We Are His Workmanship

Good morning. It is Saturday, August 29, 2015.

Today’s word of the day, from dictionary.com, is argy-bargy. That is pronounced with hard g sounds. This noun means, “a vigorous discussion or dispute.” I like this word. I think I’ll find a way to incorporate it into my vocabulary.

Today is Franchise Appreciation Day. A franchise is a store that is owned by an individual or small company, but has the financial backing of a larger company and its name. There are (or at least there used to be) some McDonald’s restaurants that are franchises. I think most Subway restaurants are franchises. I know I worked at a Southern Maid donut shop when I was in college, and it was a franchise store. It’s a good business model. So celebrate this day by supporting a local franchise store.

I’m up a little early, this morning, as I have an appointment to have coffee with a college friend, this morning, at 8:00. I set an alarm, but woke up before it went off.

I wound up working until almost 6:30, last night. There were still a couple others working when I left. It wasn’t pretty, and there probably is a good bit left for the Saturday person, this morning. But he has at least one other person coming in to help him. My Saturday is next week. I could take Monday off, but I was given the option of working and getting overtime on the Saturday. I didn’t have anything that I really wanted to do Monday, so I’ll go ahead and work, this time.

It’s our regular church day, so we will have our prayer gathering at 4:45 and our worship gathering at 5:45. After church, this evening, I’m going out to eat with a friend from church. So it’s a busy day for me. Sometime between the morning coffee and getting to church, we’ll get groceries.

I do have some unfortunate news. We finally got the results from those tests that Stephanie went through, and they determined that she was not eligible for this particular program. We’ll keep investigating though, and find something that can help her. I have to remember that my prayer for this was that if it was right for her, that it would happen. I have to believe, now, that it would not have been a good fit for her. We’ll keep looking.

On this date in 1831, Michael Faraday discovered electromagnetic induction. In 1833, the UK abolished slavery. In 1885, Gottlieb Daimler patented the first internal combustion motorcycle. in 1898, the Goodyear tire company was founded. On this date in 1966, the Beatles performed their last official concert, at Candlestick Park in San Francisco. And on this date in 2005, Hurricane Katrina brought devastation to the U.S. Gulf Coast, from Louisiana to the Florida Panhandle, killing almost 2000, and causing more than $80 billion in damage.

Today’s birthdays include John Locke (English philosopher), Oliver Wendell Holmes, Sr. (American physician and writer), Ingrid Bergman (Swedish actress), Charlie Parker (American musician), Richard Attenborough (English film director), John McCain (American politician), Elliott Gould (American actor), James Brady (White House Press Secretary), Robin Leach (English TV host), Temple Grandin (American animal welfare and autism expert), Michael Jackson (American pop singer), Rebecca De Mornay (American actress), Chris Daughtry (American musician), Carla Gugino (American actress), Roy Oswalt (American baseball player), and Lea Michelle (American actress/singer).

Charlie Parker, also known as “Bird,” was an American jazz saxophonist, born on this date in 1920. Here is his recording of “Summertime.”

Brigham Young, David T. Abercrombie, Adolphus Busch III, Nathan Leopold, Jimmy Reed, Lowell Thomas, Ingrid Bergman (died on her birthday!), Lee Marvin, and Archie Campbell are among notable deaths on this date.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Today’s Psalm, from Heart Aflame, is Psalm 100:3-5.

Know that the LORD, he is God! It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.
Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise! Give thanks to him; bless his name!
For the LORD is good; his steadfast love endures forever, and his faithfulness to all generations.

“Believers are the persons whom the prophet here declares to be God’s workmanship, not that they were made men in their mother’s womb, but in that sense in which Paul, in Ephesians 2:10, calls them the workmanship of God, because they are created unto good works which God has before ordained that they should walk in them; and in reality this agrees best with the subsequent context.” (p 242)

Father, I thank you that I am your workmanship. I also thank you that, in Christ, you created me to do good works, ordained beforehand, that I might walk in them. So I pray for the obedience that is necessary to do those good works. May your Spirit help me to walk in them an be obedient to what you have created me for.

I pray for this day, and all its activities. May we be safe as we drive around town today. May our prayer gathering and worship gathering be glorifying to you, this evening, and I pray for my time of fellowship with my brother in Christ. I pray that your grace will continue to rain down on our family, and that we might be pleasing to you. Teach me your way, that I may walk in your truth.

For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

