cause to God, and, if he chooses, he will vindicate us. This makes us, as James 1:19 tells us, to be “slow to speak and quick to listen. We become reasonable and open to correction.”

Meekness is teachable. It considers the correction from a friend to be a blessing. “And when it must say a critical word to a person caught in sin or error, it speaks from the deep conviction of its own fallibility and its own susceptibility to sin and its utter dependence on the grace of God.”

Meekness, when successfully played out to its fullness, is a beautiful thing. But it goes against every grain of our sinful being. “It requires supernatural help.”

“If you are a disciple of Jesus Christ, that is, if you trust him and commit your way to him and wait patiently for him, God has already begun to help you and will help you more.”

One major way that he helps us is to give us the assurance that our hearts belong to him.

Father, I pray for meekness. I realize that this is just as dangerous as praying for patience, but I do it, anyway, because I know it is what you desire from me. I have long needed more meekness in my life, and I pray that you would cause it to indwell deeply within me, making me wait patiently for you in all things. Let me not be vindictive toward anyone, or hateful, either, but let me be peaceful toward everyone, in all circumstances.

I pray for today, that your grace and mercy would be enough for us. Make our trip to work and back safe and smooth, Lord, and give us grace for the work day ahead, that we might handle any stress that comes our way with meekness and faith. I pray that you show your great love to Stephanie, Rachel, and Justin, and that you continue to hold my mother up. Let your grace shine through us, and help us to display your kingdom in all areas of life.

Your grace is enough.

Let us not confuse meekness with weakness. In fact, meekness is more like strength under control.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

