To See His Face

Good morning. It is Wednesday, August 12, 2015. Hump Day.

Today’s word of the day, from dictionary.com, is mellifluous. This is an adjective, meaning, “1. sweetly or smoothly flowing; sweet-sounding: a mellifluous voice; mellifluous tones,” or “2. flowing with honey; sweetened with or as if with honey.”

Today is Vinyl Record Day! Oh, yeah!! I will go down as one who strongly believes that vinyl sounds better than digital, especially better than digital downloads. While I play most of my music through my phone, these days (linked via bluetooth through my car’s speakers), I believe that a vinyl record, played through a good home sound system, sounds far better than a cd or digital download. Long live vinyl records!

Yesterday was a challenging day. I had to deal with some challenging individuals, and my anxiety level, at one point, was off the charts. However, right before my afternoon break, the lead found a box of goodies in one of our packages (this happens occasionally), and gave me some “Chewy Lemonheads and Friends” candy. There’s almost nothing that can’t be made better with candy.

Our Huddle group went well, and we had some really good discussion. Of course, it didn’t stay quite on topic, but that’s not unusual. Apparently a new triangle was introduced, last week, the “Bible Study Triangle.” I can’t find a graphic for it, but if you can imagine a triangle, the top point is “Observation,” the lower right point is “Interpretation,” and the lower left point is “Application.” Nothing ground-breaking or earthshattering, here. Just another usage of the triangle shape. So we read Acts 1:8 and attempted to take it around the triangle. I think we might have made it all the way to application.

Tonight, neither one of us has an activity, so we will enjoy a, hopefully, quiet evening at home, with either chili or soup and sandwiches for dinner.Tomorrow, Christi has her Huddle, and I have an eye doctor visit at 5:30. He wants to do a field of vision test for glaucoma. I really don’t like those tests. They increase my anxiety level.

Today, my Bible reading will be Genesis 43-44 and Matthew 19. I did, successfully, remember to complete my reading yesterday. I read it during my morning break. That works out nicely, so I will attempt to do that again, today.

The Psalm reading from Heart Aflame is Psalm 91:5-7.

You will not fear the terror of the night, nor the arrow that flies by day,
nor the pestilence that stalks in darkness, nor the destruction that wastes at noonday.
A thousand may fall at your side, ten thousand at your right hand, but it will not come near you.

“The Psalmist continues to insist upon the truth which we have just adverted to, that, if we confide with implicit reliance upon the protection of God, we will be secure from every temptation and assault of Satan.” (p 225)

(From Solid Joys)

As a deer pants for flowing streams, so pants my soul for you, O God.
My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When shall I come and appear before God?

Psalm 42:1-2

Today’s reading is “My Soul Thirsts for God.”

This beautiful Psalm is made even more so when we realize that the Psalmist is not necessarily thirsting for relief from his circumstances, nor is he mainly seeking to escape from his enemies. While it is most certainly not wrong to pray for these things, we get a glimpse of something far better, here. The Psalmist thirsts for God, himself.

One of the great things that we get from the Psalms is this idea. “We come to love God, and we want to see God and be with God and be satisfied in admiring and exulting in God.”

Another way to translate the end of verse 2 is, “When will I come and see the face of God?” We eventually see an answer to that question. In John 14:9, Jesus says, Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. And in 2 Corinthians 4:4, Paul speaks of seeing the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God.

“When we see the face of Christ, we see the face of God.” And when we hear the story of the Gospel, we experience the glory of Christ, who is the image of God.

“May the Lord increase your hunger and your thirst to see the face of God. And may he grant your desire through the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God.”

Father, increase my desire to see your face, to know your glory through the Gospel of Jesus Christ, who is the image of you. As I read Scripture, may your Spirit point me toward your face and show me the way to know you more. Let me not read solely for the sake of reading. Rather, let me read with the goal of knowing you more, even when I read passages that may not be very interesting. Open my eyes and heart to see things in passages that I have read hundreds of times. Your word is alive; it should never become old to me. Let it live in my spirit, Father. And may I see your face in the face of Christ.

I pray for this day. May our travel be safe today. I pray for Christi’s day, that there be no anxiety or stress. I also pray for her leg/calf muscle that started hurting yesterday. May you relieve her pain, Father. Show your great love to Stephanie, and bring confidence to Rachel, preparing for her thesis defense tomorrow afternoon. May my mother know your joy today.

Your grace is sufficient.

I simply echo John Piper’s closing words, today. “May the Lord increase your hunger and your thirst to see the face of God. And may he grant your desire through the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God.”
psalm-42-1
Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

