Take My Life and Let It Be

McFly?? McFly??

Today’s word of the day, from the Oxford English Dictionary, is hoverboard. No, really. Click the link. I’m not making this up. Do I need to give the definition? Okay. ” A board, resembling a skateboard without wheels, which hovers above the ground and may be ridden like a skateboard.”

And, of course, today is Back To the Future Day. I would watch the movies, this evening, but I don’t think I have a device that will play VHS tapes.

The work week has gone pretty well, considering it’s a week fresh off of vacation. The person filling in for me did a pretty good job of keeping up, so much so that I was totally caught up with everything by noon yesterday. I was pleasantly surprised.

Huddle got cancelled last night, because the leader’s wife started having back spasms around mid-afternoon. He had to take her to the chiropractor, where she got “adjusted,” and then went home to rest in bed. Sounds like it was kind of scary for a bit, but this has happened before.

Today being Wednesday, we have nothing to do this evening. Tomorrow, we have to take Stephanie to the doctor to get her meds refilled. The appointment is at 6:00 PM, so I will probably take her right after work, if I get home in time.

In the ALCS, the Royals lead the Blue Jays 3-1, and the Mets lead the Cubs 3-0 in the NLCS. Both teams could put it away today with a win. It doesn’t look like the Cubs will be fulfilling any “Back to the Future” prophecies. They couldn’t really, anyway, because it said they beat Miami in the World Series. This, of course, is impossible, because Miami is also National League. Plus, the World Series hasn’t even started yet, anyway.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Daily Guideposts 2015)

But I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation.
Psalm 13:5

In today’s reading, writer Marci Alborghetti, writes of a time when a storm was threatening the building in which they lived. The river had flooded, and was into the parking lot. They had moved the car to higher ground, and lived on the top floor, so their danger of flooding was small. However, “if the water got into the building, the furnace and utilities would stop functioning.” Some had evacuated, but they had heard that the storm shelter in the city had a broken generator.

Marci’s husband was tense and anxious, but she felt calm. This was a first for her. But she was praying the way her missionary friend Lynn Holm was known to pray. She recalls this man whom she describes as “the only person I know who completely lives his faith.” (Pastor Holm passed away in 2013.) Marci writes that Lynn was never afraid “because he is never without God’s presence.” When winter storms would threaten his home in Minnesota, he simply prayed that the home belonged to God and that “it is His home to do with as He will.”

Marci, taking her husband’s hand, realized that she didn’t have to be Lynn Holm in order to pray like him. And neither do we. Everything that we have, we have because God gave it to us. And, in reality, it all belongs to him. So we, along with Lynn Holm and Marci Alborghetti, should be praying,

Father, this house is your house. Do with it as you will. This life is your life. This computer, on which I am typing, is your computer. May I use it for your glory. May you be glorified in everything that I own, and everything that I do.

Take my life and let it be
Consecrated, Lord, to Thee.
Take my moments and my days,
Let them flow in endless praise.

Take my hands and let them move
At the impulse of Thy love.
Take my feet and let them be
Swift and beautiful for Thee.

Take my voice and let me sing,
Always, only for my King.
Take my lips and let them be
Filled with messages from Thee.

Take my silver and my gold,
Not a mite would I withhold.
Take my intellect and use
Every pow’r as Thou shalt choose.

Take my will and make it Thine,
It shall be no longer mine.
Take my heart, it is Thine own,
It shall be Thy royal throne.

Take my love, my Lord, I pour
At Thy feet its treasure store.
Take myself and I will be
Ever, only, all for Thee.

Some may have noticed a slight change in my daily blog. I have shortened the prayers at the end, and no longer include the brief prayers for the family. Please don’t think I have stopped praying for my family. I have just stopped including them in this forum.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

