Give Me Just Enough

Good morning. It is Monday, August 10, 2015. Two months until we go to Playa del Carmen!

Today’s word of the day, from dictionary.com, is mondegreen. This is a noun, meaning, “a misinterpretation of a word or phrase that has been heard, especially a song lyric.” Perhaps the most famous mondegreen is “‘Scuse me, while I kiss this guy.” Other popular mondegreens are “There’s a bathroom on the right,” (Bad Moon Rising), and, “baking carrot buscuits” (Taking Care of Business}.

Today is Lazy Day. I’m sorry, but’s it’s kind of useless for this day to fall on a Monday. Pft. 😛 “Hey, boss, I’m not coming in today. It’s Lazy Day.” I’m sure he’ll understand.

We had the most wonderful time, yesterday. Rachel and Justin arrived around 1:30. We went to Fogata’s (anyone surprised?) for lunch. After lunch, Justin and I sat and talked about horror movies (he watched the last half of The Shining with me), while Rachel and Christi talked about Christi’s job drama. Then we decided to play a game. We played “Buzzword” for a couple of hours, and had a great time. At one point, we were all laughing so hard, I thought I was going to pass out.

After they left, Christi and I sat and watched Saturday night’s episode of Saturday Night Live. It was aired in October, before Halloween, and featured Jim Carrey as guest host. It wasn’t a memorable episode as many of the skits were only so-so. It also featured Iggy Azalea as the “musical” guest. I really think it’s a stretch putting the word “musical” and “Iggy Azalea” in the same sentence. It says a lot about our culture that she is a superstar. However, the skit right before her second performance was a company Halloween costume contest, in which Jim Carrey and Kate McKinnon both dressed like Sia’s dancer in the “Chandelier” video. In order to decide who won, they had a dance-off to the song. It was quite hilarious, and the high point of the episode, in my opinion. Here’s the official video from the song, so you can try to imagine Jim Carrey in that leotard. Or maybe it’s best if you don’t . . .

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Today’s Bible reading is Genesis 41, Psalm 40, and Matthew 17. In Genesis 41, the Pharaoh’s cupbearer finally remembers this Hebrew guy that in jail with him, because Pharaoh had a couple of troubling dreams, and none of his magicians and wise men could interpret the dream for him. So Pharaoh sent for Joseph, who came to him and interpreted his dreams for him. In fact, he did such a good job that Pharaoh put him in charge of gathering food for the upcoming seven years of famine that God was going to bring about.

Psalm 40

To the choirmaster. A Psalm of David.
I waited patiently for the LORD; he inclined to me and heard my cry.
He drew me up from the pit of destruction, out of the miry bog, and set my feet upon a rock, making my steps secure.
He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God. Many will see and fear, and put their trust in the LORD.
Blessed is the man who makes the LORD his trust, who does not turn to the proud, to those who go astray after a lie!
You have multiplied, O LORD my God, your wondrous deeds and your thoughts toward us; none can compare with you! I will proclaim and tell of them, yet they are more than can be told.
In sacrifice and offering you have not delighted, but you have given me an open ear. Burnt offering and sin offering you have not required.
Then I said, “Behold, I have come; in the scroll of the book it is written of me:
I delight to do your will, O my God; your law is within my heart.”
I have told the glad news of deliverance in the great congregation; behold, I have not restrained my lips, as you know, O LORD.
I have not hidden your deliverance within my heart; I have spoken of your faithfulness and your salvation; I have not concealed your steadfast love and your faithfulness from the great congregation.
As for you, O LORD, you will not restrain your mercy from me; your steadfast love and your faithfulness will ever preserve me!
For evils have encompassed me beyond number; my iniquities have overtaken me, and I cannot see; they are more than the hairs of my head; my heart fails me.
Be pleased, O LORD, to deliver me! O LORD, make haste to help me!
Let those be put to shame and disappointed altogether who seek to snatch away my life; let those be turned back and brought to dishonor who delight in my hurt!
Let those be appalled because of their shame who say to me, “Aha, Aha!”
But may all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you; may those who love your salvation say continually, “Great is the LORD!”
As for me, I am poor and needy, but the Lord takes thought for me. You are my help and my deliverer; do not delay, O my God!

In Matthew 17, it begins with the Transfiguration, in which Jesus takes Peter, James, and John up on a high mountain. There, Jesus is “transfigured before them, and his face shone like the sun, and his clothes became white as light.” While the disciples were trying to figure out how to process this, a voice came from heaven, saying, “This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased; listen to him.” Jesus instructed them to tell no one of this event until after he had been resurrected.

Today’s Psalm from Heart Aflame, is Psalm 90:30-17.

Return, O LORD! How long? Have pity on your servants!
Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.
Make us glad for as many days as you have afflicted us, and for as many years as we have seen evil.
Let your work be shown to your servants, and your glorious power to their children.
Let the favor of the Lord our God be upon us, and establish the work of our hands upon us; yes, establish the work of our hands!

“Moses intimates that we cannot undertake or attempt anything with the prospect of success, unless God become our guide and counsellor [sic], and govern us by his Spirit. Whence it follows, that the reason why the enterprises and efforts of worldly men have a disastrous issue is, because, in not following God, they pervert all order and throw everything into confusion.” (p 223)

(From Prayer: Experiencing Awe and Intimacy with God)

Continuing on the theme of yesterday’s entry, Timothy Keller is still talking about Augustine’s letter to Proba. After discussing the idea of simply praying for a happy life, he reminds us that, according to Jesus’s Model Prayer, we can certainly pray for other needs. Augustine cites Proverbs 30:7-9. Two things I ask of you; deny them not to me before I die: Remove far from me falsehood and lying; give me neither poverty nor riches; feed me with the food that is needful for me, lest I be full and deny you and say, “Who is the LORD?” or lest I be poor and steal and profane the name of my God. Let’s say someone prays, “Lord, give me a job so that I won’t be poor.” This is a good thing to ask the Lord for, and the motivation is right in line with the Proverbs 30 quote. In essence, the writer of the Proverbs is asking that God meet just what he needs, in the way of material things. Only as much as we can handle without putting material things ahead of God.

You see, it is pretty much impossible for us to pray rightly for our material needs until we have spent time recognizing who God is and who we are in him. that is why the petitions in the Model Prayer don’t come until after the part where we recognize God’s greatness.

Father, help me to be more aware of who you are and your greatness in my life, before I launch into prayers about other things. I want to know you more; I want to be sure I have things in the right order. Teach me your way, that I may walk in your truth. Let your light and your truth guide me through the days.

I pray for this day, that we would have safe travel to and from work. May my time this evening, at band practice, be productive and fun. I also pray for the development of new relationships during this time, that I might be a faithful witness to the greatness of you and your kingdom. Give me wisdom and discernment, Lord. I pray for Christi’s day, that the drama and stress level will be minimum, but fill her with the grace she needs to handle whatever comes her way. Keep her eyes looking at you. I pray for Rachel as she gets ready to defend her thesis this coming Thursday. This ordeal could soon be over! May your grace and mercy reside with Stephanie today, and I pray for some word from the MHMR people. Finally, Lord, I pray for sufficient grace for the day ahead for my mother. Hold her close, Lord.

Your grace is sufficient.

When we pray, let us get things in the right order. Then let us ask for just enough, lest we forget God.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

