Thy Word Have I Hid in My Heart

“Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.”~~Winston Churchill

Today’s word of the day, from Dictionary.com, is crepuscular, “of, relating to, or resembling twilight; dim; indistinct.”

Today is Love Your Lawyer Day. No, I haven’t lost my mind. You see, my mother has this lawyer who is fantastic. He happens to be a childhood friend of mine, a year or two younger than me. He’s the son of my piano teacher from when I was a kid, and lived a couple of block away from us. He has done so much to help her out since my father’s passing, and at minimal cost. He even helped us get power of attorney for Stephanie a few weeks ago. So, you see? Not all lawyers are bad.

Christi made it to Huddle last night, albeit a little late. It took a long time to get home from work, because we had recently had some pretty bad storms, of which I was almost completely unaware. The only thing I knew about them was that, right about time for me to get off work, Stephanie texted me that the tornado sirens were going off in our home area. Later, Christi saw that there had supposedly been a funnel sighted at Beach and Basswood, which is way to close to our house! All is well, though, and also with Rachel and Justin, who are in Denton, where the storm went after it left our area.

The roads were wet on my drive home, but I never got rained on. It still affected the traffic drastically, as I had several spots that slowed me down tremendously. That, along with stopping at Sonic and Subway, got me home at about 6:30, which is roughly a two-hour drive home!

Today, of course, is Friday. This means I might have to work overtime, this evening, but that’s okay. Hopefully, it won’t be too bad. We don’t have much planned for the weekend. Grocery shopping tomorrow and church Sunday. So far, that’s it. We may see if the kids want to get together for a meal. We haven’t been to Denton in a while. Perhaps we should go there.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

(From Heart Aflame)

Today’s reading comes from Psalm 119:11-16.

I have stored up your word in my heart, that I might not sin against you.
Blessed are you, O LORD; teach me your statutes!
With my lips I declare all the rules of your mouth.
In the way of your testimonies I delight as much as in all riches.
I will meditate on your precepts and fix my eyes on your ways.
I will delight in your statutes; I will not forget your word.

I picked this reading because of its focus on a verse that I remember from a very young age. Of course, when I memorized it, we pretty much only had King James Version, which went something like, Thy Word have I hid in my heart, that I might not sin against Thee.

One of the interesting things (and useful, too, I believe) about this gigantic Psalm, is that every verse in the chapter refers, in some way, to God’s Word, whether it be called “word,” “statutes,” “rules,” “law,” “precepts,” “testimonies,” or whatever. Psalm 119 is a 176 verse epic about the attributes of the Word of God.

In this section today, in the words of John Calvin, “we are informed that we are well fortified against the stratagems of Satan when God’s law is deeply seated in our hearts. For unless it have a fast and firm hold there, we will readily fall into sin.” If we do not drink deeply from the fountains of wisdom contained therein, “Satan will easily surprise and entangle us in his meshes.” It is important that we have more than a “slender knowledge” or “careless perusal” of the Scriptures. We need to be “hiding it deeply in our hearts.”

Memorization is one way to do this. I confess that I have not memorized any new verses in a very long time. I still have quite a few verses memorized from years back. It seems that they do stick with you (although they stick in different versions, depending on what I was reading most at the time). But it’s more than just memorizing. Calvin notes that scholars must necessarily always have the book before them, in order to keep learning more and more about it. Whatever subject you are passionate about, you will keep learning about it, and never be satisfied. We ought all be this way about God’s Word, and I confess that I have been lacking in this, of late.

Father, help me to spend more time in your Word. Remind me, when the time is right, that I need to be reading and studying your Word more than I do, as well as hiding your Word deep in my heart, that I might be protected against the surprise attacks of our enemy.

Come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Thy Word Have I Hid in My Heart

  1. Our pastor said this past Sunday that Martin Luther said the only organ we needed was our ears – to hear the Word of God. He (our pastor) says reading our Bibles is obviously important; however, they said it is more important that we hear the Word of God spoken. Also, I really like that quote by Winston Churchill – esp. the part that success is not final (too bad haha).

    1. That’s very interesting, what your pastor said. I have not heard that about Martin Luther before, but I have heard it said that we need to constantly preach the gospel to ourselves, which would certainly involve hearing.

Leave a Reply

