Security

Good morning. It is Tuesday, August 4, 2015. Post-Monday.

Today’s word of the day, from Merriam-Webster, is infrangible. This is an adjective, meaning, “not capable of being broken or separated into parts,” or “not to be infringed or violated.” “He declared firmly that he lived his life by a set of infrangible ethical principles.”

Today is Social Security Day. It’s not so much about the government fund as it is to remind us that we all need each other to get by. Help someone out today.

I’m really tired, this morning, so if I start not making sense (or if I never started making sense), please forgive me. I got home from band practice, which was a firm reminder of how far I have yet to go in getting my chops back, at around 9:30, got my shower, and had a piece of pie, before going to bed, finally, at about 10:30. So it was a pretty short night.

Adrian Beltre batted for the cycle last night, as the Texas Rangers beat the Astros, 12-9. That’s a lot of runs, and still close enough to make one nervous. At one point, it was 11-3, and the ‘stros refused to give up. That was the third time that Beltre has hit for the cycle, in his career, which, according to Eric Nadel and his broadcasting partner, ties about three other people for the record in baseball history. What’s even more amazing is that, if I’m not mistake, he hit the home run in the fifth inning, to complete the cycle!

Tonight is my Huddle night, So I’ll be home late again, but not as late as last night.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

I just realized that I forgot to read my Bible reading yesterday, so I’ll hit it this morning. So my completion date is delayed by a day. That really doesn’t bother me all that much. The point is just to read larger portions of Scripture at a time. Today’s reading will be Genesis 32-33, Matthew 11, and Psalm 131. In Genesis 32, Jacob prepares to encounter Esau for the first time after many years, and fears that Esau will seek revenge. Jacob spent some time praying, also reminding God that he was promised blessing and good things. Isn’t it funny when we think we have to remind God of his promises to us? As if he could forget? After he sent everyone else ahead, he was alone, and wrestled with a “man” all night long. It was during this time that God changed his name to Israel.

When Jacob and Esau finally meet, verse 4 of chapter 33 says it all. But Esau ran to meet him and embraced him and fell on his neck and kissed him, and they wept.

In Matthew 11, John the Baptizer sends messengers to Jesus, attempting to confirm that Jesus is the Messiah. After Jesus sends them back, he says to crowds, Truly, I say to you, among those born of women there has arisen no one greater than John the Baptist. Yet the one who is least in the kingdom of heaven is greater than he. (v 11) In verses 27-30, Jesus says, All things have been handed over to me by my Father, and no one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and anyone to whom the Son chooses to reveal him. Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light. Included in these statements is one reason why Jesus simply cannot be treated as “a good teacher.” He boldly says, “no one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and anyone to whom the son chooses to reveal him.” This is not the only place where Jesus indicates that he is the only way to get to God.

Psalm 131 is a brief one, a “Song of Ascents.”

1 O LORD, my heart is not lifted up; my eyes are not raised too high; I do not occupy myself with things too great and too marvelous for me.
2 But I have calmed and quieted my soul, like a weaned child with its mother; like a weaned child is my soul within me.
3 O Israel, hope in the LORD from this time forth and forevermore.

Today’s Psalm reading from Heart Aflame is Psalm 89:47-52.

47 Remember how short my time is! For what vanity you have created all the children of man!
48 What man can live and never see death? Who can deliver his soul from the power of Sheol? Selah.
49 Lord, where is your steadfast love of old, which by your faithfulness you swore to David?
50 Remember, O Lord, how your servants are mocked, and how I bear in my heart the insults of all the many nations,
51 with which your enemies mock, O LORD, with which they mock the footsteps of your anointed.
52 Blessed be the LORD forever! Amen and Amen.

(From Solid Joys)

And those whom he predestined he also called, and those whom he called he also justified, and those whom he justified he also glorified.
Romans 8:30

Today’s reading is “As Secure As God Is Faithful.”

“Between eternity past in God’s predestination, and eternity future in God’s glorification, none is lost.

“No one who is predestined for sonship fails to be called. And no one who is called fails to be justified. And no one who is justified fails to be glorified. This is an unbreakable steel chain of divine covenant faithfulness.”

Paul gives us two more words of encouragement in this matter.

And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.
Philippians 1:6
. . . who [Jesus Christ] will sustain you to the end, guiltless in the day of our Lord Jesus Christ. God is faithful, by whom you were called into the fellowship of his Son, Jesus Christ our Lord.
1 Corinthians 1:8-9

These are only a few of the promises made by our God, who cannot lie. We, who are born in Christ, “are as secure as God is faithful.”

Father, I thank you for your faithfulness, especially in light of how unfaithful I can be, at times. Your faithfulness overrides everything, though, and, because of that, I am secure in Christ Jesus. I praise you for this truth. I pray, though, that this truth would permeate my being, causing me to be more faithful to you in every area of my life. May my prayers reflect the work that you have done in my life and my heart. May my joy be expressed in all areas of my life, most especially at work, and other places where circumstances threaten to undermine my expressions of your Kingdom. I know that you don’t need to be reminded of your promises, but I do. So I pray that your Spirit will remind me of these very great and precious promises throughout this day.

I pray for this day. I pray that we would have safe travel to and from work today. I pray for Christi’s work day that it would go smoothly, with no stress or drama. I pray for energy to get through my day. May you express your great love to Stephanie today, perhaps in a way she has not seen, yet. We also still await results from her interviews a couple weeks ago. I pray for Rachel’s upcoming thesis defense, that you would give her confidence and the right things to say. Show your grace to my mother today, as well.

Your grace is sufficient in all things. Help us to know this, always.

If we are in Christ, we are truly as secure as God is faithful, and God is always faithful!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

