Eager For His Coming

Good morning. It is Wednesday, May 27. Three more days in May.

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is gainsay. I’ve heard this word before, but was not sure of its meaning. It is a verb, meaning, “to deny, dispute, or contradict,” or, “to speak or act against; oppose.”

Today is Cellophane Tape Day. If it weren’t for a “banjo playing inventor,” who worked for the Minnesota Mining and Manufacturing Company (we know them as 3M), we would still be wrapping our presents with string. Cellophane tape was invented in 1930.

We had more thunderstorms and rain, last night. I’m not sure how much we got, but it seems to have rained for a while. It looks like our area has gotten about a half inch in the last 24 hours, and Mineral Wells got closer to .75 inch. According to my “Weather Underground” app, we have a 60% chance of more thunderstorms this afternoon and evening. I guess I was wrong about this almost being over.

I don’t have much else to write about, this morning, so I will move right on into the devotional.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

For you will render to a man according to his work.
Psalm 62:12b

(From Solid Joys)

So Christ, having been offered once to bear the sins of many, will appear a second time, not to deal with sin but to save those who are eagerly waiting for him.
Hebrews 9:28

Today’s reading is “Authentic vs. Phony Faith.”

There is a question in front of us. Are we counted among the “many” of which Jesus bears the sins? When he comes to save, will we be one of those? The answer is “Yes” if we can be said to be “eagerly waiting for him.” “We can know that our sins are taken away and that we will be safe in the judgment if we trust Christ in such a way that it makes us eager for his coming.”

There is a kind of faith that is, more or less, phony. This kind of faith is more like “fire insurance.” These people “believe,” simply to escape hell, and have no true desire for Christ. In fact, they would rather him delay his coming so they can enjoy more of the world’s pleasures. This is a heart that belongs to the world, not to Christ.

Do we eagerly long for Christ’s coming? Or do we wish that he would wait a while? This question tests “the authenticity of faith.” Let us be more like the Corinthians in 1 Corinthians 1:7, so that you are not lacking in any gift, as you wait for the revealing of our Lord Jesus Christ. Or the Philippians of Philippians 3:20, But our citizenship is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ.

“That’s the issue for us. Do we love his appearing? Or do we love the world and hope that his appearing will not interrupt our worldly plans? Eternity hangs on this question.”

Father, give me more of a desire for the coming of Christ. I have long been one who openly desires that Jesus would go ahead and return. I do eagerly long for the coming of Christ. But, at the same time, there are reasons on this earth that I don’t mind if he waits a while. It’s not like I’m sitting on the fence, but there are definitely things in this world to which my heart is drawn. Teach me your way, that I may walk in your truth. Unite my heart to fear your name! Take away any unholy desires that I may have, that cause me to love this world more than I love Jesus.

I pray for this day, Father, that our passage to work would be safe and smooth. I pray that our work day would go well, and that we would faithfully represent your Kingdom in this world today. I pray for relationships at Christi’s job, and I pray that you would guide her through the day and give her confidence that she knows what she’s doing. I give you thanks that Stephanie seems to be feeling better, finally, and pray that this trend will continue. Give her confidence in herself and in her faith in you. Show your great love to her. I pray for Rachel and Justin, that you would provide for and protect them, drawing them into your great love for us.

I pray for Rob and me. You know.

I do eagerly await his coming. However, there are things on earth that I love, too. These must become fewer. My love and eagerness for Christ must increase.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

