Fear Not, For I Am With You

Good morning. It is Monday, again. Monday, September 14.

Today’s word of the day, from the Oxford English Dictionary, is perissology. This noun means, “Use of more words than are necessary; redundancy or superfluity of expression, pleonasm; an instance of this.”

Today is Boss/Employee Exchange Day. This makes me laugh. If there is truly a company out there that is interested in making things better for their employees, I want to know about it. Of course, they probably don’t have any openings, right? Pardon my cynicism.

We got back home, yesterday, somewhere around 3:00 PM. We had a great trip back after a nice brunch at the buffet in Winstar. Everything about the whole weekend was just great. Then we had to come back home and do chores for a few hours. We got the groceries done for both us and Christi’s mom, got them put away, then settled down for a light dinner and watched a little TV before going to bed early. We had a great time, but we were pretty tired, too.

Got a good night’s sleep, and now it’s time to get back at it. What we have to look forward to, now, is in about 27 days, we will be flying to Cancun, where a transport will pick us up and take us further down the road to Playa del Carmen, as we celebrate our 30th anniversary! But we still have to work for a few more weeks before that.

Tonight is band practice again, so I’ll be up late. I also ran into the trombone section leader at Kroger, yesterday, and he said the concert went well on Saturday evening, so that was good to hear.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Today’s Psalm, from Heart Aflame, is Psalm 103:17.

But the steadfast love of the LORD is from everlasting to everlasting on those who fear him, and his righteousness to children’s children,

“The faithful who are regenerated by the Spirit of God, and who worship him with true devotion, these are the persons whom he leaves nothing on which their hope may rest but the mere goodness of God.” (p 258)

(From Solid Joys)

And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.
Philippians 4:19

Today’s reading is “God Shall Supply All Your Needs.”

First, Piper looks back thirteen verses, to Philippians 4:6, which says, do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. Then comes the “liberating promise of future grace” in verse 19. If we truly live by this wonderful promise of future grace, “it will be very hard for anxiety to survive.” Especially when you consider that God’s “riches in glory” are infinite! I believe, along with John Piper, that God “really means for us not to worry about our future.”

Piper also mentions another verse that helps him battle anxiety, especially when he is embarking on a new venture or meeting. Isaiah 41:10 says, fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Piper says, “When the motor of my mind is in neutral, the hum of the gears is the sound of Isaiah 41:10.”

Father, I pray that you continue to teach me these truths about worry and anxiety, for I still manage to find myself worrying about the future. Even concerning our upcoming vacation trip to Mexico, I find myself fretting over things that are 100% not in my control. Teach me to trust in future grace, Father, and in the promises that you have given us in your word. Your grace alone should be enough to keep me from anxiety. May your Spirit constantly remind me, throughout each day, that you are in control of all things, and that you will work all things out for good for all of us who love you.

I pray for this day, that our travel to and from work will be safe. I thank you for the safe trip to Oklahoma and back, and for the great time we had with Rachel and Justin. I pray for them, as well, that your light would shine on them. We always have some good, stimulating conversation, and I am thankful that this is possible. May you grow yourself in Stephanie today, teaching her about your great love for her. Help us figure out her future. Finally, I pray for continued grace for my mother. Also, be with her as she teaches her Bible study class tomorrow.

Come, Lord Jesus.

When you are tempted with worry and anxiety today, try to remember the great and precious promises that God has given . . . promises of future grace.

philippians-4-19

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

