Is God Proud of Us?

Good morning. It is Thursday, June 4, 2015.

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary .com, is floccinaucinihilipilification. I swear I am not making this up. The definition might be shorter than the word. It is a noun, meaning, “the estimation of something as valueless.” The word was allegedly used in Sir Walter Scott’s journal on March 18, 1829.

Today is Hug Your Cat Day. Please exercise caution in celebrating this day. Some cats, just like some people, do not like to be hugged. Unlike people, cats have retractable claws. That hurt. When you try to hug them.

Yesterday was one of those days that makes me wonder if I am bipolar. Around 3:00 PM yesterday, everything and everyone started annoying me. I’m really not sure what triggered it. There were a couple of annoying instances with buyers from our client, but it was more than just that. By the time I got off work, I was simply mad at the world. The good thing, is that I recognized it as it was happening, which is a step in the right direction. But I don’t understand why it happens. One minute I’m fine, the next minute, everything is horrible and I hate everyone. Except for my wife and family. It never gets that bad. But I truly just don’t want to be around anyone else at all. I don’t feel that way this morning. This is what makes me wonder if I don’t have some kind of mental thing going on, there.

Tonight is Christi’s Huddle night. Their leader is at Disneyworld (not having the best of times there, unfortunately), so the rest of them have decided to have their Huddle at Rosa’s Tortilla Factory tonight. This means Stephanie and I will have to forage for ourselves for dinner. Last night, Stephanie actually suggested having Subway for dinner. She said she was tired of eating junk food. I’m still searching for the real Stephanie. I can only assume she has been abducted by aliens and replaced by an alien that looks just like her.

Tomorrow, after work, I leave for Commerce for the weekend and the band reunion. I’ll be leaving straight from work, in Carrollton, as I decided that it would be rather silly to drive all the way back home to pack and then head east again. In Carrollton, I’m practically halfway there.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

To the choirmaster. A Song. A Psalm.
Shout for joy to God, all the earth;
sing the glory of his name; give to him glorious praise!
Say to God, “How awesome are your deeds! So great is your power that your enemies come cringing to you.
All the earth worships you and sings praises to you; they sing praises to your name.” Selah.
Come and see what God has done: he is awesome in his deeds toward the children of man.
He turned the sea into dry land; they passed through the river on foot. There did we rejoice in him,
who rules by his might forever, whose eyes keep watch on the nations— let not the rebellious exalt themselves. Selah.
Bless our God, O peoples; let the sound of his praise be heard,
who has kept our soul among the living and has not let our feet slip.
For you, O God, have tested us; you have tried us as silver is tried.
You brought us into the net; you laid a crushing burden on our backs;
you let men ride over our heads; we went through fire and through water; yet you have brought us out to a place of abundance.

Psalm 66:1-12

“When visited with affliction, it is of great importance that we should consider it as coming from God, and as expressly intended for our good.” (John Calvin, Heart Aflame)

(From Solid Joys)

But as it is, they desire a better country, that is, a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared for them a city.
Hebrews 11:16

Today’s reading is “What Makes God Proud.”

Can it really be said that God could possibly be proud to be our God?? Could God say of me, “I am not ashamed to be called your God?”

One reason that God is not ashamed of his people is given in the verse quoted above. ” . . . for he has prepared for them a city.” God has done something for us. He has worked for us, not the other way around. That is important to note. God is not proud of us because we have worked for him, but because he has worked for us.

There is another reason before that part of the verse. ” . . . they desire a better country.” The reason that God is not ashamed of them is that they desire a heavenly country; a better one than the one in which they are currently living.

“When we desire this city more than we desire all that this world can give, God is not ashamed to be called our God. When we make much of all he promises to be for us, he is proud to be our God. This is good news.”

Father, I can say with no hesitation that I desire a better country, a heavenly one. I have desired this “better country” for many years, now, having grown quite tired of this world and what it offers. Unfortunately, I still find myself availing myself far too often of what it offers. Nevertheless, this does not negate my desire for the better country. I hesitate to say, however, that I think you would be proud of me, for I know full well of my failures when it comes to my obedience of your commands and desires for me. However, I also must remember that it is not my works (or lack thereof) that make you proud. It is my desire, and the fact that you have worked for me. You would not have done anything for me, if you were not proud to be called my God. Help me to embrace this truth, and help this truth to fuel my obedience and my life.

I get so confused when I have days like yesterday afternoon. I do not know what triggers these feelings, but I recognize that they are wrong. I pray that your Spirit would help me to recognize sooner what is happening, that I might be able to throw myself on your grace, that the resulting anger and annoyance might be detoured.

I pray for the day ahead, Father, that our travel to and from work would be safe and smooth. I pray for a good work day, that everything might be accomplished for both Christi and me. I pray for your great love and compassion to be displayed in the lives of my family, in Stephanie, Rachel, Justin, and mother. I look forward to seeing old friends tomorrow and Saturday, Lord. May this upcoming time be fulfilling and may everyone have safe travel to the reunion. May I do a good job of displaying your Kingdom during this time, as well.

I pray for a family that we know that has lost a precious little girl. May you bring great comfort to them during this time of heavy sorrow.

Can you possibly conceive of God as being proud of you? Consider the desires of your heart. Do you desire that “better country?” Has God worked for you? Then he is “not ashamed” to be called your God!

Grace and peace, friends.

3 thoughts on “Is God Proud of Us?

  1. “God is not proud of us because we have worked for him, but because he has worked for us.” – Yep, yep. Thanks for pointing this fact out to us, Jeff. Love in Christ, Carley

    1. Thank you, Carley. And the quote is something that we really struggle with, as humans. We always think we can make God like us more by doing “good things.”

Leave a Reply

