Always Worship

Good morning. It is Monday, June 8, 2015.

Today’s word of the day, from Merriam-Webster, is youthquake. While you might think this means a large group of youth, dancing to hip-hop music, it really means, “a shift in cultural norms influenced by the values, tastes, and mores of young people.” Thinking about that, it seems that our society is in constant youthquake mode.

Today is Upsy Daisy Day. I confess I’ve never heard of this one, but I like the description. “Upsy Daisy Day encourages you to face the day positively, and to get up ‘gloriously, gratefully and gleefully’ each morning.” I do wake up “gratefully,” at least some mornings. However, “gloriously” and “gleefully” might be stretching it a bit. I’m rarely “gleeful” to wake up on a work day. I’ll see what I can do about that. Perhaps if I could develop more of a “this is the day the Lord has made; I will rejoice and be glad in it” mentality . . .

Monday morning, back to work. My eyes don’t want to work right this morning. I did get a good night’s sleep, last night, though. It doesn’t seem like I had a weekend, but that’s not a complaint at all. As I wrote yesterday, I can’t say enough about how wonderful this past weekend was. I can’t wait to hear the recording of our “rehearsal.” I’ve already heard a clip of the Circus Bee march that someone put on Facebook, and we sounded pretty good, especially for a bunch of people who haven’t played together in 35-40 years. There is talk of doing it again, but several of us have a more realistic view that this was probably the last time most of us will see each other again. Who knows, though? I never thought this one would happen, either!

Christi is flying to El Paso this afternoon. They bowl at 5:00 PM today and 9:00 AM tomorrow morning, then will be flying back pretty soon after that, so she should be back home around her normal time tomorrow. At least she will only be away for one night. I don’t sleep well when we aren’t together.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

O God, when you went out before your people, when you marched through the wilderness, Selah.
the earth quaked, the heavens poured down rain, before God, the One of Sinai, before God, the God of Israel.
Rain in abundance, O God, you shed abroad; you restored your inheritance as it languished;
your flock found a dwelling in it; in your goodness, O God, you provided for the needy.
The Lord gives the word; the women who announce the news are a great host:
“The kings of the armies—they flee, they flee!” The women at home divide the spoil—
though you men lie among the sheepfolds— the wings of a dove covered with silver, its pinions with shimmering gold.
When the Almighty scatters kings there, let snow fall on Zalmon.
O mountain of God, mountain of Bashan; O many-peaked mountain, mountain of Bashan!
Why do you look with hatred, O many-peaked mountain, at the mount that God desired for his abode, yes, where the LORD will dwell forever?
The chariots of God are twice ten thousand, thousands upon thousands; the Lord is among them; Sinai is now in the sanctuary.
You ascended on high, leading a host of captives in your train and receiving gifts among men, even among the rebellious, that the LORD God may dwell there.
Blessed be the Lord, who daily bears us up; God is our salvation. Selah.
Our God is a God of salvation, and to GOD, the Lord, belong deliverances from death.
But God will strike the heads of his enemies, the hairy crown of him who walks in his guilty ways.
The Lord said, “I will bring them back from Bashan, I will bring them back from the depths of the sea,
that you may strike your feet in their blood, that the tongues of your dogs may have their portion from the foe.”
Your procession is seen, O God, the procession of my God, my King, into the sanctuary—
the singers in front, the musicians last, between them virgins playing tambourines:
“Bless God in the great congregation, the LORD, O you who are of Israel’s fountain!”
There is Benjamin, the least of them, in the lead, the princes of Judah in their throng, the princes of Zebulun, the princes of Naphtali.
Summon your power, O God, the power, O God, by which you have worked for us.

Psalm 68:7-27

(From Solid Joys)

For you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.
1 Corinthians 6:20

Today’s reading is “Glorify God in Your Body.”

We were created for worship. “Worship” can be defined as “all the acts of the heart and mind and body that intentionally express the infinite worth of God.” All too often, however, when we think of “worship,” we have a narrow view that primarily thinks only of “worship services,” that which we do in our weekly gatherings. This is a “huge limitation” that has no grounds in Scripture. “All of life is supposed to be worship.”

Even thinking about breakfast and midmorning snacks. It’s hard to get more basic or mundane than this. Yet the Bible tells us, in 1 Corinthians 10:31, So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.

Even a topic that we tend to shy away from, sex, can be an act of worship. The verse quoted above is taken in the context of avoiding “fornication,” which is normally defined as sex outside of marriage. Flee from sexual immorality. Every other sin a person commits is outside the body, but the sexually immoral person sins against his own body. Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body. (1 Corinthians 6:18-20)

The final thing we will “do” in our earthly bodies is death. Can we worship in this act? Is that too much of a stretch to imagine? As it is my eager expectation and hope that I will not be at all ashamed, but that with full courage now as always Christ will be honored in my body, whether by life or by death. For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain. (Philippians 1:20-21) Paul hopes that Christ will be exalted in his body, even in his death.

So while we have a physical body, it is not our own. We have been bought with a price. For you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.

“You are always in a temple. Always worship.”

Father, this is a concept that I forget, all too often. On a daily basis, I tend to forget that this body is not mine, it is yours, just as my soul and spirit are yours. Just because this body is not “redeemed” yet, is no reason for me to treat it with contempt or dishonor. By the grace of your Spirit, I pray that you help me to remember to honor you in my body, to always worship you, doing everything that I do, from eating and drinking, all the way to death, to your glory!

I pray for this day. As we return to work, please give us safe passage. I pray for the safety of Christi and the others who are flying to El Paso today. I pray that she will have an awesome time, bowling with her work-mates. And I pray for her safe return home, tomorrow evening. I lift up Stephanie to you, asking that you show your great love to her today. May you grant protection and provision for Rachel and Justin, in whatever they find themselves doing today. Finally, may you continue to protect and hold up my mother in her life. I thank you for all of the sisters that you have given her in Christ, and the way that they have so actively held her up during these days.

Your grace is sufficient.

I do so love the last two statements in today’s reading. “You are always in a temple. Always worship.”

1_corinthians_6_20

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

