O God, You Are My God

Good morning. It is . . . dang . . . what day is it?? Oh, yeah. Thursday. Thursday, May 28, 2015. For some reason, this week has been more difficult to keep up with, after the Monday holiday.

Today’s word of the day, from the OED, is abactor. No, not the math thingy. That’s an “abacus.” An abactor (n), is “A person who steals livestock, esp. herds of cattle, usually by driving the animals away.”

Today is Amnesty International Day. Amnesty International is one of the largest human rights organizations in the world.

Yesterday was a nice day. Work went well, and the evening was restful. We made chili for dinner, which is always good. Then we watched a couple of episodes of House of Cards (season 3), and listened to it rain.

Tonight is Christi’s Huddle night, so we are making our crockpot “Mexican Soup.” This is comprised of three frozen chicken breasts, a can of Rotel (regular), a can of diced tomatoes, a packet of taco seasoning, and a package of frozen peppers and onions (the three-color-pepper variety). This cooks on low all day while we are at work. When we get home, we shred the chicken, dish it out and add sour cream, cheese, and avocado to it. It is delicious!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

A Psalm of David, when he was in the wilderness of Judah. O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you; my flesh faints for you, as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.
So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary, beholding your power and glory.

Psalm 63:1-2

(From Heart Aflame)

Drawing from the Psalm above, John Calvin notes that “David never allowed himself to be so far overcome by his trials, as to cease lifting up his prayer to heaven, and even resting, with a firm and constant faith, upon the divine promise.” We see, in the introduction to the Psalm, that David was in the wilderness when he wrote this one. He was, indeed, “in a dry and weary land where there is no water.” Yet he was faithful to call out to God.

There are two possible effects of extreme or grievous trials. We might cling to God like never before, or we might completely forget about him, in our confusion or grief. In this case, David does more than just pray. “He sets the Lord before him as his God, that he may throw all his cares unhesitatingly upon him, deserted as he was of man, and a poor outcast in the waste and howling wilderness.” David was alone, as alone as any human being has ever been, save Christ.

Let that be our goal, to always turn to the comforts of our God when we are in trials. We may feel alone, and, at certain times in our lives, we may very well be. Sadly, we may be surrounded by friends and family and still feel alone. We should, of course, be turning to our God during all times, but it is most especially during these times of aloneness that we must, we simply must, turn to our God, hands raised high, declaring the fact, “O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you!”

Let that be my theme, today, Father! O God, you are my God, and I will ever praise you. Earnestly, I seek you. My soul thirsts for you, my body faints for you, like I am in a dry and weary land, where there is no water! Satisfy my thirst, Father! Satisfy my longings! May Jesus Christ be the main thing that can satisfy me as I continue through this life, and let me not seek any other.

I pray for this day, that our passage to work might be safe, especially as there seems to be even more chance of rain during the rest of this week. May your grace and mercy fill this day, giving us just enough grace for this day, like the manna that your children found on the ground, as they wandered in their own wilderness. I pray for your overwhelming love to embrace Stephanie, Rachel, Justin, and my mother today. Hold them up, give them what they most desperately need today. I thank you and praise you for the provision and protection that you have had for our family!

I thank you for other answered prayers, Father!

Your grace is sufficient.

Whenever I read Psalm 63, one of my favorite Psalms, I am always reminded of this song.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

